One more week till Madison is out!

If you missed the deal last week, The first Madison book, ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY is available one more week through Amazon, B&N and Borders as an e-book for a drastically reduced price of just under two dollars in celebration of Madison’s next release, SOMETHING DEADLY THIS WAY COMES this next Tuesday.  If there is someone you are trying to get hooked on reading and he or she isn’t quite ready for the Hollows, this might be it.  Instead of Werewolves, vampires, and witches, Madison deals with angels, fallen and otherwise, and her world is far closer to our own than Rachel’s.

I didn’t have much luck last year with my pumpkins, seeing as I got them in the ground way too late (Late June) and in soil that was tired and old.  Lots of male flowers, but no female, and not enough time to set fruit even if there was any.  This year I amended the soil like crazy and started a bunch from seed just for fun, and they have sprouted nicely!  I’m seeing the first true leaves just begin, and it won’t be long until they start to look right.  They are a bit yellow right now from all the rain we’ve been getting, and I’ll be watching them closely for a few more days until I’m satisfied that there isn’t any mold starting.  Soon as the nights stay warmer, I’ll put them in the ground.  I’m thinking Memorial Day.  We can still get frost here for a week or two more.

Writing is moving forward nicely.  I’m burning through 100 pages a day on my last, current brush-through of the next Hollows book, but I might slow down a bit today as I tweak something I know needs to be tweaked.  100 pages is rather tiring, but I want this off my desk ASAReasonablyP.  The entire summer is about to spread before me with new ideas and beautiful, sweet, empty paper.  It’s going to be a magical summer this year.  Just you wait.

Embrace the empty paper.  My newest motto.

27 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

27 responses to “One more week till Madison is out!

  1. Jenn

    No!!!! I just heard this morning that the post office is likely going on strike next week. That means that unless my Madison book gets here by tomorrow, I might be SOL. *sigh*
    I’m moving my garden this year & hoping it will turn out better! I might even try pumpkins!

    • Hi Jenn. Guy tells me it has gone out, but it went media mail, so it will be slow.

      That’s great you’re moving your garden. Good luck with your pumpkins!

  2. Victoria Eskey

    Congrats on your pumpkins! My parsley, basil, marigolds, and forget-me-nots have all passed the 1 inch mark as spouts!🙂 My daisies have decided for me that I can’t care for them properly, and I lost all but three little stalks!

  3. Vanessa

    Loving the motto😀.
    Hope the pumpkins come out okay.
    Good luck😀 (thumbs up!)

    • Thanks, Vanessa. The pumpkins look much better, thanks, but I can’t put them outside because of this constant rain. I might move them to the porch today.

  4. Marsha

    The clay down here in central Alabama is so bad we have to build our beds up to grow anything. You inspired me to try pumpins myself this year. Good luck, looks like they are starting out strong.

    • Mmmmm, I gardened in SC clay for 13 years, and I’m in heaven with this good MI dirt again. sigh.

      Very cool on the pumpkins! We’re going to have a nation-wide community pumpkin patch with all the people I know growing them this year. 🙂

  5. Frederique

    Hooray for pumpkins. Mine look much better this year than last year. I’m still waiting for them to flower but they look big and healthy and green🙂

  6. Antonio

    Hey–You’re running a photography contest and it’s not even Halloween yet. Here in SW Ohio I could take a number of photographs bathed in dour, overcast light for you. Anything with rain–I’m your man. Do witches even bother carrying umbrellas? There must be a spell…

    Speaking of rain, we haven’t had 40 days and 40 nights of it, but I was informed by a full-page article in this morning’s USAToday that the world is going to end this saturday. Even though this gets me out of a chore to pick up a friend at the airport sunday, I’m still a little put out. I’m going to miss the 4th season of Trueblood, I’ll never see the Bengals win the SuperBowl, the plot of Hangover2 will remain, forever, a mystery. We do have until 6PM Saturday, from what I understand. So, we still have time to plan and, you know, get some things done. I’m guessing you’ll do yardwork…

