Boards on my ceiling . . .

I think it’s a bit of overkill on Guy’s part, but there are boards on my ceiling.  Seems that when we fixed the foundation by raising one side a good four inches, and a center wall six, (and put a supporting wall back in where someone had taken it out) we cracked the caulk around the upstairs tub and it’s been slowly gathering water above our downstairs ceiling.  I knew there was an issue, but I’m not convinced that it’s not a cracked pipe.  In any case, we have boards on the ceiling until we go somewhere for spring break and the guys can get in and fix it.  Ahhh the joys of restoring a 120 year old house.  This is irksome, but not tremendously difficult compared to what we’ve done already.  Sort of like a boob lift.  -ha!-

I spent what time I had yesterday getting all my names straight for the Hollows Insider, which is available for pre-order, by the way!  No cover yet, but it’s there.  I am so jazzed about this that I can’t stand it.  A few years ago, my editor came to me and asked for a world book, citing a few in the industry so I could get a feel for what they wanted.  Dates, figures, character descriptions, maps, you get the idea.

Well, I tried.  I really did.  I blame it on the MPL.  I wanted a real certificate, so I spent an entire day trying to figure out how to make one, and I did.  Once I had that, I wanted Rachel’s driver’s license, a menu from Juniors, and a walking tour of downtown Cincinnati.  It just got worse.  I added pictures, (Thank you, Mark!) and spell books, and journal entries, and performance reviews, and police reports, and newspapers.  It evolved into an entire story line that explained the Hollows while giving that same dry information most world books contain.  I had fun–too much fun, as I cramped my writing schedule and ate up my vacation.

Heart in my throat, I bundled it all together and sent it to New York, knowing it was not what they were expecting, but hoping they could see what I saw.  This could be beautiful, colorful, and utterly unique.  And I waited.  And waited.  And waited.  Wrote another Hollows book, and waited until I got the news that they could work with what I gave them and I wouldn’t have to rewrite the whole thing to make it easy to produce instead of beautiful to hold.  Now I can’t wait for you to see it.  There’s just a few pieces missing, and I’ll be asking you for that over the course of the next few months with several contests where you can submit pictures for the newspaper pieces.  I’ll give you the caption, and you get creative.

But today?  Today I’ll spend today going over chapter one a last time for content before hitting chapter two for accuracy.  Then it’s wash, rinse, repeat until I’m done.  And then . . .  And THEN . . . .  I AM WRITING SOMETHING NEW!  I’ve got all summer to play with an upcoming anthology, and I’ve got tons of ideas that only need a little space to play in.  Yay!

HOLLOWS INSIDER

54 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

54 responses to “Boards on my ceiling . . .

  1. jean

    boards on the ceiling sounds like problems indeed. You are fixing a house that is 120 years old. for something when you have a little spare time you might like to read some of the books by Sarah Graves. She bought a house built in 1823 in Maine and her books (mystery) give insight into what goes on in repairing such an old house and how sometimes the repairs lead to more problems

  2. mudepoz

    ‘Tis better boards on the ceiling, than the ceiling coming down on your bed. Or the tub coming down on your bed.

    That might make a rude awakening.
    World Book. Is any of it in color. I’m trying to decide if I want a real book or Kindle. If Kindle, it will only be b/w🙂

  3. Stephenie

    Ouch about the water. My grandma had a pipe burst in her house and her insurance didn’t cover it. She’s not living there atm so her safety wasn’t an issue, but oh how the money is.

    I LOVE love love world books. I remember how excited I was when the first Harry Potter world books came out, and I’m exponentially more excited about this one! I’m all up for competitions too! It sounds fun and interesting and I love any good excuse to dress up or get in costume!
    I can’t wait to read it, you description of it has me even more excited than i was… it’s infectious!

    I can’t wait to see what you start working on next… It always amazes me what people come up with.

  4. Jemma

    I cannot wait for this. It’s sounding so good!

  5. jkh

    I am so excited, I just broke my rule and am scampering {;-)} for my credit card to pre-order the Hollows book. This is one that the paperback just won’t do justice for. Just happen to have a couple extra nickels to rub together so I’m doing it.

    We are doing the full American-Irish corned beef supper with all the fixin’s including soda bread. Hope you all enjoy today, too. And TVM to JudiNJ for the lovely blessing–I’ll say it over our table this evening.

  6. Kris Clarey

    I have read through every book for the umpteenth time, and for the life of me I -still- cannot figure it this out. I have even surfed the net, to no avail.

    Who is Daryl? All I can find is that it is some one that Jenks and Ivy met while on a run when Rachel was in the EA.

    Also, -what- is she?

    I really hope that you will be able to answer this Kim!

    Also, cannot wait to read the Hollows Insider this fall! ^.^

  7. Deb Johnson

    Life is good when you do your passion, isn’t it? Not the remodeling, the writing. Remodeling should only be done by other people while you are gone somewhere warm with a beach and beer.

  8. Jenn

    I’m glad that you are so excited aout the world book AND getting your fans involved through contests…sounds like a blast!
    A water bubble is just no fun, is it? I hope it gets corrected soon!

  9. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Scampering off to Amazon to pre-order!

    (I don’t know why I like the word “scamper” so much)

    V^^^^V

  10. Jade/Third Coast

    The bath tub thing sounds familiar, only it wasn’t my tub. I was babysitting and the boys were up stairs getting ready for bed. The next thing I knew, there was water rushing from the ceiling in the entrance hall. The first thing I thought was a broken pipe. I went upstairs and the boys were in their pajamas, drenched, and had been playing a game of run and jump in a full tub, which had been caulked to the wall. The caulking had broken and every time one of them jumped into the tub, water sloshed over and accumulated under it until there was enough water to bust through the wall paper downstairs.

