And we have a plot!

It took me a couple of days, and all my usual tricks plus a new one, but I think I have the plot hammered out for the next Hollows book.  The road trip book will remain my favorite, but I can already tell that this one, which won’t see the light of day until 2013, is going to be right up there with my personal favorites.  It’s fairly evenly divided between reality and the ever-after, which is kind of cool.

So . . . I’ve got my character sheet all filled out so I can see at a glance the action is well spaced and no character just pops on for a chapter and vanishes for the rest of the book.  I’ve got a fairly equal spread of gender (which is hard for me.  I like guy characters) No new characters in this one, which is nice.  My page-per-chapter breakdowns are done, and I know where I’m going.

Only thing is, I have to rewrite the end of the previous book, but just a little.  Good thing I’ve not turned it in yet. -grin-

If you are curious about my ever-evolving plotting techniques, click on How Kim Outlines to see last year’s rough draft from idea to rough draft.  You’ll have to start at the last post and work your way forward.  This is the development of the book that I’m going to turn it in a few months, and as you can see, I’m still not quite done with it yet.  Writing is a slow process, eh?

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “And we have a plot!

  1. How exciting! Do you get ideas for the next book rattling around in your head while you’re writing your current project? Or, when you write, are you focused in a way that you don’t see exactly what’s next until it’s time to write it?

    Have a good one!🙂

    • Hi Tiffany. It’s a bit of both, actually, with the next book always in the back of my mind, but I’m usually very focused on the book that’s right in front of me.

  2. Theresa

    Oooooo thats when I graduate it’ll be like a graduation present!!! My mom shall by it!!!!! I can’t wait till 2013 much less feb. for Pale Demon but I guess I will any way *sigh* =] Oh yeah I already have a copy of Pale Demon on hold now I just have to wait till Feb. then start reading!!!! I’m so excited!!!! You are my favorite writer ever! Did you know that your books are the first chapter books over 100 pgs. besides Harry Potter that I read of my own free will? Yeah, you special!
    From, Theresa

    • Theresa

      Ok so i just read that link and I have a new found respect for all writers. Who knew that you guys put that much effort into making readers like me happy? Now… I thank you.

    • Thanks, Theresa! I’m really glad you’re enjoying my work that much. Yes, 2013 looks a long way away, but there will be two books released between then and now, so it all works out. 😉

  3. JanisHarrison

    Well, there you are! Wondered what you’d been caught up in…sounds like it was a profitable day, and a good thing #11 hadn’t been shipped off yet. Now I’m panting for #12, #11, and Pale Demon!

    I’m about to start breaking out and rewriting Witch Woode, to expand the first volume and lead into the sequel, Double, Double…But first that ergonomic keyboard!

    • Hi Janis. Good. It sounds like you’re moving forward too. 😉 Yes, get the keyboard. It will take a few weeks to get used to it, but stick with it. Your wrists will thank you.

  4. Joelle

    2013 – that sounds weird for some reason. So it seems now that the year starts in February oh around the time of a certain new release. Do you think if all of your fans campaigned for it that we could change the calendar? It could be called the Hollows calendar year. lol Probably not.

  5. Hello Ms. Harrison,🙂

    *Alyss wants to say something profound but all that comes from her mouth is:*
    I hit the 100K mark for NaNo! lol.😛 I’d say tag, you’re it but… lol.
    Most of it’s drabble. Heck, all of it is. I planned to do a sensible novel, then my region got involved in a word war and my competitive nature took over. Another WriMo and I have been battling it out in the World War 3 kind of way. She beat me to 50K and now i’ve beaten her to 100K.
    Who knew? lol.🙂
    Anyway, now you have the total senseless update on my nanowrimo status.😉

    Enjoy your writing ma’am, I know I am.🙂

    Have a great day, it’s good to hear from you again. We missed you.
    Hugz,
    Alyss

  6. Yasmin

    2013?! I’ll be almost 60! I’ll have to go with the audio book. No, I can’t hear now. Big print version maybe…. ROFL
    Have a good day!

    • JanisHarrison

      Sweetie, I’m over 60, and I may try one of the audio books because I’ve heard that the reader is just so great. Just get your eyes checked, and my personal preference is for separate reading and distance glasses–just get different styles of frames so you can grab the ones you want (Yes, I hate my bifocals).

    • -grin- Only on the outside. On the inside, you’re still 24, right?

  7. If you have an extra plot can you send it my way? I’m having sequel issues. ~grin~

    Writing can be such a *very* slow process. Of course waiting for it to actually be published can be slow too.

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

    Have a super weekend.

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  8. missy

    Bbbbbiissss. Lots of Bis !
    Xxoo

  9. chelikins

    I always enjoy this time of year when you share how your mind works to develop the next book😉

  10. Marcie

    Wow, you’ve been busy haven’t you? I can only image what it takes to write a book and all those rewrites. 2013!? Oh man it is going to be a very long two years? I’m hoping the ending you are rewriting is for a book inbetween and not pale demon. I can dream right?😉

    I am however happy to hear you were just busy and not sick or something. I was getting a bit concerned. 🙂

  11. Jenel

    Kim,
    why is it not coming out until 2013?
    i dont think i can wait that long….

    writing maybe slow but your books are a work of art, and art is never finished fast!

  12. Maryellen

    That’s great, Miss Kim! It sounds as though you are happy with the results. And I’m certain all of us will be as well when we eventually get to read it. (2013?? Sheesh! I think it’s funny that a human can be created in 9 months, but it takes upwards of a year or more to create a novel Ha-Ha!)

    And don’t worry, I won’t make any unsolicited obvious bids for a Rachel and Al hook-up. However I’m not above hinting. I guess I just love me some bad boys!😉

  13. Niko

    2013? I don’t know if I can wait that long! What happened to 2012? *mischievous grin*

  14. Marsha

    I am really interested in how you determine the number of pages per chapter.I am playing with a story right now and I am having trouble with that. Some seem to be too short and maybe should be incorporated into the chapter before or after it. Thanks for the tips. So glad you didn’t come down with the flu and that your family is OK. We worry about you you know.😀

    • Hi Marsah. Some of that depends upon the genre that you’re writing, but most is personal style. I aim for 15 pages, but I usually hit somewhere between 12 and 18 manuscript pages. I will occasionally have a 4 -8 page chapter that I use for effect when I want to “shock” the reader. They will be accustomed to the longer chapters, and then I can use the abrupt ending to give a double-wammy of impact.
      Thank you. Tuesday and Wednesday were not good days, and I just needed a break.