Travel Day!

The tour is officially done as of 4:30 am this morning, as I crawl out of my last hotel and find my way to the airport.   It’s dark out as I sit in the airport and write this, and the sun will be setting by the time I touch down in Michigan, going from 84 degrees farenheight in AZ to 40 in Michigan.  I’m sort of looking forward to another sunrise at 3,ooo feet.  Hope I get on the correct side of the plane.

I’ve heard that it’s still snowing in MI, and I was hoping that it would be done with the white stuff by the time I got home, but I don’t really care.  It was a fabulous tour, with some unexpected surprises and having the chance to meet some of you that I’ve been talking to all year.  But I’m ready to be home, back with my dogs, my kids, and a cup of tea that is made with water that hasn’t been boiling since six am.  ;-)

I’m going to take tomorrow off from the drama box, so see you Wednesday!

PS . . .

I said I was going to take a day off from the drama box, but when I got home, I found that spring had come, even though we still have snow on the ground.  (Daffodils, if I remember right)  As I write this, there is a robin drinking out of the bird bath, and two paired chickadees waiting their turn.  Oooooo!  The robin just got in to take a bath.  Yay!  It took, almost a year, but they are finally using it!!

And now he’s gone.  ;-)  Which means I’ve got to finish settling in and picking up the threads of the world book, almost done, content-wise.  Orchids are blooming, Mr. Fish is perky, and the pups are content.  It’s good to be home!

P.S.  Robin is back.

 

45 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

45 responses to “Travel Day!

  1. Sabrina

    Hey, Kim!

    I’ve just finished reading “Pale Demon” last night (good things have to be savoured slowly) and I have to say: Wow, well done!! You’ve really dealt out a whole new deck of cards to play with. Thank you for this amazing read!

    Good to hear that you’re back home and that you’ve enjoyed your tour. Any chance you might ever come over to Germany or Europe in general? You are quite popular here, you know😉. Release date of “Blutdämon” is July, 11th and all my German reading friends are desperately waiting for it.

    Love,

    Sabrina

    • Thanks, Sabrina! I’m so glad you liked it! I’d love to get off continent sometime for a tour, but we’ll see. 😉

      Don’t give away any spoilers!

  2. Kimberly

    I missed you in Houston! It made me terribly sad to be so close (4 hours away) yet so far away. I didn’t even realize you were in Texas until 2 pm…..the day of your book signing or I would have been there!

    You’re one of my all time faves! I so adore Rachel & the entire crew of the Hollows gang! I haven’t gotten to buy Pale Demon yet but it will be in my hot little hands as soon as I can!

    Happy spring Kim!

    Blessings
    Kimberly

    • Oh no! I’m so sorry you missed it, Kimberly! Maybe next year. I’m so pleased that you’re enjoying my work. Thanks! Watch out for spoiler until you get your copy. You’re going to want to be surprised!

  3. Theresa

    He He, my mom gets back from Idaho today, I feel sorry for Thing Two seeings how he doesn’t get to see you for so long i’ve had trouble with just 4 days and he has suffered for weeks, give him a hug =]

  4. Judi in NJ

    Congrats on another wonderful tour! Hope you put your feet up for a bit! Yay for Sring!! SO happy its finally Sprung!😀 p.s. I got to see Sammy Hagar at his book singing today! Yyyiippppeeee for me!😀

    • Thanks, Judi! But there’s not much time to relax. I’ve got a deadline I want to make so I can take spring break off completely. Have fun at the signing!

  5. suzannelazear

    Glad you had a safe and fun tour! ~hugs~

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  6. Stephenie

    I never thought book tours ran so long! I’m glad I got to see you so early in your tour though… If I’d seen you this last week I think I would have just brought a cot and blanket and offered to read you a bed time story. 😀 My girlfriend and I always joke that when you’re on a planned ‘vacation’ or trip with a strict itinerary you don’t sleep… you nap.

    I’m trying to branch out and read some new authors but I’m having trouble picking things I think I’ll like. I have a problem and the first step is admitting it.

    Hi, my name is Stephenie and I am a Book Snob. 😀

    Does anybody here have suggestions on a good new adult author? Especially if they’re just starting out with a series or with writing?

    • Maryellen

      Hi Stephanie! My name is Maryellen and I shamelessly indulge a book a day addiction….

