We are the sum of our parts

Part of an author’s job is recognizing traits and patterns in behavior.  Everyone is different, obviously, but the sixteen personality types of Meyers/Briggs personality test have been one of my greatest tools in my toolbox when it comes to nailing down the hard-wired responses of my characters. (If you write and haven’t found Meyers/Briggs, do some research and be prepared to spend hours.  It is AMAZING.  Most successful dating site use a modified version of it, but M/B came first, and you really need the original to correctly identify the rare personality types.)

My M/B file is seriously about a ream of paper, and though I used to use it extensively, I now refer to it only when something isn’t quite gelling on the page.  Most people have a good grasp on what’s in there anyway.  You know how your friend is going to react to any given situation before it happens, but this is after a lifetime of interaction.  It’s harder with a character, brand new and shiny, and knowing their personality type helps give you the bones to shape your character.  When they break out of their M/B accustomed patterns, it’s even better.  No one always follows their personality traits, and when we deviate, it’s because something extraordinary has impinged upon us.

Why am I bringing it up?  Because I saw one of my own character traits poke its head out this week and remind me that I’m a creature of the sum of my parts as well.  I have been sitting on pleasant news since Monday, afraid that if I mentioned it, it would go poof in the sun and disappear.  But after taking it in, digesting it, and analyzing it to death, I’m braver now.🙂

PALE DEMON was the recipient of a starred review in Publisher’s Weekly, and it has me doing the happy author dance, scaring my dogs.  I’ve gotten decent reviews from publishing’s top industry magazine before, but getting that starred review in genre fiction means they thought it was outstanding in what it accomplished.  Which is a very fine thing to know indeed.  -grin-

 

P.S.  I “ran” very well yesterday.  I have 21 pages of messy, ugly text, and am aiming for the same today.

73 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

73 responses to “We are the sum of our parts

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention We are the sum of our parts « Kim Harrison's Drama -- Topsy.com

  2. Dragongirl

    Congratulations!!
    And thanks for the Myers-Briggs tip!

  3. Congrats, Kim!! That’s awesome and totally well deserved! A quote from their review: (eh ehm) “Elegant and taut as a gymnast’s cartwheel, Harrison’s polished prose drives a story that will have readers swerving in their seats every time Rachel turns the wheel.”😀 That’s a perfect description!

    Where can you find the original M/B type descriptions? I don’t know if I’ve read the original.

    • Thank you, Tiffany. Ah, I’m not sure, but if they say M/B, then it should be the original. What I meant was if you do the test, do a full M/B, not a short version of it to catch the more rare types.

  4. MichelleG

    Congratulations! I cannot wait to read this book. You are an excellent writer/storyteller and you deserve the praise that you are given.

  5. suzannelazear

    ¸.∗*¨*♥.¸YAY!!! ¸.∗*¨*♥.¸¸Doing the cupcake happy dance for you. You rock. Have run running with words…

    hugs and cupcakes

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  6. Niko

    It deserves the reward, definitely! My ARC of Pale Demon has been perused so many times- it’s definitely the best of the series, and you totally blew me away. I’m glad to see that others are giving it the honors it deserves.🙂

  7. Krista

    Just read the review, congrats!!!!

  8. Jo

    Congratulations! We mortal readers already know the greatness of your writing. Glad to see that “the others” have finally realized what we already knew.

  9. JanisHarrison

    I agree with Lesley, and Gaaaaaah! I have to wait HOW LONG to get to Pale Demon? I may not survive….

    Seriously, (also echoing another post) I’m not at all surprised at the ST*R from Pub Wk — you are one of the “tightest” writers I’ve read. And I’m a picky-picky reader.

  10. Mike

    your books rock and you deserve the awards

  11. Val-OH

    Congratulations! Pale Demon rocked my world, why not Publishers Weekly!!! Yay you!! P.S I LOVE AL!!

  12. Marsha

    Congratulations on the great news. Everything I’ve heard about the book has been very possitive. I do understand your sitting on the news for awhile…I am constantly worried about jinxing things myself.

  13. I’m so thrilled for you and I can hardly wait for my & Granddaughter’s copies to arrive. We had been sharing your books but this time I wanted you to know that I think you deserve my buying us both one. You are just that good. I love your blog and sharing your life every day. I live in Atlanta, Ga. and hope you will visit here soon. Brenda Kahn/ Nicole Holley

  14. WOO HOO! Happy dancing! And Yay for 21 pages! Whew! I seriously need to get my motivation back after I took a break from my story for the holidays. Gotta learn not to do that when I’m in the middle of something. Live and learn.😀

  15. mudepoz

    Of course Publisher’s Weekly would recognize the brilliance of PD. Congratulations.!*Hands over the half of Chai left after a black panther came up behind me and scared me. The rest landed on his/her costume*

  16. Judi in NJ

    Congratulations, Kim! How wonderful it must be to have something that you are so passionate about and work so hard at, be recognized by the industry. Good, no, GREAT for you!! We are proud to be your fans and I’m so super-happy for you! You really deserve it and may I say it’s about time. I don’t think you get nearly the credit you deserve and I’m so happy to see it happen for you. As my boys would say: Holla!

