Not so bad . . .

First day of the massive rewrite went not so bad.  I’ve been thinking about it for about a week, but yesterday was the first time I wrote out my goals in a clear, concise list.  I’m not normally a “list” person, but in this instance, lists work well for me, keeping me focused on what I’m trying to do, a constant reminder I go back to daily.

I managed to push through two chapters, mostly because I was able to drop back to my very first rough draft, which turned out to be a better plot line than I thought it was going to be.  Good thing I saved it.  (grin)  Today, I’m going to go over the two chapters one more time after I look at my list to see what I can at least touch upon, if not actually start to talk about.  This is how I get some of my foreshadowing in place–a careful, slow, back-and-forth weaving of about six different ideas into an already established plot line.  It takes time, but it’s not tedious because it is very different writing technique from my push-on-quickly, never-look-back rough draft writing style.

Outside, it’s still quite chill, though I did walk downtown for lunch, enjoying everyone else’s yard with the bulbs coming up.  This is a 1st year Trillium, planted from a home improvement’s wildflower end cap display this last fall.  I’ve got about six Trilliums total in the ground here, and I’m so excited to see them.  The picture of Trilliums a few days ago is from a root that is about fifteen years old.

Oh!  And Mr. Frog at the bird bath/water puddle made it.  Yay!

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “Not so bad . . .

  1. Ronove

    I hope to the gods that Rachel doesn’t keep that bracelet on for the whole next book. I want to know MORE about the demon realm – and the history of that war – all of it. THAT is what I want to know – I’d like to see her learn more of her demoness skills from Al and Newt or some other demon.

    I don’t care who Rachel has the hots for (like, uh, every guy she sees that’s remotely cute).

  2. Kristy

    Hi Kim!
    I read the first Hollows book about a week and a half ago, and it was WONDERFUL! I do have to admit that I went on a reading binge after that. *chuckle*( I have finished reading all the other books in the series since then. My husband teased me constantly for not putting the books down!). Once I started I couldn’t stop; they are addicting. These will end up tattered from frequent visits.
    Kristy

    • Thanks, Kristy! I’m so glad that you’re enjoying them! Now the long wait starts . . . 🙂 You are a fast reader. If only I could write them as fast as you read them.

  3. theweightofsilence

    I haven’t visited in a couple of weeks because I’ve been trying to do some of my own writing….so I don’t know what’s been going on with you! I’ve gotten so much further in these 2 weeks than I ever have with about 95% of my started stories. Most of those starts never went past the first paragraph (or even the first few sentences). One of my co workers has been harping on me to write, so he’s motivating me.

    Anyway, good luck on the re-write! It sounds like you’ve got a good start, and you know where you want to go (which is always a good thing). How many drafts or re-writes do you usually go through before everyone is satisfied? It seems like I hear most writers go through several drafts.

    I did read the last post, and I totally wish I could have a garden! I hope things are well with you =]

    -Crystal

    • Hi Crystal. That is fantastic that you have someone to motivate you. Dig deep, push to finish this one. The feeling is wonderful.

      I usually have three to four rewrites in any given book. Good thing I like what I do, eh? -laugh-

  4. Donna Patten

    I just wanted to let you know that I have really enjoyed your Books. I was looking online for a new book series to get into and ran across your name and the Hollows book series and thought I would give you a try. So GLAD I DID! I just starting reading last week; late bloomer I guess, but I am a fan for life. I just finished Pale Demon today and I love your writing style and story line and the characters personality and just wanted to let you know that! I am glad to hear that your re-write is going well and that your story plot is even better then you expected. Pale Demon is my favorite so far; a car ride…. 🙂 I loved it so much. I can’t wait till next book comes out. Anyways I just wanted to tell you that and say thank you for such great novels; it was like my own trip, I got swept away. Thank you and Happy Writing!
    -DONNA

    • I’m so pleased you enjoyed it, Donna! Thank you. I’ve been enjoying writing about Rachel’s life for a while and it feels good knowing that others enjoy it, too. 😉 More is on the way!

  5. Marsha

    I’m so glad Mr. Frog enjoyed his hiatis under your heated bird bath this past winter.

  6. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Sounds like you had a wonderful vacay. You like cats right? What about dolphins? Check this out.

    V^^^^V

  7. So glad to hear the re-write is moving along like a well oiled machine. As with everyone else, I can’t wait for the next book & I’m glad it is moving along the way you want it to & all your ideas are plugging away into the storyline. I’m genuinely excited for it.

    Have a great day.
    V–V

  8. Hello Mrs. Harrison!

    LOL, great to see that I didn’t miss so much this week that I haven’t been around. Life was so busy last week, I had to take care of a house of 6 people (family friends in need, my parents are retired and living out of town so they couldn’t help them). I quite suddenly have more respect for my mother who used to make sure that we had a good meal every evening. Who’d have thought that making food for other people are so challenging?!

    But anyway.🙂 I’m working through PD slowly but steadily. The jury is still out – but the flow of it is really good.🙂 Thank you.

