The Harrison Frog Spa is now open

I’ve got a green frog in my fish pond, and I’m kind of concerned for him.  It’s far too cold for him to be out of the water and moving around, and he’s taken up in my pond since there’s a heater and it’s toasty warm.  He should be hunkered down in some thick pond muck somewhere, and my pond is so new, there isn’t even a smidgen of anything between him and the plastic.

This is going to be an interesting winter as I keep an eye on him.  Is he going to winter in the Harrison Frog Spa successfully till spring?  If it keeps him warm enough, will he be so active that he doesn’t have the resources to keep from starving?  I wish I knew what to do with him, but seriously, I’m not sure where he came from to begin with.

I’ll be taking the rest of the week off from the Drama Box because of the holidays, but I’ll probably be shunning the big stores on Friday for my desk . . . although I will be going downtown for a cup of coffee and to shop local.  I’ve been down there more than a few times now, and I’m amazed at the quality of the stuff I found.  I like the idea of commerce so close I can walk to it.  Not a bad option compared to driving, parking, and worrying about leaving stuff in my car.  Besides, I’m starting to recognize people, and that’s kind of cool.  It gives a fantastic sense of both responsibility and unity, of belonging to something larger.

Happy Thanksgiving, guys!

56 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

56 responses to “The Harrison Frog Spa is now open

  1. That is a great idea, Missy. We used to get those for our fish.

  2. Jessica

    hey Kim!

    I was just wondering and hoping at the same time if maybe in the future, you were going to write another graphic novel that involved big Al. I would love to see some sort of visual of what he looks like.

    • Hi Jessica. Probably not. The current comic books are set before she ever meets Al, so it would be hard. As to what he looks like? I’ve left that kind of vague, haven’t I?

  3. Happy Thanksgiving!

    The Harrison Frog Spa! -lol-  Love the title.  A bunch of people have left good ideas for trying to keep your frog alive.  Here’s an article on how to build a frog house for your garden:  http://www.ehow.com/i/#article_5731753 
    Maybe you could make him a tiny scarf and mittens to hang on it as a good luck charm.🙂

    That’s great that you’re supporting your local small businesses…I like how you roll!🙂  This year my cousin got our turkey from a local free-range turkey farm, which I thought was pretty cool (maybe that’s common elsewhere, but not so much here in LA).

    Have a great weekend, Kim!

  4. Jules

    Hi Kim, long time since I´ve written here the last time…busy year…So, I´m reading Black Magic Sanction and I have a question in mind.
    When Rachel told the coven, Al has his name back, why do they believe here? And that leads me to another question…why did Rachel have to argue that much with Al about getting her “Name” back when it´s so easy lying to the coven? (I know I´m fussy🙂 )
    And sorry, my english is a bit rusty…happy Thanksgiving!!

    • Hi Jules. I don’t know. Maybe they didn’t, but didn’t dare call her bluff. As for why did Rachel have to fight to get her name back from Al? Because he knew she wanted it, and he was being a nasty demon. Your English is great, by the way. I didn’t know it wasn’t your first language. 😉

  5. JanisHarrison

    Ohmygosh, a frog with a poor sense of timing! Some great ideas here for keeping it alive. Do let us know what becomes of it. (If you have raccoons, I don’t think it will last long, though)

    (snerk, snerk…little robes and mud facials…)

  6. GracieA

    Make sure to check out the Middle Bead! (up stairs from the book store) And Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. Mel from OR

    Warmest Thanksgiving wishes to you too. I thinks its wonderful that you are choosing to shop local. Ever since I moved to Portland, I started the whole local shopping and you’re right- stuff is better quality, not to mention that if feels much more personal.
    Best of luck to the frog too. Looks like you’ve received many good tips from your fans. Cheers!

    • That’s great, Mel. As long as the shopkeepers are willing to stock what you need, then I don’t see a reason to go anywhere else. And I do like the personal service.

  8. Melody

    Perhaps the little frog is on the run from the I.S. after having eaten some unsuspecting runner’s Fairy backup, hmmm?

    On the bright side, if he survives the winter (and any I.S. death threats) your garden will be mostly mosquito (and fairy) free for you and your family to enjoy in the summer.

  9. Frederique

    Awww poor little frog. I did giggle at the idea of small robes and mud facials *grin*.

    I’m volunteering to help feed to homeless tomorrow. Then I’m going home to have comida de choclo (corn casserole) with my mom and aunt.

    I hope you all have a wonderful and safe Thanksgiving weekend.

