Yay! Weekend Rush!

I’m having the worst time with the recycle guys.  Last week, they put one of my empty bins at my neighbor’s curb instead of mine, (if I knew whose, I’d go get it, but I don’t, so it’s gone) and this week, they ignored them all together.  Sitting at the curb.  All by themselves.  Looking so lonely and A STARK BLUE AGAINST THAT THREE FOOT TALL SNOW CURB!!  I’m starting to feel as if my garbage isn’t good enough for them.  How embarrassing having to take your recycles back in the garage.  I hope no one saw me do it.  (sigh)

So, another week is ended, and I have to say thank you for all the fab ideas for spells and charms you guys gave me yesterday.  I usually try to detail out at least one charm per book, so I have a bit of practice making these things up, but I can only do about 3-4 a day.  Earth charms are done, and now I’m going to do a few more ley line.

This next week is going to be busy with a few phone/recorded radio interviews, and the last sneak-peek chapter going up Tuesday, but I should be able to get through my first brush through of the world book as well.  Almost ready to tear it apart and rebuild.  I really wanted to get this done before tour, but I’m running out of time and I want a good job, not a fast one.  I REALLY like what I’ve done here, and it is going to be something special–something that has so much of my energy and imagination invested in it, you really have no idea.  I’ve never done anything like this before, and it is turning out so well.

Monday is going to be another Manic Monday with more free books for the cost of S&H!  I’m not sure what they’re going to be yet, but we have a lot up there, and it will likely be a package deal of two or more books for the cost of shipping to get them to you.  I will post the details here on Monday, Valentines day, at 10:00 EST to give the west coasters a chance.  (Sorry about that the early hour the first couple of times.  I was not thinking globally.)

Have a great weekend!  I’m probably going to get my hair cut and make sure all my clothes fit.  I had a dream last night about trying on a coat I’d seen before that had unexpected coins and feathers in the pocket.  I wonder if I bought it?  (darn alarm . . . .)

 

26 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

26 responses to “Yay! Weekend Rush!

  1. Diuna

    Hello Kim,
    so many people are writing about love between Rachel and Ivy, that is should change in seriously relationship. I cannot agree with that because if Ivy was’nt living vampire with intoxicating pheromons, then Rachel wasn’t so fascinated in Ivy to this degree.
    For me it simple, Ivy is very fascinating personality and if add vampire charm, oh even I, heterosexual woman, can start feeling something more than sisterly emotions toward Ivy but it not means I could go to bed with her.
    Besides Rachel never had affections to other woman.
    Trent is like spoiled brother for Rachel and I can’t see them as a couple, besides Trent is so often repulsive person without morals. But I like read about this murdering bastard😉.
    Al, hmm …, i have penchant for him, although he’s demon. Since Al changed himself for Rachel, maybe he can be right man for itchy witch. Of course, he’ll never stop being manipulative, but Rachel’s life is so dangerous and crazy so she needs strong and dangerous man, who should be inspiring respect in demons, elves, banshees etc. Pierce is weird and too mysterious, reckless.
    I think if elves dominated a world it could by frightening for other races so they need counterbalance. But demons are scary too, but maybe if they can have woman then they,d be busy😉. I’m so curious that did Rachel ever has children. If not then I vote for Al.
    I admire Your work and are rereading Hollows so many times, although I so rare come back to books.
    Sorry for bad English😉.
    Greetings from Poland!

    • Hi Diuna.
      I am hearing what you are saying, and this is exactly why I don’t know who Rachel’s happy ending is going to be with. Every time I try to script out her relationships, they go bad. The best ones are the ones that happened naturally. So I’m eager to get to the last book and find out what happens.
      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books. Thank you! Your English is pretty good!

  2. MichelleG

    When that happens with your recycling or trash. Call either your Township or City office and tell them there is a problem. My Township (also in Michigan) calls either trash or recycling for me and they usually come back the same day. Try it out. I hope it works for you.

    • If I had an overabundance of recycles, I would do just that, Michelle, but I’m sure they just didn’t see them, and it was no big deal to put them back in the garage for this week. We might call the for a new replacement bucket, though. . . 😉

  3. Read the LV chapter. Loved it ^^

    Aaaaand…I’ve reread the short-story. Ivy has scars on her arms? Well, I know she has maaany scars, but what kind of scars does she has on her arm? Biting scars or…?

  4. Z's Wife

    Be happy you sometimes get curbside recycling! My recycling has to be sorted and loaded into the jeep for a ride to the recycling place in town. Right now, it is threatening to take over my laundry room.

    Quick question on Pale Demon – is the audiobook due out on the 22nd also?

    • Hi Z’s wife. I’ve lived in areas with curbside recycling for over twenty years, and I can’t imagine throwing out a can or bottle.

      The audio book should be released on the 22. Yes.

  5. Marsha

    They don’t even recycle here in my tiny little town, it makes me feel very guilty. Sounds like you have a busy weekend leading up to your last week before you start traveling (poor puppies). Have a great weekend anyway.

