‘Twas the Night of The Solstice . . .

‘Twas the week before Christmas, and up in the Hollows,
Solstice bonfires were burning, to toast the marshmallows.

The pixies were snug in their stump, even Jenks,
Who claimed he was tired, and needed some winks.

So I in my parka, and Ivy in her boots,
Were toasting the season, with thirty-year hooch.

When out in the street, there came such a crash,
I thought that it had to be ‘coons in our trash.

Away to the gate, I trudged through the snow,
While Ivy just said, “If it’s Kist, say hello.”

I lifted the latch, and peered to the street,
My face went quite cold.  We were in it thigh deep.

‘Twas a demon, who stood in the headlamps quite bright,
With his coat of green velvet, and his uncommon height.

His eyes, how they glittered, his teeth how they gnashed,
His voice, how he bellowed, his tongue, how it lashed.

The street wasn’t holy, so on Big Al came,
As he bellowed, and shouted, and called me by name.

“Morgan, you witch.  You’re a pain in my side.
“Get out of your church.  There’s no place to hide!”

Like hell’s fury unleashed, he strode to my door,
Where he hammered and cursed, like a cheap jilted whore.

But Ivy and I, we circled round back,
To stand in the street and prepare for attack.

“You loser,” I shouted.  “I’m waiting for you.”
And the demon, he spun, taking on a red hue.

Ivy stood ready, and I whispered, “Okay . . .
“If he wants to get rough, I’m ready to play.”

With nary a word, us two girls got to work,
Putting foot into gut, of the soul-sucking jerk.

I circled him quick, with a few words of Latin,
While Ivy distracted him with lots of good wackin’

“Get back!” I yelled out when my trap was complete,
And Ivy somersaulted right over the creep.

My circle sprang up, entrapping him surely,
Al fussed and he fumed, like a demonic fury.

The neighbors all cheered, and came out of their houses,
Where they’d watched the whole thing, like little house mouses.

So Ivy and I, we both bowed real low,
Then banished Big Al, in an overdone show.

But I heard Al exclaim, ‘ere he poofed from our sight
“You won this time witch, but I’ll get you one night!”

Kim Harrison
December 14th, 2005

Kim and Guy wish you and yours all the best of the holiday season and a glowing new year.

105 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

105 responses to “‘Twas the Night of The Solstice . . .

  1. Loved it.

    Merry Christmas and a happy happy New Year

  2. Coyote in a box

    Much love for combat poems! *thumbs up* Very nice.

  3. Hi Kim,

    It’s been forever since I’ve logged on to your website. I just read your story about Mr. Fishy getting a new heater. I wish I’d known about that hermit crab heater a couple years ago when I had a beta fish. The water in my fish’s tank would also get too cold and I felt bad. I had no idea how to get/keep his water warmer. But now I do so thank you. :o) p.s. Any new Madison Avery books coming out? Plus I hope your holiday was amazing. I see the south is getting some snow. Congrats!😉

    • Hi Valinda. Always glad to help out when it comes to the comfort of the animals we have taken responsibility for.

      As it happens, there is one more Madison book in the works.

  4. A.N.

    Greetings Ms. Kim,
    Merry Christmas! God bless you and all your family.

    Temperature here 73º, 
    Be Happy!
    A.N.

  5. Tala

    Kim!
    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

  6. An excellent poem, it helps tide me over to February. I missed the comment period on the free offer of the second hollows book post but I have actually bought the entire series both in paper and ebooks. And I have 2 copies of “a fistful of charms” since that particular book likes to hide when I am rereading.

    Ereading is great for me as I can reclaim the space assigned to my paper book collection. My wife is happy to get the guest room back.

  7. This is so much fun to read and even more so, over reading it last year, to see how much the characters and their relationships have evolved.
    A Hallows short story in rhymed couplets! Speaking of which, I wish you Guy a happy holiday season and a wonderful new year, too. May all the ways in which you inspire people, in their lives and in their writing, come back to bless and enrich you and your loved ones.
    Take care, Kim

  8. Mel Rogoff

    And Bis and Jenks decided to have more fun with Pixy explosives and stuffed more pigeon dung all around the IS building and blew up all their toilets! Great fun making a stinky IS!

