Moving Forward

I have not made any forward progress in the rough draft now for almost a week, but instead have made major adjustments in the back pages so that the last 100 pages will fall into place like a well-snapped sheet.  (I spent a couple of summers cleaning motel rooms, and there is a knack to it.)

I know, I know, I’m breaking my rule of forward motion, but that logic issue I mentioned a few posts back was a bad one, and I had to take out an entire element.  ( i.e. chapter) The changes were so intricate that if I had made notes in the margin and moved on as is my usual practice, I would have no idea as to the actual page count, and I’d be running blind in terms of pacing.  Not good and totally unacceptable to my sensibilities.  (ha, ha)  So I took a week and did a rewrite on the middle 200 pages and today, I should just about catch up to where I was.  Phew.  Like I said, they are all different.

I’ve been stuffing cards into freebies all this week after dinner for you guys, kind of enjoying it if the truth be told.  (grin)  Feb is almost here!  I’m trying like a mad dog to get this rough draft done so I can spend Feb working on the rewrite for the Hollows world book.  If you’ve not caught mention of it, it is due out this November, and will be called THE HOLLOWS INSIDER.  This is going to be F.U.N. and I can’t wait till I can tell you more.  AAAAkkkkk!  It’s killing me here!  (but in a good way)

20 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

20 responses to “Moving Forward

  1. AKR

    You know what they say “…. forward ever … backward never …”
    Keep at it Ms Harrison …. we all eagerly await your magic ….

    AKR (Trinidad)

  2. AndrewIslay

    “Feb is almost here…” but in the UK we need to wait until August for Pale Demon. Why do publishers do this?????

    • Hi Andrew. I know it’s frustrating, but the publisher does that to try to recoup some of the production costs before making it available to everyone else. I also think they are a bit pleased with what they have done, taking my scribbles and making a book out of it, and they want to have it for themselves for a bit before sharing. -grin-

  3. Niko

    Yay world book! And any progress is progress, so just sit back and enjoy the process.🙂

  4. JanisHarrison

    (sigh) Friday’s almost here, again; I won”t be able to read/interact with all the die-hard fans and Kim for the entire weekend. I am reading the sneak peeks, but I don’t know if it’s making the waiting any easier, since I cannot afford the h/b release and will have to wait my turn at a library copy. Incidentally, Seattle Public Library buys up to 18 copies of all the Hollows books, and I am No. 13 on the list so I may get lucky. I hope so, anyway.

    Kim, your two steps back/one step forward sounds like my progress on my current desk organization project. It’s a real mess, and I was into it but realized I was not creating a good management system, so I’m starting over. The things I do to occupy myself until I can see new material here!

  5. Christine

    Loving the first chapters of Pale Demon. You are absolutely brilliant. Thank-you for posting them.

  6. Kim,
    I really, really loved Pale Demon! I truly believe that it is one of the better Rachel Morgan books I’ve read in awhile. I got the ARC from your publisher and cruised thru it at break neck speed. I absolutely can not wait to see what others are saying about it!

    • Thank you, Shelley! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! This has been my favorite for a long time, and I think it will remain so until the last book. Not that I’m going to write crap between now and then, but, well, yeah! It’s my favorite. 🙂

  7. Villanell2

    Are you ever going to let Rachael and Ivy become a couple?? I’m really getting mad at Rachael for the way she’s treating Ivy

    • Hi Villanell. I gave up scripting Rachel’s relationships back in GBU, so I won’t know until the end. Personally, I think Rachel is being wise taking a step back to let things cool off so if things heat back up, she will know it’s real.

  8. Maryellen

    Pale Demon = T minus 33 days and counting….

    The Hollows Insider in November? Lordy, Miss Kim, please don’t tell me the exact release date because I’ll start a countdown for that too and it would just be a cruel joke this far out.

    33 days…I’m dyin’ here! (but in a good way)
    🙂 have a nice day, Miss Kim!

  9. Stephenie

    I’m preparing for February by rereading WWBC and BMS. I’m excited about the Hollows world book; I think it’ll be really interesting. I wish I could make some forward momentum on something! I start writing class on Monday again and maybe it will give me some ambition… or maybe I should start bringing my computer to work… I’m afraid of the humidity at the pool though. It could be a terrible idea. 🙂

  10. Judi in NJ

    Ha! I had to laugh! I too spent 2 summers cleaning motel rooms where we in NJ call “down the shore”…a beach town. Although most rooms were fine, some were the disasters left behind by young party animals. And I do mean animals. However, I did learn the correct way to fold fitted sheets and it is a skill that I appreciate to this day since my sheets fit very nicely into my linen closet without those fitted ones getting rolled up and shoved under other ones.

    OK – so I guess it’s all this dream-talk that seeped into my sub-conscious, but I had a dream about you last night. We were 2 of 4 in a team of investigators (?). The other members were a teenage girl and a man who was our “leader”. You were rehearsing a scene (?) out loud and doing different voices for each character including a woman with a Jamaican accent. Your Jamaican character was speaking of a girl named “Stryker”. After hearing you for some time, my African Grey (Jenks🙂 ) began to repeat everything you had said, complete with your different voices. Although our “leader” had left a message for us to call him b/c something important was going on, I had difficult re-dialing his number (beginning w/ 201 – my area code), b/c I was so distracted by Jenksie’s imitation of you. I woke with a start.

    Alrighty then. Have a great day! February’s bustin out all over!!

    • OMGosh, Judy, I know what you mean. Some people really know how to trash a room. I learned a lot in those two summers about how to match attitudes at the check-in desk with the state of the room when they left. The correlation was rather . . . interesting, and I’ve found it carries through in any situation and getting a fairly good judge of character in five minutes.