Happy Fish

I am happy to report that after two years of casual shopping, I have found something that seems to safely heat my Beta tank.  The hermit crab heater under the tank is not too hot, not too cold.  Mr. Fish looks so much happier.  I keep the house cold at night, and I’d often find him with his face planted in the gravel in the morning.  His tank is still cool, but not cold.  Yay!

Freebies have finally come in, so look for them to show up soon.  We need to get them down to the post and find out how much SASE postage they’re going to need.  Fingers crossed!

Also . . . I have a date for the release of the first chapter of PALE DEMON!!!  Look for it next Thursday.  If you would like it (and the next couple of chapters as they follow) to show up in your inbox, hustle on over to Harper and sign up for their author tracker.  It might take a few days to get you in the system, so don’t wait until the last moment.

Harper Author Tracker

24 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

24 responses to “Happy Fish

  1. JanisHarrison

    Oo! Oo! Oo-oo! gonna go sign up right away!

    And glad that Mr Fish is now appropriately warm, too. What makes a hermit crab heater better than an ordinary fish tank heater? … Hmmm (puts immense brain to work) … is it because Mr Fish’s tank is way small?

    • Hi Janis. Cool! I am on Harper’s Author tracker, and I can vouch that they don’t send you gobs of stuff, just the notices you want.

      Mr. Fish’s tank is only about a 1/4 gallon, so a regular heater is too big, yes.

  2. Carrie K

    HI, My daugher was looking at the site with me and fell in love with your little Xander and Alexi. They are very cute I must say. She was wondering if there was a way she could send them some cookies that she makes. They are made with peanut butter, flour, baking powder and milk. She normally sells them donating all the money to a pet rescue we have in our state. She has done pretty well for herself donating $1500 so far. She isn’t looking for any money she just wanted to send you some for your little guys.🙂

    • Carrie, that is so loving and giving of your daughter. I really appreciate her offer, and I have an alternate idea since Aleix and Xander are in such a loving home. If she would like to give a batch to the local rescue instead, it would make an unhappy dog feel loved, instead of a loved dog fat. (laugh)

      Tell your daughter congratulations. She is making a difference, and I respect that.

  3. Robin

    I’m a little unfocused today at my desk so I was going back and reading some older posts and I saw where someone said they were also rereading and were feeling charmed by Nick all over again. Funny, cuz as I am rereading I keep picturing Ivy’s baby grand suddenly rolling across the sanctuary and smooshing him, or a meteor falling out of the sky and smooshing him, or the ground opening up and swallowing him, or . . . guess I’m the grudge holding type after all. Strangely, I don’t feel that way about Trent at all. The more I read Trent the more I like like like.

  4. missy

    How big is Mr Fishs tank ? They advise not to use a watt heater for anything smaller than a 5 gallon tank,but I have a 75 watt heater(smallest size I believe) in my tank at work.
    I have a 2.5 gallon tank at work ,for the my feng shui zen needs.
    I love watching fishies. I’ve kept tanks for almost 2 decades now,so I’ve had a lot of trial and error.
    I’ve even bred my bettas,so I’ve got a 6th sense for it now.

    My office gets so cold over the weekends,that temp went down so low last year,I came in on a Monday,to a tank of dead fish. Never again.
    I keep it at 72F,and it seems to keep them warm enough ,and not over heat.
    Bettas can tollerate up to 90F ,as that’s how they live in the wild .
    However,domestically tank bred ones,are used to lower temps,so below 80 is ok .

    • I’m no expert, Missy, but I don’t think that the mat-type heater is going to be a problem for his smaller tank. I watched it very closely the first day, and it never got above 76. But better yet, it didn’t get below 72, where it was dipping to 68.

  5. Rebecca

    I’m so happy for Mr. Fish! This weather we’ve had the past few days has been HORRIBLE and bitter cold. Here’s hoping the frog is doing ok too!

  6. Whoot!!! “Pale Demon” – I’m on the list at Harper Collins. And happy joy for Mr. Fish and his warm digs.

  7. Lesley

    OMGOMGOMGOMG!!! PD preview coming soon! This has made my day!

    (And it’s definitely been one of those days, where I am trying to work and finding myself dazedly surfing my bookmarks instead, and I read this blog post about a fish named Mr. Fish and think, hehehehe, I wonder if she’s a Kim Harrison fan? Duuuuuuuh. Time for more coffee Y/Y?)

  8. Patricia pickett

    I love reading your blog as much as your books.

  9. Antonio

    Did this Mr. Fish make the drive all the way from Rock Hill, or is this Mr. Fish2.0-Michigan version?

    Chapters already? I don’t think we read any of BMS until late January last year(Harper was in a bit of caos at the time, if i’m remembering correctly)…

  10. jenniffer

    YAY!!!! Finally Pale Demon!! Woo Hoo, its like the best christmas gift ever! I can’t wait to read it. Thank you thank you thank you. Ok I’m done. Just had to let that out.

  11. Robin

    SQUEEEEEEEEE!!!!! I’m already signed up at Harper and I can’t wait!!! I started two weeks ago re-reading from the beginning and shuffling in the short stories for a chronological read. I must say that my respect for you as an author has jumped another peg (if that was possible, it was already at 11 {spinal tap humor}). Going back and finding all the bread crumbs that I missed the first time or things that were foreshadowed that I can now look at and go “Ah ha, I totally get that now!” is so much fun. I was worried that I wasn’t leaving myself enough time to finish before Pale Demon what with the holidays and all but I can’t put them down this time either, even thought I know what’s coming. Going to have to start napping at my desk to keep up on my sleep. 😉

    • Excellent, Robin! I hope you like the first chapter.

      And thank you for your words on the re-read. I try to put in little hints that can usually only be seen on the second go-round. I like that ah-ha! feeling, too. 🙂

  12. Niko

    Yay for Mr. Fish! I had the same problem when I kept bettas, and I always felt bad for the poor little fishies in winter.😦