      …and when I run out of stuff to read, I write my own stories, then read those…

      As far as authors to recommend, I love Doug Preston and Linclon Child’s Pendergast series of books (they’re starting a new series with “Gideon’s Sword”- nice guys too), Neil Gaimen, Chuck Palahniuk (he’s really intense- not for everyone), Charlaine Harris, …. yadda, yadda… I could go on and on…

      Happy reading!🙂

    • Antonio

      😆 Book Reccomendations? Welllllll, I have a few. (laugh) Some of my favorite genre writers/series:

      Charlaine Harris: Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Mysteries, 10 books.
      Jim Butcher: Dresden Files, 12 books.
      Patricia Briggs: Mercy Thompson, 6 books;Alpha and Omega, 2 books.
      Ilona Andrews: Kate Daniels, 4 books;The Edge, 2 books.
      Richelle Mead: Dark Swan, 3 books;Vampire Academy, 6 books;Succubus Series, 5 books.
      Janiene Frost: Night Huntress, 5 books.
      Jocelynn Drake: Dark Days, 5 books.
      Faith Hunter: Jane Yellowrock, 3 books.
      Laurel K. Hamiliton: Anita Blake: 19 books.
      Gail Carriger: Parasol Protectorate, 3 books.
      Carrie Vaughn: Kitty Norville, 8 books.

      Others: Karen Chance, Tanya Huff, Anne Rice, Richard Kadrey, Holly Black, Suzanne Collins, Kelly Armstrong, Yasmine Galenorn, Barb & J.C. Hendee, Molly Harper, Wen Spencer, Lisa Shearin…

      That should keep ya’ busy for awhile.😉

    • Judi in NJ

      Jaye Wells🙂

    • I would add to Antonio’s list, Diana Rowland’s Kara Gillian’s series there are three books. I haven’t gotten to the third yet, but enjoyed the other two Mark of the Demon and Blood of the Demon.

    • This one was a monster, Stephenie. Looks like you got a lot of suggestions! Happy reading!

  7. Glad to hear you are home safe and sound from your tour. I wish I could have been there but I am in NY. I have read “Pale Demon” and I loved it!!! I think that the series would make awesome movie material :o). I just wish that I did not read so fast as now I have to wait for the next book!!! There is nothing better than a wet nose, slurrpy kiss, and a tail wag from the fur babies to cheer a person up!!!

    • Yeah, I don’t get out there much. -shrug- I’m so glad you enjoyed PALE DEMON! Thank you. I think it might make a good translation to film, too. It’s well balanced.

      I’ve got a couple of releases to help tide you over till next year, with the graphic novel and Hollows world book, but I know what you mean. 12 months!

  8. It was so good to meet you and Guy in Tucson, Kim. We arrived home a couple of hours ago and we’d only been gone 4 days — I can’t imagine how good you two must feel after weeks on the road. I’m sure Thing 2 kept everything tip top shape while you were away.

    Be well.

  9. Donna Bailey

    hey would you believe i still havent gotten around to reading Pale Demon? lol.. I’m being stubborn and i wont read it till i’ve finised re-reading all of the previous books.. when i DO get to it i’m gonna be reading it on my NOOK.. I hope it doesnt snow too much more for you guys… Here in NH the last week or so we’ve had nice spring like weather and its melted like 70% of the snow we had piled up so instead of 4+ foot snow banks we are down to about just over a foot atleast here in Nashua NH (yep when ever i talk about where i live i’m gonna say where so if you ever travel to NH you’ll know right where to head for.. lol… one of my other BIG favorite authors is gonna be at an event in MA in a couple weeks and for the second time in a row when she’s within driving distance to go see my car is broken.. last time TWO of my favorite authors were there.. just one this time but still…. Am i wierd that i kind of have a mental Top 10 favorite authors list? lol.. and ironicly it seems i pick well since i’ve actually gotten to message and talk to 3 out of the group… lol.. One i emailed YEARS ago and have saved the email to this very day, and she now has a Live Journal thing where she talks to us readers , Then there is YOU who honestly i think its AWESOME that you have this blog and respond to everyone… it really does make me feel kinda special and always makes my day to read the responses from you.. and one other I emailed last year through her website and she replied too.. I HAVE to say i think its really fun as a fan to admire an authors work and then find out that dispite being famous they REALLY are as cool and good people as you had thought they might be because they seem to understand and write characters who really ring clear as showing they understand human nature and emotions so well which Honestly after reading your blog and the other authors Live Journal i honestly think it must take and IMMENSE sense of empathy to do so THAT well and put it into a story in a way that so many people can relate to….

    • Donna Bailey

      Oh my… i cant believe i wrote THAT much… lol.. would you believe normally i HATE writing and suck at putting things into writing? lol..

    • Hi Donna.
      We have little piles left that need to melt, but otherwise, we are done with most of the white stuff. I’m already planning on where to plant things. (rolls eyes)
      Have fun at the signing!

