Pale Demon first Chapter

“Brown or green for the drapes, Rache?”

Jenks’s voice slid into my dozing state, and I opened an eyelid a crack to find him hovering inches from my nose. The sun was hot, and I didn’t want to move, even if his wings provided a cold draft. “Too close. I can’t see,” I said as I shifted in the webbed lounge chair, and he drifted back, his dragonflylike wings humming fast enough to spill a red- tinted pixy dust over my bare middle. June, sunbathing, and Cincinnati normally didn’t go together, but today was my last day to get a tan before I headed west for my brother’s wedding. . . .

Yep, it’s the first chapter of Pale Demon, coming at you in your in-box, or here at the web site.  Click for the rest! Have a great weekend, and see you Monday!

123 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

123 responses to “Pale Demon first Chapter

  1. SeattleRobin

    I don’t read chapters early. But I have to say once again how great the book cover for Pale Demon is. It’s really eye catching and has lots of power razzle dazzle!

  2. melinda Kulick

    Hi Kim –
    I’m am not surprised at all that you were picked for best Fantasy – You’re writing blows me away – I am transported to the worlds you create, and enjoy loving and dispising all your colorful characters.

    Pale Demon – will be another hit – any one of your books could win the prize.

    Will you even enter into a movie contract? As for audio books – I’m sure you will keep the same talented reader – I love her!!!

    What do you think of the Eclipe on the Solstice?

    Have a Merry!! Melinda

    • Thanks, Melinda! PALE DEMON is my favorite in the series for a reason. 🙂 No film contract yet, and yes, Ms. Gavin has been contracted to read the all he way to the end.

      Very cool on the Solstice, yes!

  3. Pamela Moss

    OMG! I just read the first chapter of Pale Demon! I’m super excited, Kim!
    I’m really curious about how the trip adventures will unfold! Having Trent there is definitely going to be interesting!! Loved it! I can’t wait to have the book!!

  4. Heather in FL

    Wow… I cannot WAIT for the rest of it. That was a great first chapter. Thanks for giving us a peek!

  5. Yay! Way to get the story going right out of the gate. Thanks for our Christmas present.

  6. Shanda

    Yay! Almost there :):)

  7. Jennifer

    I have not posted something on here in so long. But i have to say that i am even more excited about pale demon after reading the first chapter Kim! I love your work so much. Your a great Author. Have a fantastic stress free Christmas and new year, and keep up the great writing! Jen UK

  8. Stephenie

    Yay!! I can’t wait to read it!

    I’m almost as bad at reading blogs as I am at writing them! My last Writing teacher is having a book come out in September and I’m following him on Facebook now because his editor is making him do it!😀 I asked if they were going to make him blog and he gave me the look of death! So no blogs for him (yet.) But I’m happy you do! I love seeing the process of not only writing but of one of my favorite series.

    End of random fan-gush #337!
    😀

  9. Tami Cowell

    Kim,WOW,the first chapter was great!Im so looking forward to the Pale Demon release date that Ive read the first chapter like six times and Im starting DWW again today.I should have all the Hollows novels read again before the release date.I started the Madison Avery series,I didnt think I could get into them but it really is a good read.Thanks for giving us a peek at Pale Demon!I cant wait for its release.

  10. Aniko Laczko

    Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you

  11. Anne

    OMG So much Trent already in the first chapter.

    I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE BOOK TO COME OUT! I’m like salivating all over my keyboard, it’s making it hard to type Kim!

    )’:

  12. Ivanna

    Okay, okay. I can do this. Just two more months. Thank you for this perfect amount of teaserlyness (is that the right word? Teaserinity?).😉

  13. chelikins

    Sigh… sigh.. mmmmmm..! Wonderful! Thank you for my early Christmas present!!

  14. Kari

    That was like giving an recovering alcohol a sip of beer. But soooo worth it🙂 Maybe for the holidays we could get Chapter 2? Yes I know I’m being greedy, these next 2 months are going to drag by!

  15. liatortilla

    first chapter was so awsome cant wait to read pale demon. is Ivy really not going on the road tripe.

  16. Loved reading the first chapter. Can’t wait for the book to arrive!

    Take care,
    June

  17. Lesley

    Did I read that right? Will Jenks be big again for this trip? Or was that just to survive a plane ride? I am so hoping for more big Jenks! (If only because there’ll be so much more of him to get on Trent’s nerves.)

