Getting my grindstone on

A few weeks ago, I mentioned seeing a runner go past my window, remarking on it because it was only ten degrees Fahrenheit and he was running in shorts.  I thought him amazingly and enviably dedicated, knowing that he didn’t just decide to go running in the snow that morning, but that he had a pattern of running behind him stretching months, if not years–a slow build up in skills and determination, of will and dedication, of understanding of his own limits and how he can push through them.

A reader, (I’m sorry, I don’t remember which one of you) commented that metaphorically, I ran in shorts as well, which I thought humbling and an honor.  I don’t think I quite run in shorts in the snow, but maybe with a pair of long johns and a face mask.  -laugh-

Well  . . .  this week I’m going to try, making a sprint to the finish line of this rough draft, using every ounce of will I’ve got.  I have 80 to 100 pages to write to see the end, and I want them done by Tuesday.  (no working on the weekend)  It’s going to be a hard, difficult sprint, but by golly, I’m going to try.

Wish me luck.  I’m running in shorts this week.  In the snow.  And it’s getting cold . . .

34 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

34 responses to “Getting my grindstone on

  1. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am.

    Be like Nike, “Just do it.” Trying implies failure and we know that is not an option. Now let’s get this 100 page dash off to a good start, gi’me 50 words!

    V^^^^V

  2. Stephenie

    You can do it Kim! Just think of blue skies, and green grass, and lilac bushes at the end of that run! Come January no matter what I’m doing I feel like I’m running uphill in the snow naked. I definitely get the seasonal blues. I’m glad I get to have Pale Demon and the tour to look forward to, and I know you have to have some pretty awesome things to look forward to yourself!

    We’ll get out the pompoms! Rah-rah!

  3. Judi in NJ

    Go on wichya bad self, Kim!😀

  4. Marsha

    Though I don’t actually know you, I somehow feel like I almost do. You are very determined and driven. If you don’t make it I am sure it will not be because you didn’t try. Get into the zone and knock it out.

  5. mudepoz

    Good luck! Don’t forget your towel and water! 100 pages…

  6. Jenny

    Much luck to you Kim, but you run very well.I think once you are running you won’t even feel the cold.And thanks for continuing to share with us🙂

  7. Run like a wild woman, Kim. If you land on a patch of ice, may you slide like you mean it and reach the other side. Your readers (me especially) will have a hot chocolate waiting for you.

  8. Sandra

    Give that snow hell Kim. We’re behind you 100%. I bet if you really wanted to….you could do it in a bikini and bunny slippers, metaphorically speaking of course.😉

  9. Robin

    I was trying to think of words of encouragment (although you seem to do AMAZING without any additional input) and all that kept going through my was Run Kimmie Run (think Forrest Gump). I’m hoping typing it will get it out of my head and apoligize to the list for the silly post.

  10. GO Kim GO! I’ll be standing on the sidelines, cheering, and aiming my hairdryer in your general direction, hoping to help keep you warm!

  11. Kim, My Granddaughter, Nicole introduced me to your books. We have read all the Hollows and have already pre-ordered Pale Deamon. I have been getting your blog for about the last six months. I love looking into your world and think you are so kind to let us follow along on what it takes to be a writer. I see how consistent you are in your work, while still making time for other interest , love your pond. I for sure think you run in your shorts in the snow. As a home based business owner I know how hard it is to respect both your business time and your personal time and not allow the two to co-mingle so you no longer have either but a mivxd together mess that doesn”t give you either. So put on those shorts and run. I know you can do it. Brenda Kahn

    • Thank you, Brenda. I appreciate that. It is hard to be your own boss, but once you get a taste of it, it’s impossible to go back. I’m fortunate to have parents who showed me what you can do if you try.

  12. Maryellen

    Run like the wind, Miss Kim! First mile is always the hardest (both metaphorically and literally speaking).

    BTW, Neil Gaiman blogged today about seeing words he had written 18 years ago tattooed on someone’s shoulder and found it a jarring experience. Anything like that ever happen to you? Maybe waiting at an airport or doctor’s office and seeing your face on the back of someone’s book? Just curious…

    Have a lovely and productive day, Miss Kim! 🙂

    • Thanks, Maryellen. 🙂

      Dude, that would seriously freak me out. I have run into people who have named their child after my characters. And I did see one of the books in the wild once. My mom was with me, and it was BEAUTIFUL.

  13. Best of luck! You can do it!

  14. Donna

    I think you are more than up to the task… Also with the snow and cold sometimes i find it’s easier to stand and endure if you dont get your self all into that “its gonna be SO cold when i go outside” mind set… sometimes i FEEL like its warmer if i’m not as bundled up and thinking of the cold than if i layer up and am thinking about how cold it’ll be…

    Besides… You are one of the FEW authors who’s books are good enough that actually find them worth RE-Reading… I’m an avid reader, and i have a very good memory too, So usually i dont re-read books. Yours i do, so i’m SURE you are probably up to any task you set yourself. (Honestly i find it awe inspiring how authors like you manage to create a world and put a story into words AND come up with all the little comments that at times can make a reader giggle out loud even.)

    • Hi Donna. So I guess I need to tell myself that it only feels like a lot of pages? (grin)

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the re-reads. I make a conscious effort to put things in there that you only see on a re-read, because I love to re-read myself. Thank you.

  15. Sounds like you have a runners dedication. Just thought I’d mention, I just finished reading ONCE DEAD TWICE SHY. Loved it. Now, I’m off to buy EARLY TO DEATH EARLY TO RISE. Thanks for another great series.

    • -grin- Thank you, Melissa! I’m so glad you liked Madison’s story. I just found out ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY was featured in my local, home-town library, and it was like getting a standing ovation. Made me turn red. 😉

  16. Marcie

    Enjoy your run in the cold, and I hope you get all your writing done. I’m going to stay inside next to the fire.

  17. Yasmin

    Always think of running TO something! Like hot chocolate and warm mental hugs from all your readers.

    • That’s a great thought, Yasmin, and actually, I am. If I can do this, I have most of February for polishing up THE HOLLOWS INSIDER. I’m looking forward to it like crazy.