Not sure myself

Yep, the first chapter of PALE DEMON was scheduled to be released yesterday, which was why I didn’t post, but clearly there was a glitch.  Maybe today.

Work went pretty well the last couple of days, and that nine pages of dialog turned into nineteen.  (whoo-hoo!)  I got another twelve done yesterday, so if I get one more day of honest work out of me before the weekend, I will hit my 200 page goal.  Phew!

I’m not sure I’m entirely liking what I’m seeing right now in the manuscript.  But  then again, it’s rough draft.  I’m making lots of notes in the margins of things I need to go back and add in, but Trent still has not shown himself, and without that, a great deal of tension is missing.  It reads okay, but it could read so much better.

I might take today and go back and write what’s missing.  I know, I know.  I’m always preaching push forward in rough draft, never go back for more than leaving notes for yourself, but this would be an entire chapter.  And hey!  We’re talking Trent, here.  -laugh-

25 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

25 responses to “Not sure myself

  1. JanisHarrison

    OK, I’ve read the PD teaser. And now I’m in agony! February 22? And I’m 13th on the Seattle Library list to read it? Oh my gosh, it’s going to be a long, long 2-1/2 to 3 months… Congrats on your progress, it’s so satisfying to hit those self-set marks.

  2. Dot

    200 pages without a sign of Trent? OMG that would be torture. Please, please don’t let the happen🙂

  3. Cathy

    yes TRENT! yum yum!

  4. tish

    Geeked! More Trent!

  5. Lisa

    Kim, is this the link for the first chapter?

    http://www.kimharrison.net/BookPages/PD/PD.html

  6. Niko

    Hmmm, Trent being elusive and not doing what you want him to? Neeevvvveeerrrr.😉

  7. Gail S

    Ohhh, I can’t wait for the sneak peak:-) I’m in need of a Hollows fix too:-)
    Trent will be happy you added him in;-) LOL

  8. Tami Cowell

    AAAHHH!The suspense is killing me,with no short story release this year,I need my HOLLOWS fix bad!I’ve been looking every day,and boy I’m excited!Well you are a busy author and mom and wife,so we get it,smiles.Just wanted to let you know that to me it takes a fabulous author to keep me in suspense like this,I love to read and yours have me hook,line and sinker.Thanks Kim.

  9. Jenn

    I love hearing you talk about your WIPs. I learn so much when you do! I can’t wait to see if you go back & break your own rule lol.

  10. Lesley

    Will you open up a speculation/spoiler post for us to play in? Pleasepleaseplease? 🙂

    And I’ll never get tired of hearing you talk about work in progress. I don’t think in terms like that yet (“this chapter needs more tension”) and it’s still fascinating!

  11. Marcie

    Oh I’m on pins and needles here. Any day now and I can do a quick read on my favorite characters. 🙂

    Do what your heart tells you to do, but Trent would be worth it. 🙂

  12. Carla Wetherill

    Even I would make an exception for Trent… *wicked grin*
    He adds so much more to the story. You never know what’s up his sleeve.