Graphic Novel Pages are up!

Not sure, exactly, if I’m working hard, or hardly working.  I did finally get through that chapter that I’d been working on since Thursday, but I also found out that my mom had been over to my house, said hi to the puppies, and then left, all without me knowing.  Mmmmm, not sure what to think of my mom stopping at the house, cracking open the back door, petting the dogs, and then leaving.  –laugh-  In all honesty, she did shout hello through the house.  I just didn’t hear her.

I’m working on putting up the prize pages from the upcoming BLOOD WORK this morning. You can see the pages up for grabs, here.  These are the “page proof” pages that I will sign and send to the winners of the photography contests that I have going.  They are very much frame-worthy, and I drooled over them when they landed on my desk.  Winner’s choice, so take a look!

I’m also starting to get pictures of paddlewheel boats, this morning, so I’ll have something to show you next Tuesday.  Yay!

37 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

37 responses to “Graphic Novel Pages are up!

  1. Jenn

    The pages look absolutely amazing Kim!
    Don’t you hate it when you get so engrossed in what you’re doing that you look up to find that things have changed around you? lol
    I hope you have a happy hump day!

  2. I’ve already preordered my copy of BLOODWORK. After seeing the graphic pages, I can’t wait.

  3. Josh

    O.O Oh wow! The pages are beautiful! So shiny! *Reaches for the pages with the shininess sparkling in my eyes*

    I cant wait to read the graphic novel🙂 Ivy is beautiful but I was expecting a little more out of Rachel.

  4. Jemma

    Wow, those pages are oh so pretty!

    I’m very sad about the photo competition only being open to U.S. people though. Was hoping I’d get a shot.😦

    P.S. You’re mother is wonderful.😉

    • I talked to my editor, and though the book itself may not be available in other countries, I can open the contest up to everyone. So you’re good! Snap away!

      My mom is the best.

  5. Your mom sounds like a sweetie, Kim. And her reply to you says it all. What a lucky daughter you are. And your puppies, too.

    The graphic novel pages look great. I’ve never read a GN but have friends who “explain” them to me. They definitely have a place in the 21st century.

    • My mom is one of the strongest, most generous people I know. As honest and forthright as a hymn. I am lucky, yes.

      I really enjoyed working on the graphic novel. It opened my eyes to the techniques of other methods, which was just what I needed.

  6. Shanda

    Wow, I think I always had a good idea of what Ivy would look like but Rachel looks a little different than I imagined her. Pretty good work otherwise. Um…..Kim, is Al in this one???😛

    • Hi Shanda. No Al, no. He doesn’t show up until the books start. No Jenks, either. sigh.

      I thought Rachel looked pretty good, myself. Pedro got her perfect from the get-go, but everyone sees things differently, and that’s okay.

  7. Sabrina

    I usually don’t like GNs but this looks awesome! Preorder posted.

    Sabrina

  8. Judi in NJ

    I love your opening paragraph. You’re so lucky to have your mom close by enough that she can pop in to pet the pups! Sweet. My mom lives close by too and I treasure every second with her.

    • Don’t I know it, Judi. We came back to Michigan for two months, and we couldn’t leave. Some was the small town feel that I missed, but some was being close to family after so long an absences–like a fuzzy blanket wrapped around you.

  9. Hahaha! Your mom is so funny…. At least her “grand puppies” got to see her and get some love. Speaking of love… LOVE the pages! I cannot wait for this to be out! I am new to graphic novels, only about 2 years into it, but I am in love with the fact that my favorite series is in GN form. Almost!😀

  10. …sensory overload…

    is that Rachel flying? without wings?

  11. Mom

    Now you know how much I respect your privacy and your dedication to keeping focused on your work on weekdays. Yes, my Grandpuppies were happy to see me!

    • Hi Mom! I know you do, and I appreciate it more than you might know. But there is always time for a cup of tea and a chat! That’s why I have chairs in my office. -grin-

  12. Victoria Eskey

    AAhhh!! Omg. The pages are gorgeous! I couldn’t pick a favorite!

  13. Stephenie

    I totally want one. I’ve become a fan of comic book art recently. I’m still new to reading graphic novels… as in I forget to look at the pictures sometimes, so I usually look over a whole page and then read the text. 😀 I always need more wall art since my taste is somewhat eclectic (read Loud) I’m going to try to stop by the showboat today before we leave to head back for Iowa City. Thank goodness. I already missed work last night.

  14. Aren’t moms fun?🙂

    I must say that I’m looking very forward to the graphic novel! I’ve always really enjoyed Ivy as a character (I guess that makes me a typical man, *sigh*), and this is just great. Ivy looks awesome with her hair in those last panels.🙂

    • Belated response to jkh:

      Oh yes, I remember those days.🙂 However, it was never an excuse for me because my mom always had an old electric typewriter around. Heck, I dimly remember the manual we had, though it wasn’t something I was ever old enough to use.

    • My mom is the best, Greg.

      I’m looking forward to getting this out, too. They take a long time because of the multiple artists working on them.

  15. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    The pages looked great. I’m really looking forward to reading the whole thing. Now if we couls just find someone to adapt Dead Witch Walking into really good movie.

    Are you sure you don’t want to be on Leno? How about Ellen?

    V^^^^V

  16. Hi Kim🙂
    You must’ve been “in the zone”!
    Thanks for writing.
    Love & Best Wishes to you & yours,
    Rob

  17. Tim Collins

    Well…

    Uhm…

    *At least the doggies are happy!*

    (Silver linings and all that stuff…)

    Now my DAD has been calling me by my brothers’ name since forever, and I’M the Oldest!

    (Well…Now “We” know who the favorates are…)

    Huggies!

    Tim (No Dan…No Tim…No…aaarrrgghhh!!!)

    • I call my boys by their unrespective names all the time. It doesn’t help that Thing Two is now taller than Thing One. And I’ve been known to call my dog Ivy when she’s doing something bad. (rolls eyes)