Chapter Five of PALE DEMON

Anticipation.  It can carry you through an amazing amount of time, be it standing in line at a restaurant, to waiting almost a year for your birthday and perhaps another shot at getting that pony you always wanted.  Some people hate waiting, but I personally have always been a delayed gratification kind of a girl.  (mostly)  The reward is sweeter for the time spent savoring it in my mind.  If that’s true, then I might keel over from the coming sugar rush when Pale Demon finally hits the shelves this February 22.

Two and a half years I’ve been working on this road-trip book, dropping teasers and spoilers to my readers when my anticipation overflowed and spilled out.  These last two months, I’ve been delighted to share with you the first few chapters of Pale Demon. Here is the last I can give you before Pale Demon officially becomes “real.”  It has been a pleasure to bring you these early peeks.  I like anticipation, but sharing something I love is a lot more fun.  Enjoy!

Kim Harrison, 2/15/11

Chapter Five, Pale Demon

And if you missed it
Chapter One
Chapter Two
Chapter Three
Chapter Four

53 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

53 responses to “Chapter Five of PALE DEMON

  1. Ram them, or something.😀 Nice one.

  2. Hi Kim! Thanks for chapter 5! What a great birthday present, thank you! I got a Kindle for my birthday and my hubby is getting me “Pale Demon” as a gift for my birthday. Can’t wait to read the whole book, thank you!

  3. CC in CA

    Wow! I think that is one of your best chapters ever IMO. Kick a** Rachel is back🙂

  4. mhub

    Thx Geert, so exciting!!!! Feb 22nd is turning out to be my favourite day of month, Kim and Jeaniene’s latest books!! Can’t wait.

  5. Tora

    [bit of a spoiler if you haven’t read chapter 5 yet]

    Da-a-a-a-a-a-amn. Dude, Rache totally pulled an Al on “Legolas’s” ass!! (Also, serious lolz @ her calling him Legolas.)

  6. Amy

    Are we going to learn more about Elven culture with this new book? The whole idea of the wild magic seems to be a new thing, not something you have gone over before. I found it surprising when Trent used it in a previous chapter and now the fact the elf could kill her with a song…wow.

  7. Oh my God!

    Rachel can manipulate Elven magic as she likes? How powerful does that make her?

    Something tells me this book can be my favorite too.

  8. Candace

    Woohoo, I loved it!

  9. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    Owww yeah! It’s getting close and those chapters are looking good, but so sad that the gang didn’t have a good time at the Gateway to the West. My visits to the Arch will never be the same though!

  10. MichelleG

    OMG…I can’t believe how it keeps getting better and better. The suspense is killing me. Cannot wait til next Tuesday. See ya in Lansing!🙂

  11. AKR

    Yayyy …!! Excellent ….
    These tidbits have made the wait for the 22nd sooo much more bearable ….
    Thank you …!!!
    “delayed gratification” INDEED …🙂

    AKR (Trinidad)

  12. Tish

    A M A Z I N G !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! February 22nd is soooo going to be better than my birthday!!!!

  13. Jer

    KIM,
    AS SOON AS I SAW THE COVER OF THIS BOOK “TOMATOLAND”,
    I THOUGHT OF THE HOLLOWS! Kinda funny, I see the Hollows everywhere!
    I just sent the picture/link to the book to vampcharms@comporium.net.

    I will be reading Chapter five this evening, I think ‘delayed gratification’ is self-torture or self-imposed distress brought upon one’s self for no reason at all, pointless:) I do not need any more mental or physical distress, my in-laws and 2 dogs have been here for a month…living in my one-story, 3 bedroom house! My husband has been out-of-state for work the past week and a half..I HAVE TWO KIDS (5yr girl & 2.5yr old boy) and a huge golden retriever, whom I rescued and she feels neglected when other dogs are around her (like I will forget about her)! Two more weeks, I think I can make it…

    Anyway, one more week…FEB 22nd will finally be here! THANKS!