    Enjoy spring! Autumn is here. I’m debating putting winter bulbs into my new small garden. I think it used to be a herb garden but it’s so overgrown… And it’s all mine… 😉

    Alyss

    • Hi Alyssa. That is wonderful! I can see why you feel so good.

      Hey, no worries if you don’t like Pale Demon. It is, what it is, and if everyone liked the same thing, then it would be a very sterile world.

  9. James R. Fox

    Hi again, Ms Kim- I forgot to ask, is the reason Ivy once said that Rachel felt like an old vampire because old(dead) vampires drink the aura as well as the blood of victims, and they have an aura thing going? It was when they were discussing the fact Rachel loves Ivy I think.

    • Hi James. Ivy was talking about the latent power Rachel has, her ability to tap a line and be . . . everything, for that single moment in time. Her ability to dominate and force issues to go the way she wants them. Ivy is very in tune with weighing people’s strengths and abilities, having been dominated and forced before.

  10. jkh

    Sounds like your Monday was a great start to the week. Happy for you! Yay for Mr Frog, you’ll be hearing his songs soon I’ll bet.

    Wondering how Thing 2 has been doing with his change from SC to MI schools. Hope it hasn’t been too painful an adjustment. Seattle’s schools have slumped badly in the years since my sis & I attended. I think it’s criminal that a kid can GRADUATE and not know how to read or do basic math, nor have any real life skills, but that’s the painful truth at this time.

    I have the Hollows book on pre-order, and am eagerly awaiting that, but now you’re starting to tease about #10. Wicked, wicked lady. More please!

    • I can’t wait to hear him sing, if indeed he is a Mr. Frog, and not a Ms. -laugh-

      Thing Two likes the school better here. He knows everyone at least by sight, and it’s a lot more relaxed. The teachers, too, are more relaxed, and it’s a better learning environment. Positive move.

      I can’t help but tease a little! It’s hard to explain what you’re doing day by day, and not give a little something away. 😉

  11. Chelikins

    Nice about the rewrite and how you work your new stuff in. I always enjoy reading about your style😉

    On a side note. How long should I wait for my Maniac Monday book I won from two weeks ago? I know you all took a trip, which sounded like you had fun! I was just checking so I would know when to expect it.

    Chelikins

    • Hi Chelikins. If you’re on US soil, you should have it by now. If it has to go through customs, it could be weeks yet. Media mail is very low priority. They all went out before we left. If you want, drop Guy a line with your mailing address, and he can give you a better idea.

  12. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-It’s Jim from Warren, used to be Jim from Youngstown. I wanted to tell you we got you beat – We have a wild turkey family here in our new senior citizen/disabled housing development.I hope they make it, they live on the ground, and we also have feral cats, a danger to the chicks, not the adults.The toms in particular are the ninja of the bird family, almost as bad as male geese, who will tackle Anything, to the point they are used as guards over in England.Shades of their Tyranosaurs Rex ancesters. (Tyrano etc etc are just big chickens, according to the latest theory. All birds are really theropod dinosaurs according to to this.Wouldn’t it be neat if Al knew time travel magic and sent Rachel and Ivy back to the Jurassic era with Jenks? And all they had to defend themselves was the swords belonging to Jenks and Ivy plus Rachel’s splat gun loaded with sleep charms? Bet my imagination is weirder than yours. Of course I have lots of down time when I’m not being brutalized by doctors,nurses and therapists.

    • Jim! How you doing! 😉 Good to hear from you again. Very cool on the turkeys.

      What kind of meds have they been giving you? (grin) You have some very wild ideas.

  13. Tim Collins

    Trillium…

    This was the “Rare and Exspensive” substance Doc Occ needed to make a miniture sun to create pure, clean energy in the Spiderman 2 movie.

    (BTW… The exsperiment did not work out as planned….)
    😦

    Tim

  14. Judi in NJ

    Welcome back, Mr. Frog!!!!!! So glad he’s back!!😀

  15. It’s in the 80s here today in Dallas. Spring is officially here! I wrote a blog article today about supporting fellow writers. I mentioned buying merchandise from your favorite writers with a link to the burning bunny pins. Those bunnies crack me up!

    http://norabpeevy.blogspot.com/2011/04/support-your-fellow-writer.html

    Hope to see you stop by, if you need a writing break. I write specualtive fiction myself.

    -Nora

  16. Jenn

    Hi Kim!
    I’m glad to hear that the re-write it going so well for you.🙂
    Apparenly you’ve got colder weather than me! How did that happen lol. I’ve had all the windows open the past couple days. At the end of last year, we cut down some big bushes in our front lawn. This spring I found some tulips in the front lawn, right where the stumps are. I’m thinking my squirrels have been planting themselves!
    Enjoy the rest of your day!

    • Thanks, Jenn. I have fun in this part of the process.

      I’m toying with the idea of opening my windows at night, but it’s still too chill. sigh It will get here.

      Cool on the tulips. I bet they were there all the time, and you never noticed them. I’m taking pictures of my lawn this spring so I can find the bulbs that are not blooming and move them to where they might.