1

And . . .  it’s off my desk!  Or at least I hope so.  Printing out the world book went fine until my printer started going wonky.  Talk about frustrating.  I see the picture on the screen.  I see it in draft, I see it in page format, I see it when I print out a draft copy.  And when I print it in good format . . . it gets lost somewhere.  Very, very, weird.  Today I’m going to figure this one out, or kill my printer trying.

Figuring this one out belongs in the office Olympics.  So far, I’ve got how far and fast can you carry a full cup of hot coffee.  The modem repair relay, The IT-on-hold race, guessing how long the left over has been in the back contest, and the how-fast-can-you-get-the-boss-in-your-office race.

Happy Friday!  I’m going furniture shopping this weekend.  I’m tired of looking at the bare spots.

31 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

31 responses to “1

  1. Sebrina

    I go away to Turkey for a week long holiday and I come home to see the The World Book is off your desk. Fantastic welcome home present if I do say so myself! I’m feeling incredibly excited about it😀

  2. Johanna o

    Good Evening Ms.Harrison,
    I am a huge fan of the Hollows series. I can’t wait for the next book!! You wouldn’t happen to have a date on that would you.🙂 I was wondering if you ever considered making your book into a tv series or movie. I can see it. I can visualize Rachel, Trent, Ivy and even Jenx. I’ve never been as enraptured by a book series as I’ve been with this one.

    • Hi Johanna.
      Thank you! I’m really glad you’re enjoying the books so much. PALE DEMON is due out Feb 22. I can’t wait! I’d love to see the Hollows on the big or little screen. Maybe someday. The interest has to come from Hollywood, or it generally is more of an uphill battle than usual.

  3. JanisHarrison

    My printer (HP inkjet) has been consistently doing a “double-strike” down the middle of the page. Since I’ve never even looked at the maintenance pages in the manual, I probably should find out what I should have been doing for 2 years. I dunno about laser printers but I’ve learned that if I carefully(!) shake the ink cartridges I can get a little more performance out of them — at least enough to finish the current few pages — until I get to the store.

  4. Theresa

    Hi Ms.Harrison!!
    That sucks I hate computer problems! I hope it all gets fixed really soon!😉 Oh I love shopping for furniture and when your finished you get to plop down on the couch and look at all of your pretty work! I hope you have fun!! =D
    From Theresa

    • Hi Theresa. Oh, it’s just a matter of giving the stupid thing the right thing at the right time. And then waiting for it to go through the agony of alignment. But the furniture shopping was a success. Three new things on my wall, and a couch for my office. Yay!

  5. SeattleRobin

    For the Office Olympics don’t forget the ever popular Monitor Toss. Points given for distance and style. (Bonus points if tossed through a glass window.)

    Hope you’re able to slap that printer into shape!

  6. Sandra

    I know what you’re talking about. I am an office manager at an insurance agency and I am not even remotely anything close to resembling a human of any type in the morning until my 1st cup of coffee. I have affectionately named the quick little walk and balancing act with my coffee “The Carry.” Sometimes I make it- sometimes i ruin my $40 flats and white pencil skirt on the way. It’s a love hate relationship I have with my coffee. It’s like an obnoxious relative- I love it, but I don’t like it.

  7. Kylie Ru

    My printer is out of black ink. We’ve got plenty of colored ink, though! Since I don’t think my prof would appreciate my papers being in pretty colors, I’ve had to print my stuff on campus.

    Happy hunting to you, too! xD

  8. Wahya

    JanisHarrison A&P stands for Anatomy & Physiology

  9. Joelle

    Well I know from experience that shaking a printer will not fix it. lol Have a great time furniture hunting. If you like to bring furniture back to health you could always go to flea markets or thrift stores. Or if you like to make yourself go cross eyed reading instructions and then have an all day affair with putting it together – Ikea. lol

    • Hi Joelle. No, it won’t fix it, but it’s kind of satisfying. -grin-

      Actually, Guy and I have been doing just that. Very little of our furniture is new. I’ve discovered that the Eastlake style satisfies my like for straight lines and patterns (I love Frank Lloyd Wright, but it’s too modern for my tastes to live in day in and day out) And the old feel of it satisfies Guy. So we’ve been on the hunt, educating ourselves as we go.

  10. Rick

    Something you can try (if this is a laser printer and you’re using Windows) is to change the printer driver to the HP LaserJet 4 Plus driver.

    Pretty much any laser printer from any manufacturer will work with it, and it’s a good generic driver to rule out any problems with the driver from the printer’s manufacturer. It will at least narrow down where the problem is.

    Hope you get it working!

    • Unfortunately I’ve had to use my inkjet to submit this one on because my laserwriter doesn’t handle color. But I’ll give that a go when I have trouble with my laserwriter, because I know I will. -grin-

  11. Elizabeth

    Kim,
    I definitely understand being frustrated with your printer, especially since mine is out of ink and I have to get some schoolwork done online, lol. Another thing I really understand is getting tired of looking at bare spots, wish I had the opportunity to go picture shopping for my walls. Also I look forward to when you come out with another book. Good Luck on getting your printer to coorporating with you!
    Laters, Liz H.

  12. Sounds like your printer needs the Office Space treatment.🙂

  13. lisa mulder

    Kim,
    Are you staying in Michigan for awhile? Did your kids have a problem switching schools (I think your kids are high school age, right?)
    Good luck with the furniture shopping. I, myself will be making multiple shoe/boot purchases for the fall/winter season.😉
    Lisa

    • Hi Lisa. Yes, we’re in MI for a while. Thing Two loves the school system here. He’s fitting in better here than he did at his old one. He’s happy. I’m happy. Life is good.

  14. Jenn

    It sounds like your printer is protesting….maybe you need to sweet talk it? Or threaten it? I dunno…lol…but we all know that you’ll win in the end!
    Oh furnature shopping! That’s always fun, especially when you can find what you’re looking for *grin*
    How are your 3 men doing?
    Good luck with all your races!

  15. Marsha

    Sounds like your resident poltergeist got bored with the jump drive and has moved on to playing with the printer🙂 Have fun hunting for just the right pieces of furniture, though I think your old home was better for that being so close to NC. Have a great weekend and thanks again for sharing little pieces of your life with us. *see no coffee just tea today…I can type again*

    • Hi Marsha. Oh, this is not a poltergeist. This is just plain old, every day PRINTER MAGIC!!!! The manufacturer puts in a little drop of magic goodness into every thing they make, so the printer knows the BEST time to malfunction to produce the most frustration. No poltergeist needed.

      -laugh-