  10. Joelle

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  11. Antonio

    Michigan J. Frog!

    So that’s where he’s been!

  12. missy

    You should go to the local tropical fish store,and buy him some frozen blood worms and brine shrimp.
    There might be enough stuff swimming in the pond for him to eat,but he can def use the extra sustinence.
    Fish also love that stuff,so it will get eaten one way or another.
    Id defrost maybe 2 cubes of each one,and dump it where he’s hanging out every other or every 2 days or so.
    With my fish tank,I actually pick up a bunch with chop sticks,and put it in front of my frogs face,as they have poor senses.
    You should name him Bis.

  13. mudepoz

    Happy Holidays to you and yours. I won’t mention what happens to frogs here.

    Although, a toad DID jump on me from a hanging plant earlier this summer. He/she/it escaped with its life…

  14. suzannelazear

    Happy Thanksgiving. Tonight the tot and I are going to make pies, pumpkin and bourbon pecan.

    “Frog spa”, I like that. Complete with little robes and mud facials?

    Have a safe and happy holiday weekend.

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  15. I had a big frog scare the you know what out of me the other day when he/she jumped out of a hole that he must have dug under the concrete pad of my A/C compressor. If you have some rocks around the pond maybe he can hunker down in that area near the warm water. They do sell a packaged food for creatures like lizards at most pet stores. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving! I will not go to a mall until after New Year.

  16. Judi in NJ

    Happy Thanksgiving, Kim, “Guy”, & family! Enjoy!! p.s. maybe your frog is really a prince who is waiting for a smooch. heee heee heee

  17. Robin

    Another thought is maybe calling a pet shop to see what they have you can leave for food for him through the winter. I had an iguana once (well my ex husband had an iguana – looooooong story) and he used to get this prepackaged stuff from the pet store that looked like green and pink spam and contained everything a cold blooded creature needed nutritionally. I like the idea of maybe an classroom needing a mascot too. Happy Thanksgiving to you and Guy and both Things and Aleix an Zander and anyone I missed and everyone who posts!!!! Finish up here at work and then I’m off to brine a turkey.

  18. Ash

    I hope that you and Guy have a very Happy Thanksgiving!!

  19. Stephenie

    Poor cute little frog. If he was at our house my girlfriend would probably have some sort heated amphibious house set up for him, full of provisions. lol

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving! I’ll start cooking tonight with my grandmother, though I’m going to try and escape the actual work by pointing out that I have bronchitis…😉 We’re going to watch How To Train Your Dragon and spend the night there.

  20. Maryellen

    Aww, poor little frog! Where are you? Michigan? You’re right- he should be hunkered down by now. Go to a pet store, buy a vivarium and keep him until spring. Do you have any teacher friends who would want him as a class pet? I taught for 18 years and hosted all sorts of critters- the kids love it!

    Happy Thanksgiving, Miss Kim!🙂

  21. Niko

    Happy Thanksgiving, kim! Enjoy some pie with your coffee!🙂

  22. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I think your frog will be OK. If he gets too cold, he’ll find a place near by and dig in.

    I posted late in the previous Drama Box about a dream I had. I don’t know if you saw it.

    Sounds like you’re really liking your new town. That’s good. I hope they know how fortunate they are to have you and the gang. 🙂

    Happy T-Day!

    V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy. Oh, I don’t think the problem is going to be cold. I’m worried he’s going to starve before it warms up. He’s got enough frog fat to survive the winter at cold temps, not warm, and there’s nothing to eat in the pond. sigh. I think I’ll be feeding him.

      I do like my new adopted town. My grandfather live here, not just lived here, but helped shape things, and I can feel a sense of balance.

  23. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you also. Enjoy your coffee and a little downtime.

  24. Jenn

    A Frog Spa huh? Weeeell, maybe if you have some leftover soil you could put it around the edge of your pond & wet it down? I dunno if this will work or not, but it’s a thought. Although I’m guessing you’d have more fun watching him & his antics in the pond this winter. Why do I think that Jenks might have a pet frog in the next book?
    Happy Turkey day! Have fun meeting the neighbours on Friday!

    • JanisHarrison

      Maybe a pet tree frog, Jenn. Jenks is all of 4 inches tall, rather tempting as a morsel for some of those big greenies…

    • AquatiCat

      Yeah, remember Rachel’s references to what happened to the (offstage) frog-gulped fairy in book 1?🙂

    • Hi Jenn. I don’t think that frog is going to move for anything now. It’s like twenty out there, and he’d freeze before he could burrow in.

      Hope you had a great turkey day!