    I can’t wait. Every danged time I picture the four of them in a car I crack up. The only way it could get better is if you crammed Al in there too. *lol* “Rachel, Jenks pixed me!” “Rachel, I need to pee!” “I’m hungry!” “Oooh, can we visit that awful tourist attraction?” “OMG EVERYONE SHUT UP OR I SWEAR I WILL TURN THIS CAR RIGHT AROUND!”

  18. Sarah

    Gah! It’s like torture. Now I’ll be fantasizing about ur book until I’ve just about lost my mind. But…it’s…so…worth it!

  19. Mel from OR

    You wicked wicked woman!!!! Feb 22 can’t come fast enough.

  20. Tine

    Holy Moly!! Bad author, bad, bad. I cannot wait.

  21. WHOOT! February can’t come too soon. Looks like “Pale Demon” is going be as good as all your other books, Kim.

  22. Brandi

    Oh sigh~I love you Kim Harrison!😉 Poor Jenks😦

  23. Elaine

    Kim! Can I still order a shirt for the tour? It’s okay that I wouldn’t be able to get it before Christmas, seeing as it’s for myself, but you’re still taking orders, correct?

    Now. . . [Goes to read first chapter!]

  24. Tessa

    After a terrible horrible no good very bad day i find thiss…… made it worth it!!!
    now…. is it february yet??????????

  25. I love it. But I hope to see Ivy in the next chapter. ^^

  26. Amanda in Tampa

    OMG! I am so excited, the chapter was awesome. I looooovvvee Trent and you put him in the first chapter. I want more!

    I am upset. I was supposed to go to the signing in Cincy, but I am having rotator cuff surgery and will be down for the count during that time. boo hoo! I guess I will be reading Pale Demon from bed. Maybe I can convince my Dad to go for me. Hee hee.

  27. Jenn

    You have to give us more Please Please Pretty Please with Sugar (lots of sugar) and a cherry on top!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  28. Sheyla

    Thanks for the Chapter!!

  29. Mara

    Awesome chapter, though one problem: Rachel wouldn’t be producing “melatonin” in the sun, she would be producing “melanin.” Melatonin is a chemical in the brain that makes you drowsy. Melanin is what decides skin colour. 😀

  30. Jenny

    I was trying to think of a proper analogy for this little tidbit to express my craving for more, but my brain is too busy salivating over the portion we got😉 Thanks Kim

  31. Antonio

    I’ve always loved experiencing this story through Rachel’s eyes…

    Until now.

    Really?

    We get a head-to-toe description of the fully dressed Trent, but all we get on Rachel is that her skin looks ‘pasty?’

    Really?

    (grumblegrumble…)😥

    Fine.

    Putting away any lingering disappointment, it’s a GREAT opening chapter! I’m looking forward to finding out what Trent’s really up to, and why the chapter ended the way it did. Thanks for posting it here!😎

  32. Frederique

    SQUEE!!!

  33. Micha

    Yay, what a treat!!! Thank you so much, what a fab first chapter, how about few more?
    We are moving house soon so have been packing the entire day and this is just the reward I needed… Love, loooove the tension between Rachel & Trent… am anxiously waiting for the 22nd of February. Only 67 days, yay!!!

  34. Maryellen

    Okay- you’re killing me here!

    I’ve got a perfectly good kidney that I would happily trade for a Pale Demon ARC. Anyone?

  35. tish

    That was AWESOME!

  36. OOOOH NOOOO I CAN’T LOOK. …don’t make me… Really, I am pretty much the President and CEO of the No Snippets Committee.

  37. Milan

    Looks like another great book. I can’t wait until February, I love road trip books/ films.

  38. Cathy

    Is it already Christmas?! Thank you for the tease.

  39. God, how Trent hits her every nerve! Just a couple of pages and we are knee deep in action already. Kim, you top yourself with every chapter, every book. I can’t wait to read the rest.

    Can we preorder Pale Demon? What about the GN? Do they come out at the same time? I don’t think i can wait to get them together if there is a long time between them.

    • -grin- Thanks, Ezgi. I did start this with a bang. You can pre-order Pale Demon, yes. And the GN (which comes out in July) I’d order them with seperate shipments, if it was me.

  40. missy

    Mmmmmmmmmmoooorrrreeeee!!!!!!!

