Kim Harrison’s Annual Halloween costume contest

If Halloween isn’t my favorite holiday, it’s really close, and to celebrate, I’m going to stage an on-line, costume contest again where you can duke it out for an advanced reader copy of PALE DEMON.  This will be the fourth year for this, and we have a few changes, but basically, it’s you send me a picture, I post it on-line, I pick winners of categories, and Grand Prize winner is chosen at random from category winners.

I’ve got it all spelled out at the website, here.  Have fun, and please don’t send me any pictures until the contest is officially open on the 18th.

28 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

28 responses to “Kim Harrison’s Annual Halloween costume contest

  1. I still have no clue what kind of costume I’ll put on this year. Such a hard decision to make. I’ll figure something out.
    Nice picture! I like the touch of colors from the leaves in the mostly black and white setting.

  2. What?!? Did I understand you correctly that Halloween might not be your favorite holiday? -lol-😉 …Okay, I rolled it around the noggin trying to come up with a guess of what it might be instead – it’s President’s Day, isn’t it??😉 No wait! It’s a close call, but I’ll go with Christmas time instead – for the warm jazzy music about chestnuts, fires, and the snow, for hot apple cider, and of course the leg lamp.🙂 I better just ask. . . What would your favorite holiday be, if not Halloween?

    Nice picture. I like the composition – the lines and circles, like you mentioned about the one you took of the ferris wheel. And how cool that the light goes from yellow to purple up top. Not to mention the candy corn! Yum.

    Have a good one!🙂

  3. mudepoz

    Does the costumed individual still have to be alive?😉

  4. Jen

    I can’t wait to dress up my 10 year old daughter and my cat for the contest!!! =)

  5. NiNi

    Reading your blog always cheers me up. Thanks for posting so often. We know that you have a busy schedule, but it is great to be able to come here & get updates on how the books are coming along. The tidbits about your day to day life are also fun to read. We get a very rare insight into the entire book-writing process — how cool!

    BTW — Halloween is absolutely my favorite holiday. The movies, haunted houses, decorating, and parties — woohoo! Our local Shakespeare company (across the bridge from the Hollows *grin*) is putting on Bram Stoker’s “Dracula” this year, & I can’t wait to see it. They’re also doing a 1-man show, told from the point of view of Dr Frankenstein. Hoping to catch that one too!

    • Thanks, NiNi. I’m glad you appreciate the time that goes in to keeping this up and talking with you guys. You’re important to me. 😉

      Oh, sounds like a fun night!

  6. Does it matter where we come from? :3

  7. Jade/Third Coast

    Yeah, Halloween! Not only is it a fun holiday, but around here it usually (but not always) means the start of cooler weather. It is 70 right now, a high of 79. Heaven, after heat indexes all summer of over 100.

    I also love to break out the scary movies, but not the slice and dice stuff. I love Hocus Pocus, and to a lesser extent, Halloween Town. But I really like the oldies, like The Ghost Breakers with Bob Hope and Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein.

    There are a couple of movies I like to watch during this time that are not Halloweenie, like The Bad Seed with Patty McCormack. It gives me the creeps every time I see it. I also like Arsenic and Old Lace with Cary Grant. It takes place on Halloween, but other than it is a comedy/thriller.

    When I was a teenager and decided I was too old to trick or treat, I still wanted to do something. The house of my friend was configured so that there was a small room with a window immediately to the right of any kids that came on the porch to the front door. The kids would only be about a foot or so from this window. We would hide in the dark at the window and whenever kids came to the door we make a scary noise. It worked every time. They never could tell where it was coming from and they would jump and run. We were so bad, but we did try to wait until after they got their candy.

  8. Yay for Halloween! I can’t wait for the holiday to come!🙂 As I mentioned, it is our anniversary as well, so doubly excited. This year I’m getting a nice hotel for the whole family to go over to Cedar Point’s Halloweekends.🙂

    Everybody is very excited, as am I. We probably won’t start decorating for another week or two though. The kids get a little too crazy with the stuff and things end up breaking.

  9. Argh! lol, I see it’s open Internationally.😀 yeahy!
    We don’t really celebrate Haloween here, but for a chance at an ARC, I’ll make a plant!🙂

    Hello Mrs. Harrison!😉
    I’m still around, I just try to limit my commenting to give you some time, lol.

    Have a great day!

    Alyss

  10. Stef from germany

    I’m really excited about all the pictures. ^^ Sadly, i’ll be in rehab until at least the end of october, so i might not be able to send you a picture of our costumes. (and the graveyard photo shoot didn’t really happen, too much rain that day)

    I hope that i’ll be back in time. : ) Autumn leaves.. i love this time of year. ^__^ And the candles do look really cool.

    • JanisHarrison

      Stef: Rehab? I’d like a few details if you feel comfortable with explaining. I had a couple of weeks at Camp Rehab after my back surgery, and I can share my “wisdom”–hah! In any case, all the best…

    • Stef from germany

      Hi Janis.

      It’s a rehab center that i have to go to. I had two big surgeries and six chemo therapies as cancer treatment before. Nasty stuff. ^^
      But i’ll have my dog with me there, so it’s okay. Thanks though ^^

    • Hi Stef. Ouch! I’m so sorry to hear that your rehab stretches so long, but truly, you are fortunate to have the chance for professional help in getting back everything that you possibly can. Go gracefully into the future. 😉

  11. Marsha

    I don’t know if the display is on a buffet or an entry table, but is looks very “Halloweenish”.

  12. Jenn

    Yay! I love to see all the different pictures that get put up! I’m sure that this year will be the best yet!