4

World book is on its second polish to catch the stupid details that I always miss.  I should have it done today for the third time.  (laugh)  I did manage to remember what I did with one of the backgrounds, so I only spent a few hours on it.  It went so fast that I might make a background for the demon spell books, which would be cool.  I’m getting good at making blotches on paper.

My goal was to have this in New York by the first of October, but if I can  give it a little extra push and move the shipping date to Friday, I will have a week in which I can work on the website.  I have to get it in order for the Halloween Costume contest.  Up for grabs is an ARC of PALE DEMON.  I’m going to ask my editor if I can have a few more copies, and if so, I’ll give one away for each category, instead of one for the grand prize.  Fingers crossed.

If you want to see last year’s winners, here’s the link!

http://www.kimharrison.net/HalloweenCostumeContest09.html

26 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

26 responses to “4

  1. Kylie Ru

    Yay for Halloween! I’m going to try to be a ninja this year.

  2. That’s an awesome price! I’ll have to try and come up with something cool for a halloween costume. *checks the suggestion list made by her coworkers* Blueberry Muffin? Sailor Mercury? Dawn the Pokémon Trainer? Neytiri? Avatars have blue skin and brown hair! Not blue hair!Smurfette? Which causes me to explain, yet again, the difference between hair and skin. *sighs* Yup, I’m surrounded by dorks.😉
    I don’t seem to recall a Hollow character with blue hair. Darn.

    Random information: I’m currently editing my first ever completed manuscript (after several dead-before-the-end ones). I love editing! I’ll hopefully have it polished enough for beta readers by the middle of October. Yay!

  3. trisha

    aww that is awsome
    i am trying to figure out the cover art for the book i just finished writing well thats if i can get it published
    the cover is awesome

  4. Being a writer isn’t just about the writing, is it, Kim? Websites, background blotches, font design, and book promotion vie for time blocks, too. Luckily, it’s getting closer to October and closer to being able to dress up in our inner child (or zombie, or . . .)

    • OMGosh, Jeanie, you’ve said a mouthful. The stuff I do besides write is astounding. I blame the internet. It’s made things a lot easier, but at the same time, added to my to-do list immeasurably.

  5. Jer

    I love the cover!!!
    I am really excited about the World Book as well, when is the release date?
    I have a question about the title of your post. 4? What does it stand for?
    I may have missed something:)

  6. Cathy

    Kim,

    Just have to say that I LOVE the cover for Pale Demon… but now I’m all revved up and jonesing for it again like I was immediately after finishing Black Magic Sanction! Can’t wait!

    Best,
    Cathy

    P.S. Mendi in St L — I must agree that Hermione is a much more age-appropriate choice than the Mord’Sith (especially if you have read the book the show is based on…. hot hot hot)!

  7. Judi in NJ

    YYyyiiiiiipppeeee! It’s that time of the year again!!! Woooooot!!!🙂

  8. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    Way to go on the world book! So looking forward to the costume contest this year. I was relieved when my little bit decided that instead of a the Mord’sith, Cara (Legend of the Seeker), she wanted to be Hermoine (Harry Potter) for Halloween. That I can handle, the Mord’sith, not so much into the sewing and leather. And more ARCs to give away? Whoohoo!!

  9. Jenn

    Squeeeee!!!! An ARC? I would love an ARC! Hmmmm now what could I do to win? This is going to take some serious thought!
    I hope you get your book shipped on Friday so you can have your extra week. I know you enjoy making the web site changes :0)

  10. Zelda

    Hmmm – halloween isnt big here, BUT I might be able to do a pumpkin.

  11. Marsha

    Hum let me think. Nope, I’m even too old to portray Rachel’s mother. I don’t remember any saggy old ladies in the books. Oh wait! The horrible witch scientist that Trent hired! Yep, I might be able to pull that one off.

  12. October is fast coming on us, and this post reminded me of it. In Las Vegas (where I was born), I used to actually dislike the holiday, but moving to Indiana really has me looking forward to Fall. I absolutely love the colors. Nature has wonderful surprises for us sometimes.

    Congratulations on getting the world book done (again)!🙂 Any thoughts on offering the fonts to others (assuming they pass muster in NY)?

    • Hi Greg. Halloween has always been one of my favorite holidays. I’ve got good memories of them.

      And yes, I’d like to offer the fonts up for sale at some point, proceeds going to my charity of choice.