Snow?

Guy tells me we’re going back to winter for a couple of weeks.  I just looked at the 10-day forecast, and I’m seeing cold, not snow, which is okay.  Hey!  It’s Michigan!  That’s how we do things up here.  (laugh)  I might go out and put a few leaves on the tender sprouts I uncovered this last weekend.  They’re all hardy plants, but why stress them if all I have to do is invest a few minutes of my time?  Besides, it will get me out of my office for a moment, and sometimes, a moment is all you need to catch your second wind, find that new idea, see that unexpected but logical jump of thought.  My mind has been jumping lately, and it’s been an interesting week as I touch on about three different stories in my head, balancing, evaluating, tidying up–each one separate but impacting the other by triggering new thoughts, new directions.  It’s been relaxing, almost, finding new space.

Yesterday, though, was a PR day, and I cleared my inbox down to about five things that I simply can’t move forward on until a later date.  Today is a work day, and I’m all jazzed up about it.  I’ve not had a good, “get lost in the work” day for almost a month, and I’m hungry for it.  Ahhhhh.

The birds are starting to pair up and set up territories, which is kind of fun since I’m now starting to see some regulars at the bird bath and feeders right outside my window.  There’s one robin in particular who is a very aggressive bather.  Nice to have them back.  I’ve missed them.

29 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

29 responses to “Snow?

  1. Jenn

    I woke up to a winter wonderland & a robin this morning. And we’re supposed to get more snow?! Oh well, I guess Mother Nature isn’t quite ready for a change.
    I hope you have a great hump day!

  2. I love your blog!! It is so cool getting a glimpse into your life: writing, on tour, house remodelling, your great yard, cutie pets, furniture reclaim, and just you!!

    I was rudely scared out of bed by a woodpecker knocking on our back deck this morning!! I thought I was being attacked by pixies and fairies!!!

    Please keep keeping us posted on your life stuff!!! Thanks for commenting on my pic of my Mocho reading your book on Facebook!!

    • That’s too funny, Roxy! They can be loud sometimes.

      I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying the blog. It takes up a lot of my time, but you guys give me so much that I like to give back when I can.

  3. theweightofsilence

    The weather in MN is pretty nasty right now… I’m ready for spring. The sleet is hitting my window and it’s going to be snowing, heavy and wet tomorrow. It’s the end of March, and we won’t be getting out of the 30’s for the next several days:/

    Anyway, it’s off the subject, but I’ve finally read Pale Demon. It took me so long because I re-read everything from The Outlaw Demon Wails onward, and I didn’t start soon enough. Plus, being busy doesn’t help! I love love love the Hollows, and I wish the books would never end! Your characters are so amazing and written so well that they always stay true to themselves. They’re changing like people do, but they’re doing so in a way that seems so real and natural. I only wish that someday I can write characters like that.

    Also, I love that you blog like this. I don’t follow too many authors, but it seems that most of them aren’t this involved with their readers and fans, and talk both to them and with them on a nearly daily basis. Even though I haven’t read your blog in a very long time, I appreciate that you do it.

    I can’t wait for the next Hollows book, even though Pale Demon pretty much just came out!!

    -Crystal

    • Thanks Crystal! I’m so glad you liked it.

      Yup, I like talking with you guys. It’s getting harder to do with the PR stuff ramping up, but I hope I can continue to do this for a long time yet. You’ve been very respectful as a group, and that makes it easy.

  4. Need I tell you that it was 82 in Daytona Beach? Perfect beach weather🙂

    By the way, I’m grateful you linked to the interview. It’s gotten a lot of hits, and of course, I was very excited to see the post!

    • Ahhh, I know, Sherry. But there is something about a cold spring day in Michigan. The air is rare, and it fills your soul with cool, clean possibilities and the wisdom that you can suffer winter and emerge stronger.

      I”m so glad you’re getting some hits! Yay!

  5. The weather here won’t make up it’s mind. The 20th began the Wiccan holiday of Ostara, or the Spring Equinox… but here I am in California… and one minute it’s pouring rain, and the next it is freezing cold and sunny. Bizzare weather indeed! I love that you have an ‘agressive bathing robin’ those are the best…. birds in Michigan are something else… I spent a week there several years ago – the only time I’ve ever been, and it was in January. I got to see a lot of wild deer, go ice fishing, and watch all the winter birds and the miracle of winter. It was beautiful. No questions today, just throwing in my 2 cents, and saying hi.

