It’s time to decorate!!

Happy October, guys!  What I didn’t tell you yesterday was when I was playing hookie, I was actually out to the grand Halloween opening of a decorator store.  They had been closed for several days beforehand to pull everything out and shift from Country to Halloween, and man, did they have the stuff!  -grin-  Everything but the bobbing apples.

I picked up two bags of stuff.  It’s still sitting on my couch, waiting for the weekend when I pull out the other four tubs of stuff I’ve been collecting the last 20 years.  Tomorrow I decorate, and it’s going to be fun trying to figure out where everything goes for the first time.

Today, though, I’m reading through book ten rough draft.

29 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

29 responses to “It’s time to decorate!!

  1. Marsha

    LOL. I have to be careful this time of year or I’ll have a whole year of bills to pay off from the decorations. One day I will have collected enough stuff to make my house perfectly frightening. Ah Halloween, is there any other time of year when an old lady can scare the cr*p out of kids and not wind up in jail?

  2. Kenny G

    Booooooooooooooo!! Love halloween. Makes me want to read DWW.

  3. mudepoz

    Going off to a farmer’s market in Madison WI for Halloween stuff!
    Hm. Remember Antonio’s little spin off from NaNoWriMo, NaSty RoMo?
    *Cough* Well, in addition to writing credits for the American Journal of Botany, Dog Fancy, and assorted lab manuals, I can now add a zombie story that list. My little zombie story was written for NaSty RoMo and accepted for an anthology.

    I don’t think that will be going on my CV though.
    Better Writer’s Workshop. Guess there are several schools of thought. I like the one where constructive criticism is used:)

  4. Janis

    Ooooh, you reminded me that it’s time to decorate! Halloween and birthdays are the only holidays I celebrate, so I usually get pretty serious with both. This year, I have my own apartment, too, so I get to drive my boyfriend insane with decorations! Yay!

    Lion Brand Yarn has a whole website filled with patterns, including some Halloween ones. In fact, I just got an e-mail from them about it. +^_^+
    A cute little ghost: http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/L0253AD.html?noImages=&utm_source=20101001_Oct01&utm_medium=Emails&utm_campaign=Weeklynewsletter&utm_content=P-HalloweenGhostOrnament
    A witch’s hat: http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/L0259AD.html?noImages=&utm_source=20101001_Oct01&utm_medium=Emails&utm_campaign=Weeklynewsletter&utm_content=P-HalloweenWitchHatOrnament
    Trick-or-Treat bags: http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/L0112AD.html?noImages=&utm_source=20101001_Oct01&utm_medium=Emails&utm_campaign=Weeklynewsletter&utm_content=P-HalloweenTreatBags

    You might not ba able to see the patterns unless you register for the site, but most, if not all, of the patterns are free, so I think it’d be worth it. They have patterns for knitting and crocheting! +^_^+

  5. JanisHarrison

    I have a small amount of H’ween decor, but I don’t know if I’ll get it out in time. We are about to start repainting the entire main floor of the house, except the one small bedroom we did a couple of years ago. And then the new carpeting will be installed. I’m thankful that my dad will be boarding at my sis’ house and the cat and I will be staying at my apartment — those paint fumes, not to mention the upheaval, are rough to live with.

    My daughter’s fave event is H’ween. She has several tubs of decor stuff, lights, yard art, etc. She just goes nuts.

    There are kids in both our neighborhoods, but most go to safe’n’sane parties. Trick-or-treating is not terribly safe nowadays, and nobody wants their kids on a long-term sugar high.

  6. Frederique

    I hope we get more trick or treaters this year than last year. I’m trying to make my block more festive🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend full of Halloween decorating fun.

    P.S. I can’t wait for books 9 and 10.

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I envy the children that get to visit you on Halloween! Do you give them books? JUst kidding. Have fun.

    V^^^^V

  8. Candace

    WOOHOO, Halloween is both one of my fav and least fav holidays. Least because I don’t really enjoy being scared out of my mind, but I LOVE dressing up and watching Hocus Pocus and eating candy and fun parties with silly movies like An American Werewolf In London.

    Will you show us pictures of the decorations you got?

  9. Krista

    All this talk of book ten is driving me wild. I don’t even know how I will be able to hold out for book 9. =)

  10. Judi in NJ

    Love the new look – the bridge is beautiful! And I llooovvveeee Halloween!! Will we get to see the wonderful results of your 20 years of collecting Halloween decorations? You must have had a ball yesterday!!! whadja get? whadja get?🙂

    So it’s almost time for my 3rd re-read of the Hollows series in preparation for February…hhmmm. Maybe I’ll start on Halloween. I just finished the Stieg Larsson books & wondered if you’d heard about them. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, etc. Wow! What a trilogy.

    Enjoy your weekend and have a great time decorating. Fall? Bring it on!

    • Hi Judi. I might have a few shots of my decorations, but I don’t know. . .
      Mmmm, enjoy your re-read. And yes, I’ve heard about the Larsson books, but I’ve not yet had the pleasure of reading them. sigh

  11. Dark*Darling

    I love Halloween, its my all time favorite holiday! I m so excited to finally move to the US as its not really big (or at least not big enough for my taste) in Germany. Cant wait to shop for all the cool decorations and set them up around the house!!!

  12. Stephanie

    I Looooove Halloween!! I actually have Halloween village instead of a Christmas village. Yep. I put it up in September, and I’m not ashamed of it. Now…the costume contest. I have great plans this year!

  13. Jenn

    WooHoo!!!! I love Hallowe’en! I can’t wait for it this year. It’s our first year in this new house & there are a lot of kids in the neighbourhood. I love seeing all the costumes they come up with. I can’t wait to get my pumpkin up as well!
    Hope everyone has a great day & fantastic weekend!

  14. Rebecca

    I only WISH I had Halloween decor, but we’re never home for Halloween really anymore, that will change next year! Have fun decorating!