  9. trish

    It was the Summer Solstice for us with the lunar eclipse that started at sunset when the moon began rising already in eclipse. There was a bit of cloud cover so didn’t get as good look at the moon, but it went through some amazing copper tones. Fab. Happy holidays everyone and all the best for you all in 2011. Yay, that much closer to Pale Demon!!!

  10. Candace

    Have a happy holiday and new year!!!

  11. AKR (Trinidad)

    Dear Ms Harrison
    I would like to take this opportunity ti wish you and yours a wonderful safe, holiday season ….
    May 2011 and the years to come bring you continuous joy, happiness and a successful movie deal with Hollywood …lol
    All the best ….

    AKR (Trinidad)

  12. Lesley

    Bwaahahahaha! Now that’s fun! 🙂 Just read Ley Line Drifter and loved the insight into Jenks’ head, and pixie society as well!

  13. Jer

    Hey Kim,

    I have another poll your fans can vote on and vote often. They can even leave a comment at the bottom of the page about how great you are!
    “Playing favorites with vampires and their authors”
    http://vampirebookclub.net/playing-favorites-with-vampires-and-their-authors/
    You have over 7,300 votes.

    They ‘will be previewing the books you’re dying to read in early 2011’ and Pale Demon is on DEC. 28.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year’s!

  14. Sue, Chicago

    Just wanted to pop in and wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. And I hope you had a nice Solstice! Looking forward to Pale Demon.

  15. Jennifer S

    Merry Christmas, Happy New Year! Thank you for sharing the Hollows Christmas traditions and best wishes to you and your family.

  16. Mendi in STL

    Love the Hollows Christmas traditions! Happy Christmas to you and your family Kim and wishing you another successful year!

  17. SeattleRobin

    Reading that put a big grin on my face. Happy Hollowsdays to everyone!

  18. Val-OH

    OH, I hope he does get her one night….. ~dreamy sigh~

  19. Newport Girl

    Kim,
    My daughters and I love this!! They keep reading it and the 12 days of pixy christmas. Thanks for the laughs!!

  20. Thomas McNeill

    Happy yule to you and yours Kim.The 1st Winter Solstice since the 1600’s to have a full moon and Full Lunar ecclipse on Solstice night.
    Looking foward to Pale Demon come Febuary,,,,,,I’ll endevor not to let loose with any spoilers this time,,,I just wasn’t thinking last time.
    Happy Yule & Blessed Be

  21. Gaye

    Merry Christmas Kim and all your treasured Hollows stars…may 2011 be your best year yet!!!!! All the better for us! * grin*

  22. Maryellen

    Awwww….Miss Kim!
    I just LOVE me some anapestic tetrameter! Well done!🙂

  23. Michelle

    That was really awesome thanks for sharing. Have a happy holiday.

  24. Jordan

    Always a great one this time of year but my heart breaks every single time I read Kist’s name.

  25. 🙂 That never gets old.

    Merry Christmas Mrs. Harrison and Family, may this be a blessed year and I hope that you are all safe for the holidays.

    Come back safely!

  26. JanisHarrison

    Following the others (a wise idea) I am here & now wishing you and all of you a very happy holiday season and an excellent New Year. And Solstice Greetings, although a bit late to those who observe it. We here in Seattle (especially my location) were unable to see it due to heavy cloud cover, but through the internet I can see it second-hand. Not quite the same, but still impressive.

  27. Stephenie

    That was awesome! It reminds me of the musical episode of Buffy, I could totally see Rachel and Al belting out some numbers in the Hollows!😀 Poor Kisten… still the saddest character death since the Half-Blood Prince.

    Happy Holidays Kim and everyone on Kim’s blog!

  28. Theresa

    OMG!!!!! That was seriously cool I love both the song and the poem, you are so freakin talented!!!! And a merry Christmas to you. Oh yeah and do you have any tips for short story ideas cuz my LA-10 Honors teacher makes us write a one page story with our vocab words in it every week and I am seriously running out of ideas please and thank you!
    From Theresa

    • Theresa

      oops make that a Happy Holiday Season cuz “Merry Christmas” is kinda mean if not every one celebrates it

    • Merry Christmas, Theresa. 😉 No ideas from me on short stories. I’m tapped out right now, but I once did the same thing you are doing with spelling words for my son and did a series of children’s books about a cat named Brave Cat. 😉

  29. Bright blessings to you, Kim, and to Guy and the rest of your family. Solstice was overcast and rainy, no chance of seeing the full moon/lunar eclipse but the cosmic energy kept waking me all night. Winds currently blow clouds to the north and blue skies brighten the landscape. Rain and snow to come tonight. Sunshine returns on Friday.

