mishmash

So I’m planning out my month, and I think I’ll be working on PR mostly again today, but then I’m going to do my final brush through of the next Hollows before I plot out and write the one following that.  Which means I won’t be NaNoing with you guys since I can’t get to rough draft until mid month, but you know I’ll be there with you in spirit.

Today’s picture is of a bench I bought at a flea market this summer, now residing in my black-and-white bathroom. (Apparently black-and-white is Victorian.  Go figure.)  It is now sporting the colors that I am using throughout the house, so when I get tired of it there, I can easily move it somewhere else.  It originally had a very ugly fabric of blue and gold, but I liked the cast iron legs and figured “How hard could it be to recover it?”

As it turned out, not hard at all, but the prep work was murder, and not just stripping the thing.  I had to find a source for tools, fabric, and whatnot.  I liked the process and result so well that I did a second bench on Sunday that now sits at the end of my bed in soothing paisley of  brown, gold. (Sans the ugly purple fabric.) I have a piano stool waiting to be stripped possibly this weekend, but the prize my eyes are on is actually a chair and sofa, both of which have ugly covers but beautiful wood.  Just working my way up . . .

12 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

12 responses to “mishmash

  1. Mel from OR

    You are a woman of many talents, Kim. BTW, what is NaNoing?

    • Hi Mel. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, where participants try to write 40,000 (or is it 50,000?) words in the month of November. It’s grown over the years until it is not a huge event.

      And I have to keep trying new stuff. No one is going to do it for me, right? 😉

  2. Marsha

    I love refinishing odd finds from flea markets and garage sales. My family looks at the ugly painted things and shake their heads, but I look at the bones and put in the time and muscle to strip and refinish them. I’ve found some beautiful pieces that way.

  3. JanisHarrison

    A bench or a dining-table chair seat is about the extent of my reupholstering ambition. I’ve thought about doing slipcovers for my 2 small swivel rockers but haven’t worked up the nerve yet. However, there are often classes offered at the local community college…

    Sounds like the upcoming month is chock-full for you. I hope you find balance in all your projects–writing, review/editing, PR, and home enhancement.

    I’ve decided to pass on NaNoWriMo this year, because my tendonitis is flaring up again. I think surgery and an ergonomic keyboard are in my future.

    • Hi Janis. My months are always busy this time of year. I really look forward to the summer when I don’t have any PR and no deadlines.

      Sorry to hear about your tendonitis. That sucks. Plain and simple. But do spend the money on the ergonomic keyboard before you resort to surgery. I have had one for years, and it has made all the difference.

  4. You sure do keep busy, Kim. I have an adorable chair I bought at our local animal shelter thrift store a couple of years ago. It has Queen Ann style legs and small wing backs. Trouble is, my kitties decided to use it as a scratching post and it now has exposed stuffing on the arms. I’ve been working up my nerve to reupholster it. You’ve given me inspiration to at least start looking at appropriate fabrics.

    And thanks for the “spirit” support in NNWM. I’m at 4,000 something and the story is moving right along.

  5. Jenn

    Sounds like you’re having a blast redoing all these things🙂 The bench in your picutre reminds me of my parents kitchen table. It was an old sewing machine that my father converted into a table with drop sides. They left the wheel in it & we used to fight over who got to play with it during the meal. lol.
    Good luck with all your projects & I can’t wait to see the PR stuff!

    • Hi Jenn. I am having fun, yes. I get to work with texture and color, (which is important to me as it’s lacking in my other creative endeavor on the keyboard) and it has to be exact enough to satisfy my need for order, but free enough I don’t have to be a stickler about it.

      That is a cool story about the table. mmmmmm.

  6. Yasmin

    Wow! Do you ever SLEEP?! LOL

    • Hi Yasmin. Oh yeah. Trust me. I sleep. I sleep a lot. -laugh-

      What I don’t do is watch TV. Fifteen years ago, I realized I was losing ten hours a week in front of it and gaining nothing. Now I lose about two, and that’s a good balance for me.