Good News!

I’m doing the happy dance in my chair this morning.  ;-)  I found out yesterday that Black Magic Sanction is #8 on the Customer Top 10 SF/F books of 2010, which I believe is a compilation of sale figures: Amazon’s top ten

I’m also up for a career achievement award at RT in the urban fantasy genre.  I don’t have a link for you for this one.  Sorry.  But I’m up against Rachel Caine, P.N. Elrod, Simon R. Green, and Laurel K. Hamilton.  I believe the winner is chosen by the RT reviewers, but someone correct me if I’m wrong here.  Double whooo-hoo!

58 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

58 responses to “Good News!

  1. Whoohooo!!!! 😀 Congratulations Kim! Both of these are amazingly great achievements – and both totally deserved. …A toast! To a fantastic author, and an incredible person. Cheers!

    PS – The chair you recovered is really cool! I love the triangles and the key shape of the legs, and the fabric you picked too – lines meets curves. Very nice! I like doing projects like that, too. Did you work on the piano bench that you thought you might get to this weekend?

    Have a nice day!🙂

    • Thanks, Tiffany. And yes! I did manage to recover the piano stool. Now I know how to handle the decorative tacks and braiding. Next project is a chair, and with that, I’ll be adding jute and webbing to my skills. It’s a slow way to work up to my couch, but this way, I have lots of little successes rather than one big slow, frustration.

  2. Marcie

    Congratulations! I love all your hallow books plus the Madison series. I’ve got my preorder in for Pale Demon too. I can’t wait to read it and see what happens. I’m so enjoying rereading the entire series and picking up the little things that I missed the first time. 🙂 Oh and I’m leading my friend Dead witch walking to see if I can get her hooked too. 🙂 Now i’m off to see what I can do to help get you those awards.

  3. Gayla

    I honestly am amazed at Ms. Harrison’s ability to move the reader deep into the Hallows weaving a web of intrigue that refuses to turn you loose until you have. inhaled every page! Kudos and hoping you WIN as you. deserve. Much love from Kansas.

  4. Congrats!

    But what have you done for me lately?😉

  5. You’re #1 on my list – I’ve never read a Kim Harrison book that I didn’t LOVE!

  6. SooJin Millsap

    hells yeah, u know u should be on that list all the time and be getting awards like every day, u are the reason why i am back to readding soo much, i can’t wait for more and congrates on everything u do!!!

  7. Amy

    Congratulations!

    I honestly think you deserve it! I fell in love with Rachel Morgan a few years ago and got my best friend addicted too. Can’t wait until the next book. I’m hoping that you keep the Hollows going for at least ten more books🙂

  8. JanisHarrison

    I’m adding my cheers to all the others for your inclusion on the winners’ list. I’ve always thought that being on the finalist list was as much an award as the #1 spot, regardless of the category. But #1 is probably somehow even more wonderful. My vote’s for you, by a landslide!

  9. Well if your fans could vote I think you would win by a landslide. You work very hard for your success and you deserve it. Congratulations!

  10. Antonija

    Congratulations, Kim!
    You’re definitely my favourite (for over 3 years now) and I’m sooooooooo looking forward to Pale Demon!
    Trent, Rachel, Ivy and Jenks in one, “small” car…I smell tension, trouble and a lot more *grin*
    But I do wonder why Quen isn’t with them…I guess, Rachel took it upon herself to protect Trent?
    These two never cease to entertain me….they are just too cute!

    Thank you for making life more enjoyable by writing such awesome books!

  11. Jade/Third Coast

    Congratulations! Your my favorite to win, that’s for sure. I will hold a good thought, and cross my fingers and toes since I can’t vote.

  12. blackbetty

    Yay, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you! Love your books, and I think you should win. I’d say have a great day, but sounds like you already are.

  13. mudepoz

    Ditto what everyone said! The selection of authors on that list is nothing to sneeze at, though I admit to being biased. I happen to enjoy spending time in the Hollows. Yes, I do read the others, both full books and the anthologies. Fabulous company.

    Um. None of which are permanent fixtures in my home library.

  14. Frederique

    Congrats!!! You deserve it. You are an amazing writer and you make time for your fans (which not that many people do). I’m eagerly awaiting the next book in the Hollows series🙂

  15. Lisa

    Congratulations! You soooo deserve it!

  16. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    You know who I’d vote for if I could but, I didn’t see Vicki’s name up there! Just kidding, you know you’re my number one author and she’s number two…oh wait, that doesn’t sound right at all.

    Congratulations, no one is more deserving than you. I am very happy for you.

    V^^^^V

    PS I’ve Googled like crazy but can’t find a link for the RT NOMINATIONS

  17. suzannelazear

    Who hoo! Congrats! Will you be at the RT convention in April…

    ~Suzi

  18. Jer

    CONGRATULATIONS KIM!!!
    I just went over to Amazon and gave you 5 stars:) Anything to help!
    You deserve to win the Achievement Award at RT (if the readers voted, you would win).

  19. NiNi

    You totally deserve every accolade! You are so dedicated to your writing & your fans. Congratulations!

  20. Antonio

    Well that’s cool. I didn’t know what “RT” was at first, but i now know it stands for ROMANTIC TIMES. Cool beans.

    Can you imagine going back in time to see your younger self at her kitchen table, diligently getting in as much writing as a young working mother with two small boys can budget…and just know that someday she not only could be a published writer, but that people – fans and contemporaries alike – would think enough of your work to make you a bestselling author? And award you Lifetime honors? Pretty cool, right?😎

  21. David

    Quality tells😉
    I buy almost all my books from Amazon (its hard to get them in Germany by any other means) and have bought all the Hollows series via Amazon. I have just finished reading the series again (5th time through! Well only 2nd time for BMS)

  22. Maryellen

    Woo-Hoo! You ROCK, Miss Kim! It must be incredibly gratifying for you to have your body of work be recognized and appreciated. The Career Achievement Award is in the bag! Oh yes. Yes it is. 🙂

  23. Indy

    Congrats!!! That is just awesome, and well deserved!!!~Indy

  24. Joy

    I am so happy for you. I’ve read all your books and love them. I agree with Jenn, I could live in Rachel’s world too. I enjoy your books so much I’m now listening to them on my MP3 player. May your star continue to rise. I can hardly wait for your next book.

  25. Nancy H

    Congratulations!!! You deserve it!

  26. Excellent news!

    I think BMS is one of my favorite Rachel books so far. And to think I only found out about them little more than a year and half ago!

    You are among some big names for that Career achievement award, that say something in and of itself I think. Congrats!

  27. Jenn

    Woohoo! *happy chair dance* I am so very excited for you! We all know & love your work. I find that your depth of character & attention to detail to be among the best I’ve ever read. Although there are other author’s works that I enjoy, I find your world one that I would gladly live in.

    Congrats & thanks!

  28. Melissa

    To my favorite author: Congratulations! Well deserved! Just a hint of what is to come, your star is on the rise. Cuz that’s what happens when you’re awesome!😀