Monday, Monday . . .

Monday, monday, and my pond isn’t holding water.  Blah.  I’m sure it’s running under the lip of the first pan again, and I’m about ready to chuck it. (Which I won’t do, of course.  I enjoy watching the birds far too much, and they will be using it today.  It’s cold and dry.)

This weekend, I bought a quick-release gadget to put on the end of my hose and faucet bib so I don’t risk blowing out the bib by leaving the hose hooked up all the time in freezing weather.  This quick-release is a thing of beauty.  I’ve used and enjoyed the plastic ones for years, but I went out and got the very pretty brass one this time, and it’s a real pleasure to use.  —  But I’d much rather my pond hold water.

18 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

18 responses to “Monday, Monday . . .

  1. Ah, rats – I don’t understand why your fountain isn’t holding water! Your idea was a good one. What about a clear piece of plastic something in the stream of water completely connecting the two pools? Or sometimes that happens when pouring things too slowly – maybe the water needs to flow a little faster? In any case, I really like your idea of the circulating water (personally, it reminds me of good things – like a moment of truth inspired by something circular), and it sounds like your birds are appreciating it – totally worth figuring out.

    PS – Tacks and braiding – wow you’re really working up a whole new repertoire of skills! Did you make a beaded edge on the piano bench with the tacks? I like how that looks. Do you play the piano?

    Have a good day, Kim!

    • Guy put a bib on it, and that seems to have taken care of it. Here’s hoping, anyway.

      And yes, I put a beaded edge on the piano stool. I played for a while, but not in a long, long, time.

  2. JanisHarrison

    Gardening, be it ornamental or merely functional, is a whole complex set of challenges. My bird feeders feed more squirrels than birds, and my birdbath requires almost daily cleaning and refilling. But it’s so fun to watch all the critters congregating, taking turns (sometimes), gleaning dropped food, etc.

    • Hi Janis. I can’t agree with you more on the pleasure of watching birds and critters, knowing they are there because you’re providing something they need. Have fun! I know I am. 😉

  3. Hello there Ms. Harrison,

    Sorry for only wandering in now, I’ve been busy with NaNoWriMo and a crazy business trip which took me to the border of one of our neighbouring countries (in temperatures of 116F!).
    Congratulations on your nominations.🙂 I am very proud to be one of your readers and am very proud of you!

    Now, I’m off to bed, lol.

    Good night and have a great day when you read this.

    Alyss
    NaNoWriMo status: ehehehehe… ah: 51k words… It was an accident, I swear. I’m not quite sure how it happened either…

  4. Judi in NJ

    Hey there! I missed Friday’s post so allow me to wish you belated congratulations on both counts!!! I’m super excited for you and you’re always number 1 in my book!! Ha Ha – get it? My “book”. yeah…..it’s Monday.🙂

  5. Marcie

    I’ll bet that pond is so relaxing to watch. I love watching the deer cross our yard every day. They go by twice a day, once in the morning and again in the afternoon. THey eat the clover and some of my flowers. I had to fence in my garden pretty high so that they’d stop eating my tomatoes! There is nothing worse they watching them grow and waiting the extra day or two to make sure they are really ripe to have a deer come in at night and eat all of them. THey don’t like the smell of marigolds so they are in there too as they may try to jump my fence. But still we love watching them pass through. This year we have two 1 year olds going by. Mom must have moved on as she is not with them anymore. Sad, but it happens.

  6. laurel

    hi! there is a black rubber tarp(?) that you can lay under your waterfall and then put the rocks on top. I think you can get at a pond store or maybe online. we used that under our waterfall and it stopped leaking. good luck🙂
    and i love your books! can’t wait for the next one!

    • Hi Laurel. Guy had the same idea, but we used a plastic bag for now until we can get into the stores and get the better stuff. Great minds think alike . . . 😉

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the books. Thanks!

  7. mudepoz

    Kim, try the black version of The Stuff. When I was still building ponds for a living, we used that to seal all the edges. You can put rocks in it too.

    I love the quick release attachments. All of the greenhouses have them

    Can you explain more about the PR stuff you wrote about last week?

    • Hi Mud. I’ve not heard of the stuff, but it sounds as good as duct tape. 😉 I’ll look for that. Thanks!

      Ahhh, the PR. No. -laugh- It’s too soon, but you’ll like it.

  8. suzannelazear

    A pond sounds fun. Over the weekend the tot won her very first goldfish. But she wasn’t as excited when she found out she had to feed the fish and clean out the bowl, lol.

    RWA in NY, eh? I’m waffling on that one. I’m waiting to hear if my panel gets approved and I’ll take it from there. The fam gets a little tired of me going places without them. Does it ever get easier?

    • Very cool, Suzanne! I wish your goldfish a long life. Mine from the fair lasted a week. sigh.

      I take the family with me when I can, but my kids are older, so it has got to be tough for you.

  9. Jenn

    Good Luck! I hope you get it all fixed up. I agree, watching the wildlife is always so soothing…