  30. Gail S

    Timeless Big Al =-)

    In case you close down the board I want to make sure that I wish you & your family a most Joyous and Happy Christmas and a Very Happy 2011. Do the puppies and Mr. Fish get presents too? How about Mr. Frog? LOL Enjoy!

  31. Mel Rogoff

    I’ve almost completed my 10th reading of Hollows, currently on Black Magic Sanction🙂

    Merry Christmas and a very happy New Year to you Ms. Kim aka Rachel🙂

  32. Cathy

    Excellent😛
    Merry X-mas and a prosperous 2011 (from the look of your Blog…Pale Demon will exceed its forecast of sales)

  33. Ray

    Happy Yule tidings to you too. I know I’m a day late but better late them never, and I was sick yesterday. This was so funny and cute it brighted my day. I liked it a alot. May the rest of your holidays be happy and safe.

  34. Cristina

    LOL! You totally rock, you know.:)

  35. Rebecca

    Have a wonderful couple of holidays Kim! And tell the boys they’d better help you out around the house, in the event that any one has decided to trudge to the great white north for a visit!

  36. Juli

    Love it! Too perfect! :))))))))))))

  37. Niko

    Happy holidays to you, too!🙂

  38. Dot

    Excellent Story ! Best wishes to you and your family🙂

  39. Rich Nagy

    This is great! Thanks for sharing!

  40. Alan lee

    Kim my sweet author, how I love the way your naughty little mind works. By the turn! When do I get to be with my hollow friends again? My heart yearns for another book! Dont keep me waiting! Will you be making an appearance in Louisville soon?

  41. Jenn

    This one always makes me smile. And now with how the story has evlolved, you get to look back & see all the changes.

    Oh, I sent an email to Guy with the recipe for that pie! I hope you enjoy it! I don’t have anywhere to post it & I think it might take up too much room here. I hope you enjoy it!

  42. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I’m happy to report that I got to see the lunar eclipse but it was not easy. Most of it was nearly straight up so I had to go out and lay in my drive way so I could look up. Limited mobility in my neck is a real pain sometimes. I got it done though.

    An eclipse on a solstice seems very significant but I wont dwell on it here. Tomorrow, due to large familyness, we do Christmas at my sister’s. I’m looking forward to some family time and good food.

    Merry Christmas to you, Guy, Thing1, Thing2, Alexx and Zander. I hope you have a great 2011 too.

    V^^^^V

  43. Marsha

    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Holiday season together full of love and traditions.

    I wanted to add for your international fans that if they can’t wait extra months for Pale Demon to be available overseas they can go to The Book Depository. They are offering it for preorder and listing the release date as March 1st. That is only one extra week longer. They also offer free international delivery. That’s how we get our SA NaSty her copy😀

  44. Tala

    Hey, Kim!
    It’s very cool =)
    I translated this poem on Russian and russian fans in delight😉

  45. suzannelazear

    Happy Holidays to you and yours. ~*~*~*Hugs*~*~*~ from me and the tot.🙂

    You know, last year I wrote a steampunk night before Christmas because I was so inspired by yours. This year my poem is winding up in the oddest places online. Someone’s even reading it outloud today on second life. he he. Thanks for being ever inspirational, as always. You rock. Happy new year, too.

    ~Suzi and the tot

  46. Christine

    That was fantastic, Kim! I’m loving all of these Christmas posts!!

    Cheers and Merry Christmas!

  47. pamela nenigar

    looooooooooove it! hope you and the hollows have a blessed christmas and a joyus new year! Ever so eager for the new book to arrive!

  48. I love this!! It is the perfect tide-me-over until the next book.🙂 Thanks, Kim!

  49. Brenda

    Brava! I totally envisioned that, very well done!

  50. yay! still a great one!🙂
    What I wanted to know: did Guy get my order and is too busy or shall I send it again?
    Have a great Christmas!!!
    aimée

    • Hi Amy. OMGosh, don’t send it again, or you’ll get charged twice and end up with two of them. Guy says that your order came in on Christmas day here, so it will be in the mail shortly.

      You have a great Christmas.

  51. Thor

    I love that and the 12 pixie days of Christmas