Guest Post at LitFestMagazine.com

I’ve got a guest post today over at LitFestMagazine.com It is the first of four.  This week, I’m talking a bit about what urban fantasy is, and why it has been popular since the space race.  ;-)

Check it out!  (You may have to scroll down a bit to get to the four guest posters, but the link should be on the front page.)

 

Also, today is the last day to place orders for the PALE DEMON tour t’s!  Info at the website

The original artwork is based on a petroglyph that Guy and I “found” at the ancient village in the Petrified Forest. It struck me enough that it figured into the story itself. (Seriously, how could a bird eating a man not get a writer’s imagination going?) Wearing one will get you into the “family photo” at the signing, and bragging rights.  (laugh)

JoBeth, Charlotte, 2010.  Black Magic Sanction tour

Guy is placing the last print order today, and after that, there will be no more.  Eve-aaa.  :-)

 

28 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

28 responses to “Guest Post at LitFestMagazine.com

  1. Frenchie

    I know that you have books available to purchase on the site that would come with a signature. When would Pale Demon be offered? I wish I could make it to one of your signings but can’t. *tear* Just wondering, I probably won’t be able to handle the suspense lol. It wouldn’t hurt to have two copies🙂

    Thanks

    • Hi Frenchie. Guy and I are starting to phase out offering signed books through my website, so I don’t know how long that will still be available. Sorry. I wish I had better news for you. The booknack is still offering signed books, but they won’t have PALE DEMON until after the tour.

  2. Mel from OR

    Greetings from Oregon!
    I maybe the happiest 31-year-old girl in Portland today! I came home from work this afternoon and found a lovely package with two even lovelier signed books from a Vampiric Charms. *squealing with glee* Thank you so so very much and I look forward to diving into them once I’ve finished my first editing/revisions on my current project.
    Fantastic article by-the-way.
    Fabulous week to you darling.
    ~Mel

    PS. Writerly question: When you are working on a rough draft do you keep your chapters separated in to their own word documents or do you just keep them all in one document? I just finished a rough draft and am wondering about the next step besides the editing and such. I kept each chapter in separate, but I’m not sure if that is a good method or not.

    • That is very cool, Mel! And thank you! I’m so glad you liked the article.

      You asked about how I divide my work? I work with one file per chapter, but when I send it off to my editor, I make one big file. It works for me, and I don’t have that huge mental mountain to climb every day, just a few pages.

  3. Theresa

    HI Ms. Harrison!!!!
    I know this is kind of off topic but… for your next tour can you make one of your stops some where in western Washington please please please please…I’ll be your best frieeend😉

    • Theresa

      Oh yeah and I really like your fish it looks AWESOME I really like how it changes color when you look at it from different angles:)

    • JanisHarrison

      Theresa hon, Ms Kim does visit in western Wash State. Last year she was at Third Place Books (just north of Seattle’s city limit), and somewhere near Ft Lewis/McChord, and I think something like Powell’s Books in Portland, OR. Her publishers plan the tours, and this year they didn’t choose us (waaahhh). The next time she comes to Third Place Books they’ll have to reserve the BIG space for all us fans — we overwhelmed the place that had been allotted.

    • Hi Theresa. Jainis is right. I get up there usually about once a year, but not this time. Maybe next!

      And thank you about Mr. Fish. This guy is something else. He’s the most active, personable Mr. Fish I’ve had in a long time.

  4. I’m on eternal hold with Best Buy and am entertaining myself by reading all my emails, yours in particular. I never did know the def of Urban Fantasy. Well put, Kim. I can’t wait for Pale Demon and I can’t wait for the tour shirt and I especially can’t wait until your tour stop in Tuscon.

  5. JanisHarrison

    This is slightly off topic, but…When I went looking for the MMpaperback of BMS at my favorite indie bookstore (Third Place Books in Bothell/Seattle) I couldn’t find it. Finally went to a clerk who checked their inventory screen and led me to the “Horror” section. Horror! Why on earth? I asked the clerk. Maybe because it’s got vampires in it? replied the clerk. Hmph. I repeat: Hmph! Somebody is going to talk to somebody there about classifying Kim Harrison’s books. They’re all over the freakin’ store! We need shelves labeled KIM HARRISON, that’s what…

    P.S. Now you’ve got me turned on to Faith Hunter’s “Skinwalker” series. I’m gonna find out where they stuck Jane Yellowrock, too.