    • Hi Marsha. It was a relaxing weekend, actually. The last one since next weekend will be family and prep. I had to bust my butt getting that chair refinished so that my parents would have a place to sit when they come to watch the house and Thing Two while Guy and I are gone. 😉

  6. JanisHarrison

    We have had our issues with the trash patrols. We have separate rolling bins for landfill garbage, recyclables, and yard/kitchen waste. Two of the bins are picked up every week, the other every 2 weeks. For a while we had some macho who took delight in RIPPING off the lid of the garbage bin instead of unlocking it, Before long the can was damaged. I called the service and recommended that the guy on my route be charged for every can he wrecked. No more trouble with that…

  7. Bri

    Long time no speak, but definitely looking forward to Pale Demon (already got my copy, and one for a friend preordered).

    I realize this is more appropriate for yesterday’s topic but it is closed. I don’t usually try to do so, but one can’t always be at the computer😉 I promise not to do a day late, but just an idea or two…

    Since the normal witch magic deals with plant and heat, that means you can also deal with an opposite direction…say, redirecting, or absorbing heat.

    Such as the various paralysis spells could be facilitated by plants plucked during the winter…as they go to sleep, so does the recipient. And of course, a binding plant like ivy could certainly be more efficacious than a daffodil…

    And location of the plant can also lead to stronger magic. I could easily foresee a potion for visions of the past (postcognition) strengthened by a plant that was harvested from an area…

    Maybe scaring someone with death with plants plucked from a grave…

    Finally, you might have fun playing around with the idea of just what, if anything, petrified wood might allow a witch to do…

    • Marsha

      Wow, Bri! How clever!

    • mudepoz

      You know, Bri, there are indicator plants for all sorts of things. Lead wort growing over lead. Salt loving plants growing along highways in non salt water areas (guess why). Then there is the doctrine of signatures, where plants resemble the things they heal (Hepatica–liver). Pretty cool:)

    • No worries, Bri. I have to close the comments on a daily basis simply so I am not overwhelmed, and commenting here for previous posts it A-ok.

      Those are all great ideas! I love them! Thanks!

  8. Marcie

    Oh busy, busy, busy. Seems the way of life. Hopefully you get what you really want accomplish before you can’t until the tours done. Those recycling guys are a pain. I have one of those full sized recycle cans and every week they place it in the road in front of my driveway. I can’t even pull into the driveway before getting out and moving it. I swear I’m going to make a sign “trash can gets replaced here, not in street!”, but i’m afriad they’ll start skipping me. Guess I’m stuck.

    I didn’t get a chance to reply to yesterday request of charms and I’m not sure if they were mentioned or not, but here’s a few from me….

    1. I would love to see the earth charm Rachel used to change into a mink and the demon one she used to become the red wolf.
    2. Some elf/wild magic charms.
    3. Oh and the one that made Jenks Big and her small.
    4. Anything Rachel thinks may be a way to help Ivy save her soul.
    5. The Light ball charm would be cool too.

    Your world book sounds like it is going to be so much fun to read and I can’t wait. 🙂

  9. Robin

    My recycle can is a full size trash can and then they only pick up every two weeks. My guys without fail leave it dead center in the driveway so I have to stop in whatever blizzard we are currently having and drag it out of the way before I can pull in the driveway. I gues they could have points for being consistent. I can’t believe with all you have going on you still take time to post for us. Such a nice loving creator. I’m totally psyched about the world book but take all the time you need to make it feel right. That’s one thing I LOVE about the Hollows is how deep and broad the back history is, (well one of many things). I was actually glad when the alarm went off this morning because my other self was getting yelled at by the boss which is really weird because I can’t imagine him yelling even if he was on fire. Have a great weekend. 4 more day to next PD chapter, YAY!!!!

    • Thank you, Robin. It’s not hard to go the extra mile when you know people, whether it be readers or the publisher, are eager to see what you can come up with. I’v been fortunate on both parts with the Hollows, and I don’t take it for granted. 🙂
      Last chapter tomorrow!!! Yay!

  10. Judi in NJ

    To dream that you are selling or buying feathers, symbolize frugality and thriftiness.
    Feather Dream Meaning

    Psychological Meaning: Feathers can represent a gift that expresses your desire to show warmth and tenderness to someone close to you. A feather floating in the air may show your desire to ascend to higher spiritual knowledge or intellectual ambition. The lightness of a feather also implies light heartedness and enjoying the good things in life. You may benefit if you surrender for a while to the benevolent winds of fortune: go with the flow.

    To see gold coins in your dream represents success and wealth. Silver coins represent spirituality, values, and your self-esteem. Coins in dreams can also suggest missed opportunities.

    Have a great weekend! xo

    • Mmmm. These dull copper coins and two white curling feathers were in the pocket of the coat I was trying on for size. I have a feeling I know what my subconscious it telling me, but very cool on the analysis.

  11. Niko

    It’s a sign you’re supposed to have that coat!

  12. Yasmin

    Manic monday! Rats! I have to be at work at 9. I could call in sick…Just kidding. Then I wouldn’t have money to BUY books.
    Hope that hair cut is just a “trim”. Can’t grow my hair at all so I cry when people cut their long hair.
    Enjoy your weekend, Kim!