2010 Drama Box in review

I wanted to share my year-end stats with you, seeing as you’re the reason that it works.  ;-)  Thanks for such a great year!  I can’t help but look forward to 2011, knowing that I have four releases coming up.  (No wonder I’m busy!)  Pale Demon in Feb, Something Deadly This Way Comes, in May, Blood Work in July, and The Hollows Insider (world book) in November, I believe.  Wow.  All I can say is thanks, guys, and I’m looking forward to this year!

Also, If you are in the area of Borders outside of Ann Arbor at Lohr Rd, I left a bunch of signed mass markets yesterday.  I saw them all in a row while shopping, and I couldn’t resist.  ;-)

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 490,000 times in 2010. If it were an exhibit at The Louvre Museum, it would take 21 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 245 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 384 posts. There were 177 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 90mb. That’s about 3 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was August 23rd with 4,797 views. The most popular post that day was Cover Art and Classes.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were kimharrison.net, facebook.com, goodreads.com, en.wordpress.com, and twitter.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for kim harrison, black magic sanction, pale demon, kim harrison pale demon, and kim harrison blog.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Cover Art and Classes August 2010
139 comments and 3 Likes on WordPress.com

2

Kim answers Black Magic Sanction Spoilers March 2010
266 comments

3

Ask Kim a question April 2010
212 comments

4

A Black Magic Spoiler Page chapters 8 to the end February 2010
466 comments

5

A Black Magic Sanction Spoiler Page chapters 1-7 February 2010
179 comments

43 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

43 responses to “2010 Drama Box in review

  1. SeattleRobin

    Congrats on a successful blogging year. I’m a lackadaisical blogger. I’ve had 589 views. Heh. That’s really neat that you signed the books while in the store. There should be some surprised and happy book buyers! I’m looking forward to 2011 – The Year of Kim Harrison.

  2. Tala

    Hi Kim!

    It’s so interesting information about dramabox in 2010. Cool!

    My congratulations on 4 new books coming out! WOW!!!

  3. Maya

    Please dont ever stop writing I think it would kill me…lol ..I am currently reading the series again just love them! Got a humorous question for you and most likely you have answered it a million times so sorry in advance but my husband noticed all your book titles have titles relating to Clint Eastwood movies would you happen to be a fan? Cant wait to see you in Oklahoma!!!

    • Hi Maya. I don’t think I could if I tried. 😉

      Ahhhh, yes. All but the first book are a play on a movie Clint Eastwood either was in or directed. That is intentional. I really like the characters that he plays. See you in Oklahoma!

  4. Delane

    Kim, will the world book cover books 1-7 or more? I just turned another friend on to the Hollows series. I can’t wait for her to get caught up to the rest of us. It is really nice to see the stats you put up.

  5. Theresa

    Hi Ms. Harrison,
    That is awesome I hope you had a great New Years.

  6. Cathy

    Kim you spoil your fans by making us part of your daily routine. you put your blog out and vent with us and when we are curious about things we don’t understand about the wonderful world you have created you take the time to respond. No issue too big or too small for you! I for one check your blog daily because it makes my day a better one. and like i have mentioned on previous posts i am amazed on how you do all the stuff you do (except sleep :-P). here is to another amazing year!

  7. Val-OH

    Way cool! You deserve those stats! You put a lot of effort into this stuff. And your fans appreciate it. ♥ Val-OH

  8. mudepoz

    Happy New Year…to us! FOUR KH books to read this year! WOOT!!!!!!!

  9. Kristin

    I agree with you Jenny I would love to see Rachel and Al together.. However I dont think that will ever happen.. But we can always dream…-sigh- Anyhoo congrats on the stats that just shows you how awesome you are (super smile)
    Anyhoo can’t wait until Feb, but looking forward to March when you come to Houston..Hope you have a great New Year..