    • OMGosh, Jer. You sound like your life is as full as mine, right to the top and a little dribbling over. 😉 Hope it eases soon. I’ve got a mini-vacation coming at you on the 22.

  14. Antonio

    “I’ve been drivin’ all night, my hands are wet on the wheel. There’s a voice in my head that drives my heel…”

    There’s something uniquely American about ‘The Roadtrip’ and it’s place in our popular culture. Film, literature, music. We are a transitory people, I guess. Always on the move. Nothing gets accomplished standing still.

    “The road has got me hypnotized, As I spin into a new sunrise…”

    Anticipation is a big part of it, right? What do they say? It’s the journey, not the destination. Well, I think it’s gotta be both to make you long for the next roadtrip. And the one after that…

    The ninth book in the Hollow’s series! 4,000+ pages, with all the ups and downs. It’s been fun. And it’s not over yet.

    GOOD LUCK! and CONGRATULATIONS! next week.

    “No more speed I’m almost there. Gotta keep cool, now, gotta take care!” (Golden Earring/Radar Love)😎

    • You are so right, Antonio. It is an amazing feeling to DRIVE across an entire continent, knowing that you “own” it, that it is yours to protect and defend and enjoy, that it changes and has variety. It’s like no other feeling I’ve ever experienced.

  15. Christine

    You’re the best!! I’m LOVING the chapters so far and cannot wait until next week to get my copy of the book!

    Thanks Kim!

  16. Sara

    YAY!

    That is all. 🙂

  17. Donna

    TORTURER I say! lol… I CANT read these advanced chapters before i get the actual book… i learned long ago thats a fast way to drive myself NUTS is to read the previews for upcoming books that authors i like have coming out.. (same with if i find a new author and they have that peek into the next book at the end of the previous one… ICK! its EVIL!… it took me a LONG time be be able to keep my book/reading addiction in moderation…

    • Donna

      Oh hey just a wierd idea i just had that i though i’d pass on that would be super cool to see … i think it’d be SUPER awesome if you had like collectors editions made up of the Wold Book that were printed in Latin… (you know like how all the demon texts in the Hollows series are in latin?) yeah i know this is SUPER wishful thinking

    • Robin

      oooooooooo!!

    • Your long wait is almost over, Donna. 😉

  18. Robin

    If only PD came out the 21st instead of the 22nd that’s a holiday for me and I could read all day!!! I’m sneaking it into work, I swear I am. **sighs** for Trent. I really do feel they have so much more in common than either one is willing to admit.

  19. Clay(UK)

    I know what mean about waiting. I’m normally terrible at it but this time I decided to force myself to not peak at the first few chapters and instead I have the whole launch day set aside.
    Can’t wait🙂

  20. Lisa

    Been a good girl so far by not reading the chapters so I can wait. I have that day all planed out. Some wine,bubble bath, and phone unplugged. Woohoo!

  21. Maryellen

    “I could reach right out and smack him if I wanted.”😀 Oh gosh, I laughed at that one! Great line!

    Okay, so now I’m worried… what’s wrong with Trent? Dang, Miss Kim- you’ve got me concerned about the Elf! When did that happen? You snuck that in on me, that’s for sure…

    Ugh— one more week. Not going to make it…

    • I know! I know! I’m a little surprised myself! This is not what I had intended. (But I say that all the time, and all the time I’m delighted when the characters surprise me.)

  22. Geert

    For those who can’t wait until next week🙂
    chapter 6 and part of chapter 7

    http://www.harpercollins.com/browseinside/index.aspx?isbn13=9780061138065

    enjoy

  23. Yasmin

    Whoo-hoo! One more week! I can do it! I can!
    Thanks for today’s thrill, Kim!
    And how did you know I have asked for a pony every birthday and every Christmas since 1960? 😉
    Have a great day!

  24. Stephenie

    mUAHAHAHAHAHAAHA! I forgot this came online today…. and since the box for the satelite is in my bedroom because we were watching Casablanca last night I now have something to do while preparing for school.
    😀 I’m happy now… if only my cat would stop trying to climb onto my computer.