Progress

Made good progress on the rewrite for book ten yesterday, chunked through almost a hundred pages of action, action, action, but today I’ll be lucky to get through twenty, now that I’m in the reflect and repair stage.  -grin-

Reflection is good, and woke up this morning with the thought that I need to go back to the last little bit I worked on yesterday and add a few things that Rachel would be questioning at the time.  If I were doing rough draft, I’d just make a few notes in the margins and push on, but since it’s a rewrite, I’ll be slogging it in.  ;-)

So far, so good . . .

14 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

14 responses to “Progress

  1. Maryellen

    KIM! KIM! SHE’S OUR GIRL! IF SHE CAN’T DO IT…. um…okay, I can’t think of a rhyme. But keep going, Miss Kim!🙂

  2. Jenn

    I hope you had a good day with adding in Rachels thoughts!
    Did you get the loads of rain we got last night? I think it rained all night here!!!!
    Happy Thursday!

  3. It must feel good to be able to rework your drafts, Kim. Reads like you enjoy the process, whether it be fast or slow.

  4. Kim Bailey

    I am supremely confident that no matter what you commit to that screen/paper ect. will be nothing less than perfect. I do alot of reading Ms. Harrison and I am not abashed to say your are my number one favorite author! I marvel at the complexity and the depth of your characters and their emotions so much that my life pauses while I am engrossed in your books. So I am giving you ever-elusive kudos on your progress. I can’t wait to read it!

    • Thanks, Kim. I wish I could say it was as easy as I’m making it sound, but it is painfully slow slogging sometimes, with terrible decisions and doubt right along with the triumphs and joys. Knowing that you appreciate the time I put in past the “It’s okay” stage makes me feel good. Thank you.

  5. travlingirl1963

    I love your books. I have always loved to read but had never read any of your books until about 6 weeks ago when my sister told me she had started reading your books. Now what is so odd is that she always hated to read and I had to know what kept her so intrigued. She gave me all your books and I have read them all, {the hollows} in that time. Just want to thank you for showing her that reading is something that is truly enjoyable

    • Thank you, Travlingirl! I really appreciate that. Very cool that you are both reading the books. It’s always more fun when you can talk Hollows with someone. 😉 And I love hearing about non-readers finding what sparks their desire to read. That makes me feel fabulous!

  6. mudepoz

    I have this feeling… How many rewrites did you do for your first book?

    • OMGosh, Mud. I can only guess. I spent probably four to six years on my first book before I got an agent and then a couple of rewrites after that. Ten? Maybe? It usually takes ten years for a new writer to say “I want to be published” to when it actually happens, with several manuscripts between. I just spent those learning years with the same manuscript instead of multiple ones.

  7. Marsha

    Reflect and repair stage? I think I get stuck in this stage at the very beginning. I’m trying very hard to just make myself finish the story, then go back later and see where I have too much or too little. I worry too much at the begining if this or that paragraph makes sense and I never get through the whol story.

    • Hi Marsha. Oh! I meant Rachel’s reflect and repair stage, but it kind of works for me, too, actually. -laugh- Truly, you have to let go of perfect on the rough draft and put down thoughts. Trust that when you go back to it that you will have the perfect paragraph still in you.