  10. cheryl fraser

    Dear kim:I just wanted to let you know how very much I love your books! I have laughed, become angry and have thirsted for revenge along with all of them. I miss kisten’s character very much, but respect your reasons for his death and recognize its value to your storyline. I am a childrens’ librarian, and at the end of the day, one would think that holding another book in my hand, even an adult one!, would not be on my priority list of desirable options, but any of your fiction is happily grasped within my stubby little fingers to be voraciously consumed! Thanks for that! I was saddened to have missed the opportunity to have perchance met you some months bach when you were on mackinac island; my hubby and I had made plans to visit there, but thing four had been ill and our trip was postponed. I am happy that you have returned to michigan, as I am in windsor, ontario and am always in your state as my things two, three and four play basketball over there on the weekends. I might be able to tell you one on one how I so greatly enjoy your work! I will watch the web site for your book signings and will attempt to get to one! Thanks for the enjoyment that you have given me. I am glad that you have returned home safely. Enjoy your family!

    • Thank you, Cheryl. I’m so glad to hear that you are enjoying my work! I enjoy what I do, and I think it shows.

      One of my favorite memories is of my elementary school librarian. I worked with her for two years before I moved schools. You guys are wonderful.

      I hope our paths cross someday. 😉

  11. jkh

    That cross-country plane trip just whacks me down. Not sure whether west-to-east is harder than the opposite, but it takes me a couple of days to get reorientated–and you get to add DST to the mix! Blech! At any rate, I couldn’t possibly add anything to the welcome home greetings you’ll get, except to say for goodness’ sake take at least one day off! One final comment: BAHOOGIES? Love it! Yes, I “gulped” Pale Demon in 2 days, of course. All I can say is, wow.

    • jkh

      P.S. Somewhere my online name got changed from JanisHarrison–still me…

    • OMGosh, Janis, you are so right. You never get used to it, but you do find ways to adapt and make it easier. I actually like the west to east flight, though it makes for a very short day.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks! It’s my favorite!

  12. Chelikins

    Glad you made it back safe and sound. Hope Thing 2 had the house cleaned up from those wild parties he had while you two were away! I know your babies missed you something awful and am sure they licked you and Guy silly!

    • -grin- He didn’t do too bad, from what I’ve been told, but his grandparents kept him in line the whole time by keeping him busy bringing in firewood.

      Puppies are very happy, yes.

  13. Val-OH

    I’m glad you made it through the tour safe and sound! Meeting you was fabulous and your husband was hilarious! Have a nice day off.

    And if you don’t mind me asking. What’s your favorite tea?
    Mine’s Bigelow Plantation mint. Love making sun tea with it too.♥

    • Thanks, Val! We are glad to be home.

      Favorite tea? It depends upon the time of day. Morning it’s loose leaf Chi tea with a little milk and a dash of sugar to wake me up. In the afternoon, I go with a Tazo Chi tea made from syrup, made with skim milk, not whole, and sometimes a shot of raspberry in it. With cinnamon on top. -grin-

  14. SeattleRobin

    Glad you made it through the tour in one piece! It was fun to look at the photos as usual. Everyone always looks like they’re having a great time. I hope you enjoy your well-deserved day off.

    But the main reason I’m commenting is because I want to know what fool thought it was a good idea to put a picture of A GIANT HAIRY SPIDER on a book festival poster?!?! (shudders and mutters something about “freaked out, man”)

  15. I’m glad you had a great time on the tour. Be safe traveling back home. Time to kick back, relax and enjoy some down time.

  16. Maryellen

    Enjoy your day off, Miss Kim! We’ll be waiting for you…

    I’m sure your babies will wag their tails like crazy when you walk in and that Things One and Two are both so proud of their Mom!🙂

    ….as we are all proud of her too!

  17. Marsha

    Conratulations on the great tour. I hope you take a few days at home to relax before you get back into work.

  18. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    Hope your trip home is safe and smooth. I was truly a highlight of the year for me to be able to attend another signing and get to meet your partner in crime. Plus Pale Demon was quite enjoyable too! Waiting to find out about Jasmine though….

    • Heyde Ho, Mendi! It was an incredibly smooth tour, actually, and it was wonderful to see you!

      Jasmine? Mmmm . . . . I’m glad you liked the read. Thanks!

  19. Jenn

    I’m so glad that you had a great tour!
    I think seeing the sunrise on the plane would be amaizing. Did you get to see it?
    I hope you had a good day off & that you had a great reunion with both your parents & your pups!