  41. Oh man. I’m not going to make it this year. Last year I abstained in order to have the whole effect, but I know I’m going to loose the fight this time. It’s been too long without my Hollows fix.

  42. Jenn

    Aaargh! I knew I shouldn’t have read it! *head desk* Now it’s going to be even harder to wait!!!!
    If you haven’t figured it out…lol…I loved it!

  43. Marcie

    OH be still my beating heart. That was fantastic! I can’t wait for the rest. It is going to be a long winter until February 22 that is. Awesome first chapter. Merry Christmas and thanks for the sneak peek.

  44. Hilary

    LOVE IT! I absolutely cannot wait until February. Every book has been wonderful so far but the premise of this one sounds just too entertaining. Thanks for putting this up.

  45. becca

    wow kim
    do you know how to write them or what??!!me want moooorrrrree!!
    you cant leave it like that though…….thanks for the sneak peak…its like chocolate,telling yourself you just want one bite but really its the whole bar you gotta munch to feel better😉
    toodles
    becc
    uk
    xx

  46. Oh and I have news for you (hopefully): Pale Demon will be named Blutdämon (Blood Demon) in Germany and the cover is up on amazon.de! Have a great weekend!
    Aimée

  47. Michelleg Galarno

    Tinks little red thong, that was AWESOME! The interaction between Rachel and Trent is already hot and it’s only the first chapter (squeals!) I cannot wait. It’s gonna be a long Michigan Winter waiting for Feb. 22 to come. Thanks for posting Kim.

  48. Aya001

    Loved the chapter, can’t wait for February, I WANT the book T_T

  49. MUST … HAVE … MOOOOOOOOOOOOREEEEEEE!!!

  50. “resistance is futile…” I know that for a fact because my will power failed me in a matter of minutes. The desire to know where this is going between Rachel and Trent. I love the dynamic that all the previous books have set up. Its all seemed to be leading us here and the suspense! Oh its sweet, exquisite torture!

    Trent has been such a favorite of mine because in most books, its so easily defined who is “good” and who is “evil”. Trent’s character blurs those lines so exquisitely always leaving me questioning if the good in him is just the public facade, or despite his actions, is Trent actually working for the greater good?

    Oh and watching Rachel transition. Beginning with an earth witch who has seen too many good witches go bad, being seduced by the power of the lines to constantly shifting her perception of herself and always questioning not the magic itself, but the purpose and intent behind it. While at the same time pushing herself and her magic further than any of us ever could have guessed when we first opened the pages of Dead Witch Walking.

    I LOVE the dynamic this has brought into play. Now Rachel and Trent might just have more in common than they realize. Both of them possibly having good intentions, but sometimes being forced to resort to darker means to achieve a greater result.

    Clearly, I’m a huge fan, and just can NOT wait to get my grubby little hands on Pale Demon and enjoy the ride… In a Buick no less.

  51. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    You’re a life saver. Iced in and this comes through to perk me up from my cabin fever stupor of endless games of Uno with the little bit. Thanks!

  52. Kelley K.

    Kim… I can’t see the chapter, only the ‘coming soon’ box….

    • Hi Kelley. Your computer is pulling up an old page it has stored on your hard drive. If simply refreshing the page doesn’t work, try clearing your cache if you’ve got a Mac. PC’s have something similar, but I can’t remember what right now.

  53. Jessi

    I am soooo excited wooo hooo! Can’t wait to get this in my hands! I have to buy new copies of the series…my paperbacks are falling apart😦 So, now I am gettting everything in harcover…it’s nice to get excited about something…my little man is going to be 2 in March, and frankly, its been depressing me how fast he is growing up…boo…I just gave away the last of his baby things can’t believe he wears 2t already…anway, looking forward to the book! Thanks for posting the first chapter! Sicnerly, Jessi

  54. Alisa

    AWESOME!!! I can’t wait for February 22🙂

  55. hellokitty654

    yaaayyy!🙂 i read it and now i really want to have to book in my hands😀 awesome thank you for the first chapter fans love it :)… now i’m off to read it again

  56. Steven Nungaray

    More, I want more. I love it so far. Poor Jenks.

  57. Candace

    WOOHOO! I always check twitter first, so I’m SO GLAD you tweeted that the first chapter was up! I love love LOVE it! Can’t wait- I’ve been curious about this book since you first mentioned taking a road trip!