Getting cold

It’s starting to get colder.  The brand-new furnace kicked on this morning.  My desk sits right over a vent.  OMGosh, this heat-loving slug loves the placement of her desk.  -grin-  It’s going to be a good winter.

Aleix, as you can see, has a new sweater.  She hates clothes, and I don’t blame her, so all this summer I’ve been slowly acclimating her to it.  She wore a knitted collar for a few weeks while going outside, and then a little “shirt” that was more like a bandana.  Now she will tolerate the full thing, actually coming to me when I call her to put it on.  She still doesn’t like it, but she’ll wear it and act like a dog instead of standing in the middle of the yard and look miserable.

I have four days to revamp the website for Halloween / next release before I start the rewrite on book ten.  (My goal was to start it the first of October, and I made it!)  There won’t be any big changes for a few days, but trust me, stuff is happening in the background already.  I’ve got the new colors in my mind, and the layouts will stay unchanged mostly apart from the first page.  The big question I’m mulling today is what should be my front Halloween picture.  I had a pumpkin one year, then cookies the next.  I’m thinking maybe a pile of leaves?

Ahhh . . . a week to play in the website.  Heaven!!

35 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

35 responses to “Getting cold

  1. I added plastic to my windows this weekend to fend off the cold. My old apartment needs all the help it can get to resist our winter. I think it’s not quite freezing at night yet but it shouldn’t be long. *sighs* I’m also a heat-loving slug.

    Website redesign, huh? Sounds like fun! My blog will undergo a big visual change this weekend. I had a cover made for my blog novel so I can post it on Authonomy once it’s rewritten. We also made a banner and Twitter out of it and I can’t wait to set it all up.

    Did you knit Aleix sweater?

    • Hi Aheila. I hear you on the plastic! Nothing like making sure your house stays warm.
      Congrats on the cover for your b-novel! Moving forward, I see. 😉

      Yes, I knitted Alexis sweater. I started a new one last night, with a tighter collar. The first one is a bit big.

  2. JanisHarrison

    Aleix looks like a fashion model (sans pout) in her pretty sweater. How does Xander feel about clothes?
    I’m so glad you have a week to play and re”vamp” your site. I think pup(s) in sweaters in the leaves, or a gargoyle or 2 wearing their scarves in the leaves, or a scarecrow(!) especially for Halloween are terrific ideas.
    Oh, you got that new furnace in the nick of time! And happy-happy-joy-joy about the new couch. Sometimes we just gotta unkink that spine.

    • Hi Janis.
      Xander doesn’t mind them, but she’s almost two pounds heavier than Aleix. She can get by right now with a scarf. 😉

      Thank you for the ideas of the Halloween picture! I need all the help I can get this year.

  3. Gayla

    I think for Halloween you should have a picture of Ivy dressed up as the most evil vampiress ever. After all isn’t that what halloween is about? Vampires, witches and Ghouls o my!!!

  4. Jenna

    Your dog is so cute! I have a chihuahua also and she hates wearing clothing, so she’ll just wear a little bandana sometimes.

    You’re so lucky, it’s still blazing hot where I live.

    The front picture for your website should be your dog in a Halloween outfit! Maybe a little pumpkin outfit, or a vampire or witch outfit would fit perfectly for the front picture.

  5. theweightofsilence

    I love re-designing websites!! On my other blog, I re-do the colors quite often.

    Your dog’s sweater is super cute! We are opposites… I love the colder weather! I sleep with my windows open when the temperature dips into the 40s.

    I can’t wait for the next book.. even though it’s months away!

  6. Frederique

    I envy you and your cold weather. We had fog and gray skys all summer and as of the first day of fall we have had a non stop heat wave. Today it has already reached 110 in my city and we are close to the beach. It never gets past 96 and even getting close to 96 is rare.

    Great job on the world book🙂 I can’t wait for the next book.

  7. Sandra

    scarecrow popped into my head….don’t know why, but I think it would be a great front Halloween picture. Just a suggestion =)

  8. Cooler temps would be nice here in the high desert hills of north central Arizona. 90-degree days are not the norm but at least our nights drop down to the 50s. I need to be careful not to wish for colder temps – I might regret that come winter😉

    I like the idea of a gargoyle on your website but you know what’s best. Falling leaves that fall around Bis might be cute, too.