    Love from a curmudgeonly fan…

    • Hi Janis. Yep, they put me in horror sometimes because of the vampire angle. It has me wondering if I might actually be able to write horror. I should give it a shot. I’ve got some very weird things perking in my brain right now.

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying Faith’s work. Me to. 😉

  6. Marsha

    I enjoyed that. I would probably be tempted to read the book from your imaginative synopsys even if I wasn’t helplessly addicted.

  7. mudepoz

    I am SOOOO disappointed! They DON’T play I Spy? What about Slug Bug?🙂 Was there a Pixie?

  8. Hello there Mrs. Harrison,

    I hope you had as good a weekend as I did! Got out of town a little and that always refreshes the mind. Which is ironic coming from me as I spend most of my days travelling out of town on work… I got good news today. My company’s decided to offer me a permanent position on the staff. I performed well in my first 6 months.

    And, I yielded to temptation today – I completely blame you for this one.🙂 Here’s a picture of my new room tenant. The Betta. 😉

    Have a great day, I’ll wander over to the other blog.🙂 #
    All the best and happy writing ma’am.
    Alyss

  9. Hi Kim, Just left the page you suggested and found it interesting enough to sign up for their e-mail. Just another thing you have turned me onto. Love your new fish. What color did it turn out to be? Brenda

    • That’s excellent, Brenda! I’ve got it in my favorites list, too.

      Mr. Fish is still evolving, but it looks like he is blue on the tips, red toward the center. And he’s feisty!

  10. AKR

    Good Morning Ms Harrison ….
    Cool post, it’s always interesting to see the insider’s view. …🙂
    Especially that of one who has contributed so much to the genre.

    I just had to share this little story with you, I apologise if it goes on too long …lol
    I recently introduced a Trinidadian friend of mine living in the UK, to The Hollows series ….🙂
    She devoured Bks 1-4 and thoroughly loves them … which made me feel waaaaaay better for my recent addiction to your writing ….

    Anyway she called me yesterday in a panic and to complain … as she was nearly halfway through WWBC and realized she was reading things she didn’t know about ….😮
    Things like “Tom Bansen” …. “Rachel’s father” ..😮 …. She was like “WHAT? … What did I miss?? “😮 lol
    Well I had a good laugh at her expense … apparently she skipped, The Outlaw Demon Wails … aka Where Demons Dare …. *sigh*
    (due to her own carelessness … I think … well that and the different titles in the UK … lol) ….

    But she’s back on track now …. and enjoying every minute of it …❤❤❤
    Thanks again for taking the time out of your busy schedule to allow us to communicate with you on this forum …🙂
    Eagerly awaiting the next sneak peak of Pale Demon … and of course it's launch on Feb 22nd.

    Have a productive week,
    AKR (Trinidad)

  11. Judi in NJ

    I’m so sorry to hear about Mr. Fish.😦. Your new beta is beautiful. What is a bubble nest? My mom has had her beta for about 4 years now & keeps him in her bathroom. It’s a little unnverving to “go” b/c the stinkin fish always comes out of the beautiful plant my mom is growing for him to stare at you! Weird.

    15 days, baby!!! wooooo hoooo! On well into my re-read and I’m up to WWBC – one of the most emotional of all. I’m loving being back in the Hollows…I just love it. love, love, love.

    Have a great week!

    Judi

  12. Stephenie

    I love all of the definitions of urban fantasy and how many ways it can be interpreted. The more unique an authors world is the more interested I am! Which is what I love about the Hollows.

    I’m ordering my t-shirt today, and I’m excited! I’ll be going to the signing in a month in Des Moines, IO! 😀

    • Stephenie

      I loved that blog entry! And I love when authors cite other authors! It made me think of a question I’ve been kind of saving for the tour but I’ll ask here anyway and maybe you can elaborate later, and it’s probably the most annoying commonly asked question ever, but…

      What exactly was the inspiration for the Hollows? Did you decide you wanted to write about a spunky witch? Or did Rachel show up unannounced? I get ideas from dreams sometimes; wanting to recreate that feeling from my subconcious and I just wanted to know about your process.

    • That’s exactly right, Stephenie. You ask another writer, and you’ll get a completely different definition.
      You asked about inspiration? I really have no idea. DEAD WITCH WALKING was originally a short story that I wrote before I found publication, and I was trying to put the most interesting characters I could think of in an odd setting and still keep the appeal of the girl next door. I got Rachel. 😉