    Be good…😎

    • Marsha

      Oh good! I have time to take my credit card on a wild-a** day of shopping at every shop I could never afford to walk into before. Saks Fifth Avenue & Sephora, ’cause I’ve got to look good, William-Sonoma, because I want to cook something awesome on our last evening.😀

    • Jenn

      Wait…wasn’t the world supposed to end a couple weeks ago too? Marsha, I’m coming shopping with you! I’ll give you lots of really really good advise! lol

    • I’ll be in the yard, yes, unless it keeps RAINING!!! I’m not going to complain because I’ve seen too many dry summers, and it’s great that the Great Lakes are again at their expected levels after 20 years, but everything is really, really soggy, and a few days to dry out would be helpful.

      Not really liking that our weather for the last three days has been coming from the east, either. What’s with that?

  7. Stephenie

    Mmmm… empty paper *drool* I’m working hard at like a million things. I’m still plotting out one story, working on a short story, and a new short story is finally starting to fall into place in my mind. I have a week or so left of relaxing after finals before my brain starts to get jumpy from lack of stimulation so I think this summer will be pretty productive. Your intense organiztional skills inspired me and I’m finding that even a little structure in my writing life is helping tremendously.

    I had two questions but I don’t know what one of them is now. I do remember one. Are we ever going to meet Ivy’s mother? She seems to e mentioned a lot but has never made an appearance, and I thought it would be interesting either way.

    • Sounds like you’re going to be busy, Stephenie! That’s great. I hope the breath of organization works for you. 😉

      We probably won’t meet Ivy’s mother, no.

  8. Rebecca

    Here’s hoping the pumpkining goes well! I’m currently being intimidated by my garden spot… we have to terraform the thing. But ideas are brewing. Are you and Guy planning on any thing else in the garden, other than pumpkins?

    • It’s a long season, Rebecca, but so far, things are going okay. Yikes! Don’t be afraid of your garden! I’m always trying new things, and sometimes they work, and sometimes they don’t. Gotta keep the neighbors guessing . . . -laugh-

      I’ve got some tomato plants I got for Mother’s day to put in and a few string beans, but that’s going to be it this year.

    • Oh, and raspberries. I forgot the raspberries.

  9. Jenny

    I am glad you are delighted with the empty paper. I, however, will be waiting to read what you fill it up with🙂

    • Empty paper is a gift at this point. I’ve been working on schedule for so long, I’m eager for some truly empty paper.

      And then it fills up! 🙂

  10. Heh. The empty paper is one of the most intimidating things I can think of. Blank space in Microsoft Word mocks me and my futile attempts to pierce its vast emptiness with painted images of words. Like any battle, the first blow is often the hardest to make, followed closely by the last, and I find myself setting down a couple of words, only the delete them in disgust. The blank whiteness thinks it has won, but I shall prevail. For once started, the flood of words, images, and ideas flows unstoppable until I am finished.🙂

    Okay, so that was a bit silly. But I know you’re going to have a great summer, and I cannot wait until we see the fruits of your labor (plant and otherwise).

  11. Susanna

    I don’t know if it’s because I’m in France or not, but the price I get is $4.59.

    • Hi Susanna. I think that is a good assumption. Mmmm. I didn’t realize it was open only to US residents. I am so sorry. I should have checked first. (sigh)

  12. AKR (Trinidad)

    Good morning Ms Harrison …

    I must say the deal on the Madison book got me interested …. so I tried it …🙂
    Different …. yes, not Rachel I agree, but still a good read.
    So now I’m going to get rest🙂🙂🙂

    Hmmm … I’m beginning to see the benefit of you touching our lives like this everyday …. it’s like a personal sales campaign …. lol
    But I’m grateful for it … and appreciate the effort … especially the little insight into how you work your magic ….🙂

    Have a great rest of your week …❤
    AKR (Trinidad)

    • Thank you, AKR! I’m glad you tried it. Yes, it is different, but that’s what I was aiming for, so I’m happy. 🙂

      You have a great week, too.