  10. Robin

    Perhaps this is not the place to the post the question but I realized that I don’t have the short story with Kisten and Rachel and Aurdric anywhere. Was it ever published in addition to one of the previous books when it came out in paperback or was it only online from Harper? It’s driving me nuts cuz I thought I had everything for the Hollows. grrrr >:\

  11. Judi in NJ

    p.s. Dig those stats!!😀

  12. Jenny

    Happy New Year! I’ve never commented before, I just wanted to say you are hands down my favorite author. I think that’s saying something, because I’m a total bibliophile. A complete book devourer! I read! Anyway I love your hollows series they are the best urban fantasy books I’ve ever read. I’m chomping at the bit for Pale Demon. My hugest hope is that Rachel will fall in love with Al and vise versa.🙂 they’re perfect for eachother. Just my opinion of course. I wish you continued success in your craft and your personal life. Best wishes, Jen —–<–@

    • Thank you, Jenny! I’m so glad you’re enjoying my work so much! I’ve had a lot of people say they’d like to see Al and Rachel together, so you are not alone!

  13. Judi in NJ

    Oh my GOODNESS!!!! It’s almost FEBRUARY!!!!!!!! WEEeeeeeOOOoooo!!!

  14. Pinepig

    Happy New Year! I’m one of the new people. I’ve been reading your books for a couple years now, since I checked the first one out of the library. I have re-read most of them and am starting to collect them so I don’t have to rely on the library having them when I want to read them.

    I wish you the best in 2011. I’m looking forward to Pale Demon’s release. My birthday is earlier that month and this will be my gift to myself!

  15. Hey Mrs. Harrison!

    Congrats on the stats!! Dude, lol, that’s a lot of people. My stats said something about planes, lol, not the Louvre! Well done.🙂

    Also, I read your post from yesterday (more importantly) your editor’s top list. I wasn’t aware that they were making a television series of George R. R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire books! (High Fantasy Freak Out…) That’s so cool… I love those books. They are what I think of as True Fantasy. Epic Fantasy. Sometimes complicated fantasy filled with incest… lol. Brilliant.
    (realizes it’s probably bad manners gushing about another author’s work on another’s blog, hmm…)

    Thank you for a great year of reading your posts ma’am, I really enjoy every moment even if I don’t comment as much any more, I come here regularly.🙂
    Have a great New year!

    Alyss

  16. Rebecca

    Kim, dear, you are wonderful for everything you manage to get out in a year. Here’s hoping January treats you well and you can keep rolling with your due dates!

  17. Marsha

    With all they you have on your plate I still think you are amazing for taking time to respond to your fans. Thanks for that, and I have a lot to look forward to this year.

  18. Antonio

    Holy Cow!😯

    That’s like, what?…1,300-1,400 a day?

    Our little NaSty wordpress site–brought together by Drama Box alumni–had about 40,000 views!? See! Big rock dropped in a still pond, inspiring ever-widening ripples…

    Idea: You have some music and movie pages…how about a HEA Club? A place people can expound on their hopes for romantic couplings for their favorite characters?

    Be good!😎

    • Hi Antonio. Weekends are like 800, weekdays are twice that, and when I have something big to say and cross post on FB, I can hit 4000. 😉

      Mmmm, I like the idea of a HEA club. I’ll have to think about that.

  19. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Sounds like 2011 is going to be very good to you. 🙂 I’m looking forward to all of your new releases but I am especially interested in the world book. Will it be illustrated with character pics and maps of places?

    I made an effort to remember this January 1st. It was a very nice peaceful day. It was sunny, with a mild breeze from the south. It was a lot like the kind of day you’d normally get in late April or early May in your part of the country. It was a perfect day and I was making 2.5 times my normal wage! 🙂

    V^^^^V
    V^^^^V

    • Vampyre

      Pale Demon is ready for pre-ordering at Amazon. I imagine it has been for a while. They are even releasing the Kindle version at the same time as the HB YAY!

      V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy. Yup! The electronic and paper version should come out at the same time this year. Yay!

      As for the world book? -grin- More on that later. I’m not quite ready to crow yet.

  20. suzannelazear

    Happy New Year Kim! Here’s to a great, busy year. 🙂

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  21. Jennifer S.

    Happy New year, Kim, and congratulations on 4 new books coming out! I am a huge fan of your books and love the Hollows characters. Thanks for sharing your time on this blog!