Ahhhhh that felt good

Had one of the best day’s writing yesterday in probably two weeks.  I did the exact same thing I’d been doing for the month, so persistence pays off.  A couple of things were influential in my “good day writing” not the least being that the sun was out.  It was also one of the warmest days this year so far, and the windows were finally all open and the breeze moved through the house like wind under the trees.  I was working on an action scene toward the end of the manuscript, which is always fun–a bit of text that where Rachel finally puts it all together and figures out what’s going on.  The pacing was good, and the characters were all there.  But what made it the best day was that I finally found my happy thought–the singular idea that pulls it all together and sets the tone for the next 400,000 words.


The happy thought is what makes Peter Pan fly, along with some pixy dust.  And yesterday, I found mine.  It had been eluding me for several books, tantalizingly close, whispering at the edges, always there, but never clear enough to touch and expound upon.  Yesterday, it evolved into something I could.  And the best part?  I think Rachel sees it too.

I’m not saying that it’s going to be a fast, quick, furiously wonderful text that’s going to come through my keyboard the next couple of months/possibly years, but I know how to fly–if I can just keep my happy thought.

35 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

35 responses to “Ahhhhh that felt good

  1. Val-OH

    GOOD GRIEF!! Penny for you happy thought? *grin*

  2. I enjoyed Madison very much! Can’t wait to read the next 2 installments. Thanks!

  3. jkh

    We don’t have blue jays ’round here, but we do have Steller’s jays. They have lots of bright blue–and raucous calls. Delightful to see your little guy having a good wash! And ahhh, the happy thought…looking forward to that.

  4. I found this wonderful snippet on TED. “Louie Schwartzberg: The hidden beauty of pollination”

    It has stunning visuals of humming birds battling, blue butterflies dancing and desert scenes full of life. The images begin at 3:18 but his intro speech is lovely as well.

  5. Tim Collins

    Dear Kim,

    Gread Joy and Happiness for your Breakthrough!!!

    (Can’t wait to read your “finished” new book!)

    Your friend,

    Tim

  6. Beautiful breakthrough. Beautiful bird bath. It’s going to be a beautiful day.

  7. Amy

    I’m kind of curious, about the idea that sets the pace for the next 400,000 words. Did you know what was going to happen and it was just a certain thought or sentence that made it all fall into place or was it something totally off track that you suddenly went ah ha!
    I am always interested in how those gifted in the written word manage to put their thoughts on paper🙂

    I am also envious…you have real blue jays, we only have the Mexican jays here, they aren’t half as pretty😦

    • I’ve been working toward it, Amy, but sometimes, things just don’t gel. And this time, I think it has potential too. It was a sentence and look that told me that yes, this might be working. Yay!

      I really like the blue jays. A lot of people don’t because they are loud and noisy, and scare off other birds, but I think of them like teenagers. Brash and full of life.

  8. Victoria Eskey

    that is awesome, Kim! ^_~
    I love how you share your moments with us. Thank you soo much for giving us insight into your processes, and letting us feel like we are taking the journey with you! Your writing advice is brilliant.
    One day my name will be in raised glossy lettering on a book cover (I hope)

    • Thank you, Victoria. I’m glad you’re taking something away from my musings. 🙂 I hope you hold your book in your hand someday. It’s a long process. I once told my husband that I had to be nuts working a job for eight years, half of it with no pay at all, in the hopes of being “hired in” someday, but that’s what writing is.

  9. Stephenie

    Oooh! Exciting. My best friend and I decided we should write a romance novel together and try to make some money while we work on other projects. Even if nothing comes of it, we’re going to have a ton of fun doing it.

    So, there’s no chance we’re going to get to know what this happy though is, is there? We’d love to know.

    Once finals week is over I’m planning on doing some major writing over the summer. I can’t wait, and I can’t wait to take pictures for your contest this weekend! We have some really interesting ideas.

    • Sorry Stephenie. I’m not sharing my happy thought until it’s wrapped up in paper and on the shelf. 😉

      Congrats on finals being over! That feels good. Can’t wait to see your pictures!

  10. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Remember the first rule of flying; Don’t look down. 🙂

    Could Jenks make Rachel fly?

    The bird pictures look great. I’d like to do something like that . I can’t because Fuzzy would eat them. She catches enough birds with out me baiting them in for her

    V^^^^V

    • I thought the first rule was don’t hit the ground? 🙂

      And no, Jenks can’t make Rachel fly. Pixy dust does a lot of things, but that’s not one of them!

  11. Jenny

    Because I have a small child who watches Peter Pan fairly frequently all I could think when I read your post was “Off to Inderland! Here we gooooo..” I can even hear the music from that scene in my head. *sigh* It’s that bad, isn’t it?🙂

  12. Now if that isn’t eloquence, I don’t know what is. I feel I have a gift with language, but I am in awe of what you produce while casually explaining how you feel. We are lucky to have such a kind, open person amongst us. My life in particular is enriched by exposure to your words. Thank you.

  13. Maryellen

    Second star to the right and straight on til morning, Miss Kim!
    🙂

    p.s.– can I come too? Have a great day! Happy writing!

  14. AKR (Trinidad)

    Wow great shot there …🙂

    YAYYY ..!!! Happy thoughts ….. Keep ’em coming ….!!
    Fly high ….. high … high … lol

    Ok …. so you know how to fly …. and I know the Secret ..😉
    … can’t wait to see the results …🙂

    AKR (Trinidad)

  15. SeattleRobin

    So now you’re tantalizing us then, eh?😉

    I was up at my mom’s cabin last weekend and I heard some running water and looked around to see where it was coming from and realized they had installed a little water fall thing. I saw it and thought, “That’s the same exact one Kim has!” Later on there was a Steller’s jay by it to make it look kinda like your pic.🙂

    • Wow, isn’t that cool? I’m a big believer in if you put in water, something will come. Including mosquitoes. I got my little disks put in yesterday to keep them from hatching. Phew! I’d rather have fish, but the water conditions aren’t right yet. Maybe in few weeks.

  16. Jenn

    Bath time!
    Oh, please, please keep your happy thought! lol I’m glad that you finally had a good day writing & that it produced your happy thought for you. I can’t wait to see it evolve🙂