Have a great New Year celebration!

My phone is out, my internet is too.  My editor told me to take a break.  I had a terrible time yesterday keeping my fingers on the keyboard with Guy fighting the new modem three feet from my desk and me knowing Thing One was coming in for an extended leave.  (Still got an amazing number of pages done.)  I think I’m going to call it early this week, and maybe take the rest of the day off to clean and move the furniture in my office around.

I love shifting my environs until I’m absolutely satisfied that there is no better way to arrange everything.  My mom can attest that this has been a lifelong obsession.  I have vivid memories of, at least once or twice a year for no reason at all, hauling every scrap of furniture apart from the bed and dresser outside my room and putting it on the lawn.

Why the lawn?  I have no idea.  I really don’t.  But she let me do it since I always hauled it back in again, up the three cement steps and down the hall.  Sometimes I shifted things around, sometimes I kept everything exactly the same.  Maybe she was taking the opportunity to get the dust bunnies out from behind the toy box when I wasn’t looking.  -laugh-  I’m just glad I can now point to feng shui and nod knowingly.  See, I wasn’t already crazy at the tender age of ten, I was feng shui-ing.

PS.  Just found out my editor made the list at io9 of the top 20 people who rocked sf and fantasy in 2010.  Didn’t I tell you she was fab?  Huh?  Didn’t I?  -grin-  The Power List Dude, look who she’s rubbing shoulders with!

47 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

47 responses to “Have a great New Year celebration!

  1. A.N.

    Happy New Year!
    Be Happy! A.N.

  2. Jisha

    Happy New Year Kim!! =)
    Good to know that you regularly give dust bunnies time to hop put… MY mum can absolutely testify that i’m the biggest slob in the world, and the happiest one at that.. every time mum sneaks to tidy things up in when i’m not around, i lose track of where my stuff are, organised or not, and can’t find them until and unless i mess my room again so that everything is in a jumble again… i just love mess!! maybe that’s why i can relate with Rachel more than Ivy😀

  3. Judi in NJ

    p.s. Please thank T1 for his service. And enjoy every second of leave. We are very grateful!

    • I will, Judi. He is having a great time helping Guy and me fix a couple of things while on leave. He’s learned a lot in the last couple of years, not just how to fix things, but seeing what needs to be done and then doing it instead of ignoring it for someone else to fix. (happy sigh)

  4. lemonade

    Have an amazing new year!

    And, on another note I just read your essay about music and your characters. I have also in the past week have been linked to a parrot that sings “Let the Bodies hit the floor” on youtube. So, when I read that song in your list I immediately thought of the parrot. For your amusement I give you this link to start the year with a giggle.

  5. Theda "Speedi"

    Happy New Year Kim!!!! Changing your office around can be a good thing. I do that with my room sometimes, and my Mom is ALWAYS doing that with her store. Take care! I’m looking forward to Pale Demon!!!

    -Speedi

  6. I hope you and everyone around a HAPPY NEW YEAR!This year is the year because so much good things and luck will come.Also,it’s the rabbit year and considered good fortune.

  7. chelikins

    Glad to hear about Thing 1. That is always a good thing to have family.

    Nice list your editor is in… though I was disappointed that whomever wrote that article didn’t include you.. pfft! But it does rock about your editor and I can understand why you are so proud.

    • Thank you, Chelikins. It’s been great having him around. He’s himself, only better. Ahhh I’m not worried about not having been mentioned. Getting a post from a reader saying he did the bunny-ear kiss to a stranger reading the books across the coffee shop and getting a shy, grinning, bunny-ear kiss back in return is worth more to me than a line of recognition in a blog.

  8. Hi Kim – I just saw your posting for the behind the scenes work on Bloodwork – it’s incredible stuff. I posted it up on my blog to share. I’m doing some hobbyist graphic noveling and found your post an inspiration.

    Keep up the good work. It’s exciting.
    http://zombie-dinosaurs.blogspot.com/2011/01/sad-for-superman-opining-on-odyssey-and.html

  9. Judi in NJ

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! May all of you have the best year yet! Love to all!! Bring on 2011!

  10. Sue

    Blessings to you and yours.

    Was hoping to see Harrison listed with the others under your editor.

    Have finally after how many years convinced my husband to read your books. He’s zipped through the first seven in the last couple of weeks and was commenting on how he hadn’t timed it very well with Pale Demon’s arrival. Decided NOT to tell him, “welcome to my waiting hell”. 🙂

  11. Stephenie

    Have a Happy New Year’s Eve everybody! I’m staying in and watching a Buffy marathon; it’s the one where things fall apart with Spike and Buffy; it makes me think of Kisten. 😦

    I love to decorate, but we’ve been so busy it’s nearly impossible! I think we’ve have our wall 3/4’s painted for 2 months now… *gag* I have two big weekends in a row though so there’s a possiblity that both that will be finished and we can do some re formatting.