    I suppose I do have a question. Do you have a favorite color, or better, two, that are complimentary? There is something I’d like to make for you while I’m on bedrest recovering from surgery…. but I’d like to know what colors you like first.

    • I once caught a sturgeon while ice fishing. My gosh, that is a wicked fish. And fast! I saw it hit the bait and run. Then it was hold on to the pole and hope the line doesn’t break.

      I am very partial to purple and black, and dark green.😉 I hope you feel better soon.

  6. ShannonB

    I feel your pain! I am also a michigander (near the bay) and the news is running the ticker at the bottom of the screen about winter weather and ice tonight yay! (not!!).

  7. Randy

    I’ve always heard in Michigan here, it’s March in like a lamb, out like a LION! I think they spin a wheel each day to determine our weather.

    Spent the day working outside, yesterday was such a pleasant tease compared to today’s reality. Let’s hope we avoid the freezing rains tonight!

    And have to mention how secretly delighted i was to find out you’re calling Michigan home again! Looking forward to getting some advice during one of your book-signing/appearances in the local areas!

    • Hi Randy. You can never truly leave Michigan. How do you like that new Chrysler commercial? Dude, I saw the long version during the Superbowl, and I swear, I got chills!

  8. Cathy

    Kim,
    I hope all that thinking has “Trent” in it. :}

  9. Steve

    Ahhhh I remember all to well Michigan weather. I once drove up north in a blizzard in mid April thus the move to Arizona. I hope your plants make it through the next couple of weeks ok. At the moment I am stuck trying to figure out what to read next now that I am done with Pale Demon. Any ideas for me?

    • jkh

      I’m deep into Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. Enjoying it, and learning about medieval architecture and construction. Of course it’s absolutely not Urban Fantasy, but many genres are great. Or have a look at the Skinwalker series…

    • Steve

      Thank you for the idea’s. At first glance Skinwalker (Jane Yellowrock Series) and it looks interesting, I may check it out =)

    • ShannonB

      I am starting the series over🙂

    • Steve

      Hmmmm, not a bad idea, I am sure I would catch some stuff I missed the first time through plus its been a long time since I read book 1. Thanks =)

    • Hi Steve. Ahhh, they will be okay. Nothing is coming up that can’t handle snow! It makes planting when it’s warm enough all the more fun. I’ve got plans, oh, do I have plans.

      I also have a list of my favorite urban fantasy authors over at the website, here: http://www.kimharrison.net/Links.html

  10. Erin

    Kim– just wanted to say I finished PD last night and it…was… awesome!!!! Thanks soo much for all your hard work in providing us w/ such a fantastic and riveting world!

    As some one who also lives in the midwest, these temperature swings are killer! 70’s one day and 30’s the next… but still better than 90’s, humidity w/ bugs!!

    have a wonderful day!🙂

  11. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Happy Spring! It’s been Spring down here since about the last 2 weeks of January. I’ve only had to close my windows once since then. This is about my favorite time of year…until the mosquitoes wake up. I’m loving it now but, in a few more weeks, we’ll be in the 90s+ and I don’t like that.

    You mentioned a teacher yesterday, it’s a good thing you didn’t listen to the negative comments. Teachers don’t realize the effect they have on little kids. My sixth grade teacher managed to implant a desire to go to Australia in me. I did make it there and it was one of my best trips ever.

    OOO Rachel needs a road trip down under…think of the research! I know it’s too late. You probably have the last book plotted already. Maybe your next protag can do it.

    Enjoy your birds. One of the bad things about having a hunter/killer cat is she eats them….bad Fuzzy!

    V^^^^V

    PS not bull dog, Vampire toothy grin

  12. Stephenie

    We slept with the window open last night and it was really nice to wake up to the birds again. However the crows sound just like my dog crying so I end up yelling at him for no reason sometimes.😀

    I love working on new ideas too! Sometimes I jump into them too early though and haven’t given them time to stew and become their own ‘people.’ It usually takes at least a year for me to feel happy with a new idea.

    • Hi Stephenie.

      It’s been a fun couple of days for me as I turn the brain over to plotting. I’ve been in edit mode for a very long time. Plotting is what I enjoy the most, but having my facts in order doesn’t hurt, and this world book has had me remembering stuff that is now solving my plotting issues now. 😉