lettered pages

And at long last, after almost a year of talking about it, I’ve got a lettered page for the Hollows Graphic Novel for you to look at.  I picked this one to show you because it has the marvelous colors of the coming sunset that I’ve been enjoying.  There isn’t a lot of action in this page because it’s the first of a new chapter, and just like my regular prose, I usually take a bit of extra time to set the scene.  When writing, it’s about four paragraphs after an initial bit of dialog.  With a graphic novel, it seems to be an extra large panel.  I’m sure it will evolve, as everything does.  Enjoy!

57 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

57 responses to “lettered pages

  1. Hello Mrs. Harrison,

    Well, on behalf of South Africa (who will probably not see it for another two years, lol) I have to say that I approve.

    It’s beautiful. I love the colors and the details.
    And the fact that Ivy’s eating a very healthy salad, lol. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing this, it is a pleasure as always!

    Alyss

  2. Ah, it’s too funny how little time it took for Rachel to get herself into serious danger. -lol- (Well, I’m guessing it’s serious danger rather than a nail appointment, since this might be when Ivy develops the desire to protect and look over Rachel…but maybe after Ivy first trys to feed her to Sharp the bridge troll? -laugh- You know, maybe not knowing he doesn’t eat people and all.) The sunset colors are absolutely beautiful in all three frames, but I especially like how in the middle one it’s reflecting on Ivy’s skin. And speaking of evolution, the next frame totally reminds me of what’s yet to come – Ivy on her bike with both Jenks and Rachel, as a mink, riding with her.😉 Anyway, I can’t wait to read this piece of the story!

  3. The second frame really wins me over.
    First, I like it when comics sometimes spill out of their boxes. I don’t know why. Maybe because it feels a bit whimsical.
    Second, pixies!!!
    Third, that salad looks yummy and the tomatoes in it are a nice touch.😉
    Fourth, I’m with Jemma and Marsha, the angle is interesting and unusual.

    Ivy’s voice seems really interesting too. I can’t wait to read more about her perception of Rachel, I mean, Little Orphan Annie.

  4. Nancy Ruhland

    OH! You are a tease! I can’t wait to see the finished product. I feel like a kid the day before Christmas.:)

  5. Sheyla

    looks awesome! Congrats

  6. Alake

    I made a little victory dance when I knew about this project. Lots of reasons. Above it all, I’m very curious about how things were back then, how Ivy was around Rachel when she didn’t knew her outside work and without sunlight… So far it looks great. The task has to be challenging at the best. I cheer you on from Spain!

  7. Sylvia

    Wow, I’m not much into graphic/comic thing but this one looks fun. Its been forever since I’ve been here and the whole thing is different, I like it.

  8. Violetta

    WOW!! That was… different. Maybe i just have to get used to it… I do like the detail on the backgrownd, tough. I´m not much of a comic/graphic novel kind of person, but i’ll definitely read it, see were ir goes. It might be fun… although i just feel it falls short on the novels, but who knows?
    I trust you.

    • Hi Violetta. It really is unfair to try to compare it to a novel. The mediums are so different with the same goal of telling a story, but totally different methodologies. I hope you give it a try.

  9. Marcie

    So this is what a graphic novel is. It’s wonderful. I love the rich colors and a peek at what you precive as to how Ivy looks is just how I imaged her. Seeing the little pixies was enlightening, they are so darn cute! (don’t tell jenks that). Little Orphan Annie comment had me laughing and I can’t wait for the rest. You sure do know how to tease us well.

  10. Jessica

    MINE! *Snatches and runs away* Looking forward to it!

  11. Indy

    Looks amazing!!! I’ve always been a comic book girl…Spidey. X-men, Buffy…but I’m excited to grab my first graphic novel. ~Indy

    • Thanks, Indy. I am glad I was able to go right to the graphic novel instead of the smaller comic books. I will admit that the sparse writing style was hard to adjust too, and not having the story broken into three or four sections allowed me to skip a lot of the “remember last week when” parts. Hope you like it!

  12. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Looks good. Will there be a Kindle version? (Yes, I am kidding now get back to work 🙂 )

    V^^^^V

  13. Sandra

    hmmm. I knew there were blonde pixies, and the occasional, shameful dark haired pixy- but ginger pixies? I did not know that there were indeed red headed pixies. I like that. lol. These panels look great. I am sooooo looking forward to the graphic novel. Will we get a peak at Trent Kalamack? I’m dying to know if he’s as hunky on paper as in my mind.

    • OMGosh, Sandra. I sacrificed many of the usual Hollows rules in the spirit of working with multiple artists with their own visions. There will be many people who will pick at that and say it’s not a true rendition, but frankly, I don’t care as long as the spirit of the characters is present in the facial expressions and body language. It’s the soul that matters to me, not what color a pixy’s hair is. Though I did make a stink about Rachel’s gun and several of the auras. -grin-
      Trent is there, but he’s not as hunky as you’d probably like.

  14. Candace

    Loved it! We’ve been hearing about this for so long that it is kinda awesome to finally see a bit of the product!

  15. Jonathan Eli

    They colors are wonderful. The perspective in the one cell is nice, different, I like it. Look forward to the next installment.

  16. Marsha

    I’m with Jemma, the unusual viewpoint the artist chose for Ivy is not something I would have expected in a graphic novel. It’s really good. There is much more detail in the backgrounds than I expected as well.

  17. Maryellen

    Kim, Kim, Kim….don’t you know that a taste of honey is worse than none at all? Do we seriously have to wait until February for the next installment? Sheesh! I’ll be sucking on an exhaust pipe by then!😉

  18. Cathy

    Fantastic! I love the rich colors and the pithy prose. I miss the gang so much. I’m in the middle of reading the whole series again to tide me over. I’m at Rachel’s lifesaving visit to Quen during Trent’s annual halloween bash… perfect timing!

  19. Laura

    This looks great can’t wait to read it. I love the graphic novels because they give you more insight into the character, and they look like you picture them in the books.

  20. Jacque

    This is looking great🙂 Really can’t wait for the release *grin*

  21. Looks great, Kim. Really great.🙂
    Can’t wait till release day.

  22. Jemma

    Wow, it’s looking great!

    And drawing Ivy from that angle is pretty impressive. Your artist really is wonderful with figures/people.

  23. Rosalie

    I’ve never read graphic novels — just comic books when I was a kid. But this will definitely be on my lists of books to read. I can’t wait!

  24. Thanks for sharing Kim. I am looking forward to its release.

  25. Jenn

    Squee!!! I love the colours, they have a great depth & I love the little details in both your writing “Little Orphan Annie” & the details in the graphics (the pixie’s fighting over a seed). I’m going to spend hours looking at it once I get it in my hands…

  26. Melissa

    Ooo! It sure is looking good! I can’t wait to see/read it myself!!🙂

  27. Joelle

    “Little Orphan Annie” — lol. Love the pixies arguing/fighting over something from the salad. Can’t wait to read it.