Tucson Festival of the Book, pt 2

It’s the second day of the festival, and I’m ready for it!  Yesterday was fabulous as I got to sign under the open sky with the wind and sun–much better than in a store.  And there was fair food!  Yum.  It was the first “honest” food I’d had in three weeks, and it tasted exactly how I imagined it would.  The corn on the cob was heaven. I have pictures up of my first panel but most of them are of me and some of the familiar faces I ran into, some for the first time actually meeting him/her, but familiar nevertheless. Pictures of the Day

Today I’ve got a panel at 11:30 on Modern Hero/ines in SF and Fantasy, (which I don’t really have a lot to say about) and then another on Sci Fi vs Fantasy vs Horror,which apparently does have other people on it so I’m not alone there.  (Sorry!  My bad!) They will both be down in the Integrated Learning Center, room 140, which I’m told seats 150 people.  If they run it like yesterday, they will only let 150 people in due to fire codes. Signing will ensue afterwards.

26 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

26 responses to “Tucson Festival of the Book, pt 2

  1. Marguerite

    The book festival looks like a wonderful time! By the way, I went to check out your pictures from day two, and it looks like you have a missing link.

  2. I would be there if I could!! Tucson is so wonderful and lovely! And Iove o

  3. Kim-san! It was awesome getting to finally meet you! And yes, the desert really is wonderful.

  4. Wyckedflesh

    I am so glad I made it down on your first day! Thanks for bearing with my humor about the cover of Blood Work and signing my motorcycle’s windscreen as well as Pale Demon! When Blood Work comes in, the windscreen will be mounted on the wall with Blood Work tucked into it. Pics of course will be sent to you.

    I’m not as cute as the model on the cover, but here is my bike on the track with me on it.

  5. Marsha

    Great! Our little Kylie made to see you. Nice of you to take a picture with her and her mom. Fair food…yum.

  6. Gail S

    I’m not sure what you’re biting into in the picture😉 but I see the carmel corn off to the side and I’m drooling! Next year if you’re there, I’m going to kindnap my friend in Phoneix and drive down to Tucson. the book festival looks like a blast and who wouldn’t want to bask in the sun after the midwesst winter🙂 Enjoy!

  7. Tanya G.

    Hi Kim!

    It was wonderful to meet you yesterday at Mysterious Galaxy! I was one of the folks who traveled down with Mark. Seeing you guys meet was just awesome.🙂 I’m so glad he actually read that book club selection a few years ago and was inspired. I’m very much looking forward to seeing the world book in November! Thanks so much for coming to Arizona & for loving Mark’s stuff.🙂

  8. JanisHarrison

    My experience of Tuscon, ca 4/26/2003: “…visited the International Wildlife Museum…sponsored by the Safari Club…Lots of mounted insects–butterflies, beetles, moths–and lots and lots of mounted exotic mammals and some birds. There is a fantastic “mountain” of sheep and goats from all over the world in a rotunda. Just fantastic. Really great dioramas, and some clever “poses.” …The museum is just outside town, up into the hills. We drove through a FOREST of saguaro cactus, young, old, and meddle-aged, spread all over the hills. There was some beaver-tail or prickly pear cactus, too, along with some other desert vegetation, but just hundreds of saguaro…Musings on Arizona: The earth is slightly reddish-brown in the Phoenix area. It is desert country…something that sticks in my mind: a children’s play area in a park, with a huge canopy of shade cloth…The Tuscon area is even more desert country. The earth is redder, the classic terra-cotta in some places…

    • JanisHarrison

      P.S. I hope you get to chat with Judy Jance, another one of my favorite authors. Her genres, methods, etc., are quite different from yours, but she’s a warm and wonderful person, who blogs too–but not with an open forum, although we can email her if we wish, and we’ll get an answer if we need it.

    • Very cool, Janis! I didn’t get a chance to meet with Judy. Maybe next time. 😉

  9. Steve

    Hi everyone, I was at the festival yesterday, what a blast!! Listening to Kim speak was a real treat, I have some good pictures and got to meet Guy!! Well worth the 250 mile round trip car drive. I can’t wait until the next chance I get to attend on one!!

  10. I really wish you would make it back to FL, I am more broke than you would believe, but I would sell my right kidney to get to Miami, Orlando, Ft Lauderdale, Daytona or wherever your publicist sent you within the state. Tampa would be great though, cause then I could keep my children and my organs and just hop over the bridge. LOL You’re missing some beautiful weather and even more beautiful beaches down here………
    Hope you’re having a great time and taking some time for yourself to decompress in the midst of all of the fame and chaos.

  11. Maryellen

    Glad to hear you’re having fun, Miss Kim!

    I always eat my way through events like that. I’ve been known to throw elbows if I see a sign for elephant ears!😀

    Enjoy and have a wonderful day!

  12. mudepoz

    That looks like so much fun. A picnic in MARCH! Like-minded, interesting company (and competition😉 and the great outdoors. Must almost make all the traveling worth it!