    Alex is adorable. He’ll learn to appreciate a little extra coverage once winter rolls in.

    • Hi Jeannie. I’m still kicking the idea of the Halloween picture around. It has to be something that can change, so I can have a before and after picture. It just takes a little thought, is all.

  9. Judi in NJ

    Aaaaaw! Not only is she wearing the sweater, but she models it beautifully! Absolutely TOO CUTE!!

    I vote for the gargoyle too or Henry’s tombstone (that’s just a great gift from the new/old house gods) – uummm….in case you wanted our input.😀

    Have fun and enjoy your week!

    p.s. I guess no NYCC this year? :((

    • Thanks, Judi. It took a lot of time to get her used to it without resorting to forcing her to wear something she didn’t want to.

      Mmmm, I like the idea of using Henry’s stone.

      And no NYCC this year. I’ll be going to San Diego next year, though.

  10. mudepoz

    I think your gargoyle in a scarf would be appropriate. After all, everyone loves gargoyles.

    I have a long coated breed, but they get to wear blankets when they are bathed to flatten their coats. We start them early, so I am impressed that you conditioned Aleix into dressing. Now, how about a costume for HER🙂

    Of course, my command for putting on collars, leashes, clothes, harnesses is not one I’ll probably use for new pups. Head. Non doggy people look strange when I praise it. *Kof*

  11. Candace

    Man, CA is so behind the times. It still thinks it’s summer and insisted on being over 100 this week.

    Aleix is precious in that little knit sweater. Hooray for practical doggie clothes! (I sometimes watch It’s Me or the Dog and I cringe at the ridiculous outfits some people give their little dogs)

    And as for the front picture, how about a mug of hot spiced apple cider?

    • Hi Candace. I cringe at dog costumes/fancy clothes, too. Little dogs are dogs, not accessories or living dolls. They need to adhere to the same responsibilities and rules as big dogs. No jumping up on legs when excited, and no walking on the counters. -grin-

      Oh, I like the mug of cider idea. Thanks!

  12. Antonio

    A pile of leaves? Boooorrrinnnggg!

    I like the gargoyle idea…maybe the grave headstone you found?

    Are you excited for Halloween this year? If i’m not mistaken, you didn’t have a lot of trick-or-treators at the old place. You’ll probably have some this year, right?😎

    • Boring? Boring!! No way, Antonio! Colorful! And when it’s over, if I’m lucky, I’ll have a shot of snow on them.

      Yes, I’m excited for Halloween this year. We’re in town, and I’m thinking it’s going to be a ten-bagger night. (As in ten bags of candy)

  13. Marsha

    Oh my gosh she is so cute! Didn’t she have trouble with the light snow you had in SC? Wait until this year. Poor Guy will be out there shoveling the snow away for the pups.🙂 We had a mini poodle once that would not go do her thing unless she had grass. My dad went out and shoveled a little patch of ground for her in a four foot snowbank in upstate NY. He really must have loved my mother😀

    • Hi Marsha. She didn’t like it, but she did go out and take care of business after a great deal of coaxing. My folks had a dog they had to keep grass open for, too. 😉

  14. Jenn

    I like the pile of leaves idea…maybe you can get your pups in it or maybe your Bis statue? That would be kinda cool!
    Yup, it’s cooler here too, but I’m still able to sleep with the fan in the window! I love a cool room & warm covers *grin*
    I can’t wait to see the new website!

  15. Yeah, it’s cooler here in Indiana as well.

    Sounds like you have a lot of fun to look forward to! I am very jealous of your workload at this point! Maybe one day. Maybe.🙂

    Good luck with getting your stuff finished!

  16. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Alex may not like her clothes now but I think she’ll like them a lot more after it really gets cold. At least you didn’t try to make her wear booties. 🙂

    Lookin’ forward to the new site design.

    V^^^^V

  17. Who hoo! New Website.

    I’ve started the search for web designers for my own website. Scary and exciting all at the same time considering the investment.

    I like the pile of leaves idea.

    I’m glad it’s cooling off for you. We’re having a heatwave here. I think it’s supposed to hit 110 today. Blech.

    Have a good day.

    ~Suzi

    • Hi Suzanne. Good luck with your website! I just love mine, and I’m so glad I started it with the first book so I could get some experience working it before a lot of people started showing up. -grin- Now it’s kind of scary.