    • Happy New Year, Stephenie! I noticed that BBC America had a Doctor Who marathon going as well, but I didn’t watch it, being too busy with other stuff.

      Hope you get your work done soon on your house. I’ve got a room I’ve been wanting to paint, but it’s low on the priorities.

  12. AKR

    Couldn’t help but stare wide eyed at your pic of the “snow”?
    Trinidad, remember HOT HOT HOT all year round …. no change today ….

    Hmmm we (my sister and I) were really looking forward to the next chap of Pale Demon … (no change there … lol… still looking forward to it ……
    Hmmmm very intriguing lil drop-hints there with your current work …lol

    We would just like to wish you, Ms Harrison, and your family …. a Happy New Year … and all your fans here who provide me with equal entertainment with their posts …..lol
    May 2011 bring you ALL that you desire …..

    Sending warmth and love from Trinidad (& Tobago)
    AKR (Trinidad)

    • Hi AKR. Fortunately that’s no my snow, but NY snow. The last of my snow melted this weekend when we hit 40 for about 24 hours. All gone.

      I’ll have the pages of PALE DEMON up tomorrow. I have them in my sweaty little hands already, so no mistakes this time. 😉

      Happy New Year!

  13. JanisHarrison

    Good heavens, Kim, how could you get anything done with your guy (or any guy) fussing with electronics in the same room? I just clear out and let them swear all by themselves…

    Adding my best wishes to all who read here, and especially to the “Harrison” (or is it “Cook”?) family. We all could use some peace, stability, and health in the next year.

    • It was really hard, Janis, especially when they wouldn’t admit that the two systems don’t talk to each other. We finally bagged it and went with another carrier when the woman helping us destroyed something that the woman previous to her told us to get, and then telling us we really needed it after all, and we had to start over. So we did, with someone else.

      All the best wishes to you and yours as well!

  14. I love to rearrange furniture, too, Kim. The urge comes in spurts. Lately, I’ve been in a major de-clutter mood as regards my excessive yarn stash and have been diligently working my way through WIP’s (works in progress) as well as lining up a bunch of new knit and crochet projects with the yarns in stash.

    Congrat’s on your editor’s recognition. Happy New Year.

    • Very cool, Jeannie! I’ve got piles of yard I’m working my way through as well, but I’m busy collecting fabric to take their place. -laugh-

      Happy New Year!

  15. NiNi

    Please let me know how to get the phone & the internet to go out at the same time! Oh – and the cell phone. Sounds like paradise – as long as it’s temporary.🙂 Have a great New Year!

    • Hi NiNi. Well, first you have the phone company come out to fix the line that the ice broke (four days w/o service) Then you have the repair guy leave the old line up, but let it dangle all the way down to the ground and short itself out on the newly wet ground. (Two days w/o service) Then you get almost six days without phone service and internet if you get your internet through the phone. (Which we no longer do. We’re changing phone carries as well come Friday.)

      Have a great New Year, too!

  16. Jemma

    Yay Diana!!
    🙂

    Happy New Year, Miss Kim.

  17. Gail S

    Hi Kim, I was thinking that 2011 is the year of the Rabbit, and that maybe the feng shui moment you’re feeling is related;-) The Burning Bunny’s cousin the Rabbit is working it’s magic on you. LOL

    Happy New Year!

  18. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    All I can say is OH MY!!! That was an incredible list. It was like a menu at a sci-fi smorgasbord! Someday, I hope to see mention of a Hollows project. You’ve created such a great world an it would make an exceptionally wonderful series or movie if it’s done right.

    Good news about Thing1 coming home. I know you must be excited.

    May 2011 be great and wonderful for you.

    V^^^^V

  19. Maryellen

    Have a wonderful New Year’s, Miss Kim, and enjoy your “Thing One”!

    (My own “Thing One” came home yesterday from a frigid camp out with the scouts. I couldn’t stop hugging him!)🙂

    • That’s great, Maryellen! Give him a hug for me. There’s nothing like a moment of wholeness–one night around the dinner table–to remember the previous 20 years.

      Happy New Year!

  20. Have a wonderful New Year. I wish the very best for you and your family! Oh and for Thing #1, thank you for serving our country and please stay safe.

  21. Jenn

    Hi Kim,

    I just wanted to wish you, Guy, & Things 1&2 a Happy New Year. May it be better than last year for you on both personal & professional fronts.

  22. Lesley

    I’ve caught the cleaning bug too. I just spent a day washing all the drapes in the house. I discovered that some of the curtains in our house are original- probably 80+ years old. And have NEVER BEEN WASHED. 80-year-old Pittsburghian dust bunnies are now breeding all over my house. *shudder*

    Happy new year! Hope you clear out all that stagnant chi! 😉

  23. Tala

    Happy new year, Kim!!!!