  11. Both books sound like they belong in my living room, Kim. I’ll be sure to order them.

    Bummer about the house shifting – hope you and Guy get things settled soon.

    • Hi Jeannie. The HOLLOWS INSIDER is like nothing I’d ever done before, and I had a great time figuring it out.

      The house is a labor of love. It needed us, and it’s going to stand another 100 years now. Makes me feel good.

  12. Jenny

    Kim your enthusiasm is indeed infectious. I am so excited for the world book! It will be sort of like the most fun encyclopedia ever🙂 I’m looking forward to something new from you as well.

  13. Angela L

    Wow the Insider sounds exciting! I pre-ordered, the estimated delivery date in my anniversary! I’m sure it’ll change but hey still neat🙂

    I remember my parents having to have one side of their house lifted… coarse it was only a couple years old and sank from the foundation settling poorly due to a crappy builder.

    Happy St. Patty’s Day!

  14. Robin

    I’ve got my pre-orders in for the graphic and the world book. Sooooo excited there will be Hollows things to enjoy instead of an entire year of waiting for something new. Don’t suppose we could start doing this every year? 😉

    • Ahhh, I should have a Harrison Anthology out next year as well as a regular Hollows book. I’m not sure where the second graphic novel is going to fall, but with some luck, it might also be next year.

  15. Kristi

    Kim, thank you so much for all of your incredible writing! I just finished Pale Demon – wow! You are amazing and fantastic at driving us crazy at the end😉
    Looking forward to this new journey of further detail into the Hollows. Preorder? Bring it!

  16. Maryellen

    WOW!!🙂 WOW!!!

    So this is it, huh? The very last one… I am both sad and yet happy for you. It’s good that you’re ending it, for your sake as a writer and also for the integrity of the story. But won’t you miss it, just a little? After all this time? Do you have a working title?

    Again, !WOW! I hope it’s everything you want it to be and more, Miss Kim. If you’re anything like me, you might shed a few tears when you say good-bye to your characters, but I’m sure they will be tears of pride for a job well-done and anticipation for what comes next. Rather similar to seeing one’s child graduate, I imagine.

    …sigh…. I’m gonna go hug my kid now… my Hollows books too.

    • OMGosh, Maryellen, NO! This is not the last one by far, but I am taking a short break from the Hollows to put together an anthology of just my work, and want to include a few new things to show my scope as a writer, hence the excitement of writing something new.

      I’e got 12-13 planned, and then we’ll see. 😉

  17. mae ainselve

    Yes, lving in the 120 years old home, I know what it’s like, always something to fix. I own one that old and last week it was complete electricity fail, good we weren’t on fire.
    By the way, “Pale Demon” arrive yesterday (I’ve had my birthday on 11 March, so it was my delayed present, the one I appreciated most), right now I’m very sleepy, because I read all night. My cat get that tomato-toy prepared for that special ocasion (Holloween). As always I’m totally enamored by Your work. You have the language equilibristic like Raymond Chandler or James Joyce. Rachel Bloom Marlowe?
    You writing right now? What? What is it? New Hollow book? When I can get that??? When can I pre-ordered that?Since I’m living in Europe, it takes some time and I want Your books as soon as possible.
    About the form, Cortazar mix prose with comic book, why not mix all kind of available information? Literature, comic, movie, interactive at one medium? Sorry, I’m kind of writer?futurologist/quantumpsychicist/nerd/asshole and I can’t stop thinking . By the way since english is not my first language I apologise for my misspels and other mistakes
    I love Your work, waiting for next.
    And I’m waiting for whats next in my old house goes broken
    Love You
    (&my cat loves You too, he enjoyed the tomato)

    • Hi Mae. Your English is quite good. Better than mine. -grin-

      I’m so glad you got your copy and that you enjoyed it! I’m actually brushing up the HOLLOWS INSIDER right now, but the next two Hollows books are safe at rough draft, ready for me when I can pick them up again. There’s the graphic novel, too, coming out this year. Bloodwork.

      Thanks, Mae. I’m so pleased you are enjoying my work so much.

  18. Kimberly Costa

    Looking forward to seeing your vision in print. The work on the house sounds exciting. My husband and I have done a lot of restoring and while crazy at the time, the end result is so worth it🙂

  19. Val-OH

    OMGosh! I’m so excited! I’m loving everything you just described!!

  20. Jacque

    Soooo excited for when the world book comes out🙂

  21. Kim-

    I absolutely LOVE it when you get excited about a project. Your enthusiasm is genuine and infectious. I cannot wait to get the world book in my hands!🙂

  22. Judi in NJ

    Oh!!! How very very exciting!!! I can’t wait for this world book! It sounds fabulous & I know coming from you, it will be a work of wonder!!

    HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!!! An Irish Blessing for you and yours:
    May the blessing of the rain be on you—
    the soft sweet rain.
    May it fall upon your spirit
    so that all the little flowers may spring up,
    and shed their sweetness on the air.
    May the blessing of the great rains be on you,
    may they beat upon your spirit
    and wash it fair and clean,
    and leave there many a shining pool
    where the blue of heaven shines,
    and sometimes a star.

    Bring on the corned beef & cabbage!

  23. Joe Coots

    Hey Kim, Looks like you brought the sunshine back with you to Michigan, so make sure you take some breaks to enjoy the nice spring weather!! This is Michigan after all and it could turn fast and Snow tomorrow! LOL Welcome back!

    • Hi Joe. I put in an order for sunshine before I left, so I’m glad that it followed me back. 😉 This weekend, I see myself putting in at least two trees. That is, if it doesn’t snow. -laugh-

  24. Yay!! Pre-order sorted🙂