Calm before the storm

It’s my last weekend before I head out, and though I’ll be home for the first couple of days hitting Lansing and Ann Arbor, I still have tons to cram into the few days remaining.  I just realized I don’t have a full length mirror, which means I’ve not tried on anything to make sure it fits.  I’ve got to wash my hair.  -grin-  And get it looking good.  Got a nail appointment on Monday, the dogs go in for their yearly checkup today.  (Bad timing, but when they called, they made me feel like a bad dog mommy, so we’re going in NOW!)  And then there’s the packing, not just for 12 events, but for the office equipment to keep me in touch and updating the website as I go.   It’s really hard to get two weeks into one bag, but I’ve done it before.  ;-)

Leaving Michigan is kind of tough right now.  Spring is in its first cold infancy, but the snow is almost gone, and I’m walking the dogs with my head down, parting the grass for the first sign of the crocus that I put in the ground this fall.  They should be up in SC, the yellow ones almost done, but here . . . nothing yet.  The birds know it’s coming.  And the joggers.  -laugh-

The picture above is of one of my orchids.  I can’t remember if this is one that Mud gave me, or one that I had, but the cat pulled it out of the pot about a year ago, and it’s still not rooted very well.  And yet, it has a bud coming.  I’m so excited.  I’ve never had a lady slipper orchid re-bloom for me.  I think it likes the light here, too.

40 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

40 responses to “Calm before the storm

  1. Hello Mrs. Harrison,
    🙂 I had to take my dog to the vet today as well. It was a perfect excuse to get the day off.

    I know things are going to get very busy for you from here onwards so i’d just like to say good luck with the release and the tour. The NaSties will no doubt find you,😉 carrying with them my well wishes from South Africa. I hope that the release goes well and that you’ll be back in your garden before long.

    All the best and come back safely,
    Thank you for everything,

    Alyss

  2. Sarah

    You are truly gifted if you can get an orchid to grow. I’m experimenting with potatoes right now. Read about growing potatoes in a bucket and it seemed interesting enough. Figured my family and I could build a nice frame, use the black landscaping fabric as a nice screen inside the frame and put the buckets inside.

    Anyway… I hope to make it to one of your Texas signings. My book is already pre-ordered. Can’t wait for it to get here!!

  3. Theresa

    OMGosh!!! Only 2 more days till PALE DEMON!!!!! =D

  4. Antonija

    Woo-hoo! Tour time! I wish I wouldn’t live on the other side of the globe <.< Anyway, I already pre-ordered Pale Demon and I hope the shipping won't take too long! I've been waiting for this books to come out for two years now and the last few days ahead seem twice as hard to survive -augh-

  5. Stephanie

    We have crocuses coming up in NC, and the roses have red buds. One daffodil has flowered in the dejected backyard where grass has given up on growing under my dog’s excited paws. Good luck on tour. I love your series.

  6. MichelleG

    Kim, I know you have said on your website that people who wear their shirts to the signing can be in a sort of (class) photo. When is that usually done, prior to or after the signig?

  7. Mirja

    Unfortunately I’m thousands of miles away, so I have no chance to be at any of your signings. I’m truly sad about that as you are my favorite author. Have a wonderfull time on tour! BTW, it’s not even close to spring here in cold Finland, the temperature right now is about -24 celcius.

  8. mudepoz

    Yeah, it’s one of mine. They are pretty indestructible, keep in mind, they hang off of trees. It’s http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&client=safari&rls=en&biw=1884&bih=964&tbs=isch%3A1&sa=1&q=paphiopedilum+maudiae&aq=2&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=paphiopedilum+

    Might be one of the viridifloras. Best, it has keikis, so you will have flowers in the future. Don’t worry about spring in MI. We’re getting more snow coming here, which means you will to. Enjoy the trip and hope when Madison is released you’ll be back in Illinois:)

  9. Tour time already? Did Guy mail out the shirts yet?

    Good for you getting the doggies to the vet before you leave and for you getting a pampered manicure. If the clothes don’t fit, it’s the perfect excuse to go shopping. I hope you get lots of rest before you hit the road.

    I’ve never grown orchids so I’m assuming that the bud is a good thing.

    • Hi Jeannie. The shirts have been out for a week now, so if you ordered one, you should have it.

      My clothes fit. They fit better this year, than last, actually, but I wanted something new. Just a few tops is all.

      Yes, orchid buds are good things. 😉

  10. Frederique

    Did I read it right that you will be in SD for the graphic novel? I can totally make a trip from LA for that🙂

  11. Rachel

    Congrates on your orchid getting a bud. Your either lucky or have a really green thumb. I love orchids but they are the one thing I just can’t get to grow.

  12. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    It’s tour time! I’m so happy that this year you’ll be in St. Louis. It’s been a few years since I was able to travel to Chicago and I’m so looking forward to hearing you read an excerpt from Pale Demon. That’s my favorite part, besides just getting to say “hey.”😉 My friend, who actually got me started on your books, and I are making a night of it. Got our dinner place picked out and all. If you need any suggestions, let me know but I’m sure you’ve scoped things out a bit on the road trip!

  13. JanisHarrison

    Best wishes for a pleasant and relaxing weekend if possible, and a safe and enjoyable tour.

  14. Niko

    Enjoy your last week of relaxation! I can’t imagine that tour- though fun- will give you much downtime.🙂

    • Hi Niko. No, there is not much downtime. I usually don’t get in and eat dinner until midnight, and then I’m up at six to make the next flight for weeks in a row. It’s downright miserable, but you guys are worth it. 😉

  15. Maryellen

    Aww…enjoy your last weekend, Miss Kim, good luck on your tour, and travel safely. See if you might squeeze in a spa day somewhere…or maybe when you get back.🙂

  16. Ro Dover

    Hi Kim! I can´t wait for the 3rd book of Madison Avery, can you tell me the title and realease date? Pleeeeeeeeease! Congratulation for all the Madison´s books. It´s really amazing!! Bye..

    • Hi Ro. The third one is called SOMETHING DEADLY THIS WAY COMES, and I don’t know when it comes out exactly. Late May, early June? I’m so glad you’re enjoying the Madison books. Thank you.

  17. Jenny

    Good luck on the tour.

    I’ve never been much of a gardener, my husband tells everyone that I’m a plant murderer. I like to say I have a black thumb.
    However the one plant I seem to be good with are orchids ( total paradox ) I have a bud on one of my plants as well.🙂 take care and travel safe, Jen

    • Thanks, Jenny. I appreciate that.

      I’m no good with other plants, either. At least the inside ones. I’m a little better with the outside shrubs and trees. Congrats on the bud! May they bloom for weeks and weeks.

  18. Marsha

    I’ve never had the courage to attempt orchids with all the stories about how tempermental they are. Our local Whole Foods does have some that are beautiful enough to tempt me though. It certainly looks like you will have a bloom for your new house this year. Have a great weekend.

    • Actually, Marsha, I’ve found orchids to be easier to keep alive than any other plant. If you forget about them, they survive. I hope you had a great weekend, too!

  19. Dragongirl

    I love orchids! But I’m like Angela L, all plants whither and die under my “care” hehe so I just enjoy them in other people’s homes lol

  20. Angela L

    Gotta love when vets make us feel like bad pet parents:-/

    That’s so exciting about the orchid… I kill everything after a couple months. Sadly I do not have a greenthumb.

    Hope you get all your errands complete before the tour!

    • Yes, well, I forgot about my appointment and stood them up the first time. I had to go in this weekend.

      I hope I get my list done before tour, too. It’s going to be close.