  17. Congratulations! That’s a wonderful achievement for you! We all already though of you as a STAR author, but now you have that to add to your list of things to prove you are awesome! Super excited for PD to come out!!!!!

  18. Congratulations!

    I’ll be looking forward to “Pale Demon”. Ever since i discovered the Rachel Morgan series, I have been putting every bit of my free time(and even when there is no free time) to read all the books. Rachel, and the Hollows is and incredible world, and your writing is very addicting.

    Congratulations again!

  19. Tracy

    Good for you girl. Kudos.

  20. Angela L

    Congratulations Kim, that is exciting news! I’m doing the ants in the pants dance in anticipation of it!

  21. What good news, Kim! What a way to warm up your day and keep the words flowing while you continue your marathon.

  22. Gail S

    CONGRATULATIONS! It’s nice when you get validation for all the hard work you do. Go ahead and shout it from the roof tops or at least at the local mall:-)
    Glad to hear you’re ‘running’ is paying off too. Sounds like you’ll make your deadline without a hitch;-)

    • Hi Gail. I am seeing a shot at making my goal, yes. Today is going to be hard with an appointment wedged in there, distracting me, but tomorrow, being Friday, is going to be the worst. Monday should be the “runner’s high”

      And thank you!

  23. Sara

    Congrats, Kim! I’ve said it before, and will say it again, and might one more time when I come to one of your signings….but you’re hands down my favorite author these days. Every book in your series is at least on par, if not a notch above, the one before it. I don’t know what kind of magic you do (hard work? :p), but I’m constantly surprised at the quality you maintain after this many books in this series. I don’t want to mention other author’s names, so I won’t, but I’ve been let down before when a few books in the story just disintegrates and becomes unreadable and has almost nothing in common with the early book or two besides character names. I look forward to each book 30 seconds after finishing the previous (allowing time for digestion. ;)) and end up rereading each book at least twice during the wait. It’s incredible. You deserve all your kudos, props, and accolades! 😀

    • Thank you, Sara. I really appreciate that. Some of that might be me, as a writer, finding out what keeps me interested in the actual writing process, and consciously making decisions that avoid that awful, dead-writing where you’re writing for a contract instead of yourself.

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying my work. Thank you!

  24. Lesley

    Woohoo! And also, GAAAAAAHHHHH!!! Feb 22 can’t come soon enough!

  25. Chelikins

    That is super wonderful!! I am so excited for you!

  26. Michelle

    Congratulations that is awesome! I truly love your Hollows series.

  27. Juanita

    We fans knew it all along, of course! Congratulations!

  28. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Glad to hear you had a good run yesterday. Very very good.

    This other news is even more exceptional. It’s great that you are getting the recognition and praise you deserve. I think it may even bring us closer to some sort of screen adaptation of the Hollows.

    Keep running and don’t forget to hydrate. 🙂

    V^^^^V

  29. Maryellen

    FANTASTIC!!! 😀

    My first reaction to your news was along the lines of “Well yes of course it got a starred review! What else?” Some may not realize what a big flippin’ deal that is, but it’s huge! In the spirit of celebration I’m thinking it might be high time we had ourselves a Hollows Convention! Call the publicist!

    Thanks for the tip on the Meyers/Briggs- I’m on it!

    And a big CONGRATULATIONS to you Miss Kim!🙂

  30. Suz

    Congratulations! I’m doing the happy dance for you, too. I’ve read a few early reviewers who have said things like “Pale Demon is the best thing Kim Harrison has ever written” and “Pale Demon is my new favorite book.”

    I’m really looking forward to reading it.

  31. Kristan Weber

    I’m so excited for you!!! I did a happy wiggle in my office chair when I read your good news😉

  32. DivaAntoinette

    Hello Kim, I started to read the Hollows series last year and I could not the books down. I am so very happy that you are coming out with a new addition to the series! Is there any chance of your books being made into screen plays and put on the big or little screen?

    • Hi DivaAntoinette. Thank you! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the Hollows. There have been some inquires, yes, but nothing tasty enough for me to let go of the rights just to have them languish in a drawer somewhere.

  33. Donna

    Congrats… now i’m even MORE excited to read it, if thats at all possible. One of my other favorite authors has a book coming out on February 22 too, that this is also is AWESOME, especially for me since my birthday is the next day (February 23rd) . I’ll be in readers heaven this year on my birthday with books to read from two of my favorite authors..

  34. Nancy H

    I am smiling and doing a happy dance for you here! Congratulations, Kim, that is wonderful!

  35. Jenn

    Wow Kim! That is super amazing! Congrats :0)

  36. Lisa

    Congratulations! I think it’s well deserved!!