No one had a cell phone?

Err . . . previous rant removed because it was too snarky.  Good movie.  Lots of blood, lots of drama, but honestly, do the writers really expect me to swallow that no one on the entire friggen city had a cell phone to call for help or tell the guys with guns where the bad guy was?  And what’s with shooting said bad guy, and then letting him walk away?  You shoot him once, you follow up and shoot him again!   I went to bed with a headache I was so irritated.

Must be Friday.  I’m feeling . . . spunky!  -grin-

35 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

35 responses to “No one had a cell phone?

  1. Good day Mrs. Harrison,

    I started this post a million times over and decided to keep it simple.
    Thank you.
    Yesterday I received a whole box full of books from Tiffany (one of the Nasties, ;)) all with one author’s name on them.
    Dawn Cook.
    And, one was signed, just for me.🙂 So, once again, I want to thank you for sighing something that would travel so far. And, I would like to thank you for my friends that I have made here. I wouldn’t have met them if your writing had not inspired me to come and seek you out. I wouldn’t have gotten to know them if you hadn’t given us a sandbox of our own to play in. They have all been very good to me, going beyond the call of duty to make me feel included even though I am thousands of miles away from you all and they have really reached out to make me feel comforted in a year which has been terrible to say the least.
    So.
    Thank you.

    And Tiff, thank you again. And my other Nasties. thank you.
    Alyss

  2. Oh and….there are soooo many bad movies. ^^

  3. There is a new CD with Pink and Herbie Hancock. It’s soul and jazz and it’s just beautiful. I would love to send you the music, but I don’t know how. Oh and next year in the summer, I will visit New York with my dad. I really hope to see ya.

  4. It probably deserved snarky. That is truly what the movie industry is coming to😦 About 30 minutes into Robin Hood I was yelling similar things because it was so rife with stupidity. I hope that the day your stories get to see film, that it is via an avenue like HBO and not the hollywood grinder. (and believe me, I cannot wait)

    • Hi Vail. I missed that one, but I’ll probably see it eventually! One of the people I know wrote the book from the script, and he had lots to say about how things kept changing.

  5. Movies can be so, um, full of, well . . . it’s like when I saw “The Expendables” with Sylvester Stallone and his band of hunk-abies. It was okay and I got a giggle out of the campy attempts at “girl talk” by these guys; you know, getting in touch with your feelings kind of talk? That being said, I really did not mind the sweaty, muscle flexing bods all over the big screen. My hubby didn’t have quite the same reaction but he did think the “babe” was hot.

  6. MsRavenBlack

    I am pretty sure Ms.Harrison is talking about “The Town” Right?

  7. Sometimes snarky is good. lol I’m with everyone on this one – What movie was it? Whenever I get worked up over a TV episode or movie my son always throws out the “It’s just a TV show/movie. It’s not supposed to be real.” comment to me. I just roll my eyes at him.

    • Hi Chasingmoonlight. Guy does the same thing to me, but honestly, if my fiction isn’t believable, then it loses a lot of it’s punch. Why should I be scared/excited/nervous/thrilled if the plot is full of holes?

  8. Vanessa

    Sorry, I find this extremely funny because I get the same way about movies. I watched Wanted when it came on TV and I yelled at the television set during most of the movie.

    People think it’s weird that I love to read fantasy and I can suspend reality to do so, but I can’t do it for a realistic movie (using that term loosely). I told them that in the real world I know certain things are causal, with fantasy, there is no certain thing and it’s fun to come up with the possibilities and rules.

    Also, just an observation, sort of in relation to Mark L. Authors bend over backwards to get the facts, get them right, and in fantasy, make sure all their rules for the world make sense, but for movies, it’s seems to be less of that and more of what looks cool, and it works like that because otherwise the story wouldn’t work. Not to rant on every movie or anything, but there are many out there.

    Kind of makes me sad I missed your snarky rant. *grin* Well, just know you aren’t alone, and hope the next time you watch a movie, it isn’t so bad.

  9. Geoff

    what was the movie you saw?

  10. melissa

    LOL Kim, you totally rock. This is very often my reactions to movies. I nearly shouted in the threatre “ICE FLOATS!!!” at the end of G.I. Joe. lol. I mean, honestly, you don’t need my engineering degree to know that. Just look at a glass of ice water. geez.

    I’m very curious what movie you went to see now!🙂

    • Hi Melissa. OMGosh, that’s funny. I actually did shout “ICE FLOATS!” in the theater. The people around me didn’t appreciate me ruining their fantasy world where huge chunks of ice are sinking to crush the facility. It was just too much.

  11. JanisHarrison

    You’ve expressed one of the main reasons I don’t go to movies very often. People in this century NOT having cellphones is about as unbelievable as people in the 19th century all treating their horses like cars they can zoom up to the destination and just park ’em at the curb–not to mention all having horses…Anyway, I hope your rainy day cleaned the air and refreshed your spirit. We had a rainy day (and night) and although it’s still humid everything’s had a bath and smells so good. Onward to the weekend! Enjoy!

  12. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I am late to the party so I can only guess that you saw the Town. My rule for movies is, “Try to be entertained. Do not expect realism.”

    You should see Vampres Suck. While it’s mostly a parody of Twilight, it has a few other gags in it based on other shows like True Blood and Alice in Wonderland.

    Look for a movie called “Catfish”. The promo says, “Not based on a true story. It IS a true story.” It’s a strange story and I think you would really like it. Do not let anyone tell you the ending.

    Have a great weekend,

    V^^^^V

  13. Chelikins

    When you get this the weekend will be over. Sorry your movie left a bad taste in your mouth. Hopefully you saw a different one this weekend and enjoyed yourself.

    So when the last chick has left the roost you are going to turn into a Goose and start migrating huh? lol!

    • Hi Chelikins. I did watch a good movie this weekend. Guy popped in the latest StarTrek move where they manipulate time to open up an entire span of probability for the next couple of movies? I love the spot where Spock tells everyone what happened and so not to get bent out of shape when the books skew off the previous movies into an alternate reality. Nicely done, that. -grin-

      Migrating? You bet. Can’t wait, but I want to see some snow first.

  14. Mark L.

    Thanks for putting your thoughts out there for us to see! I have loved reading The Hollows books and have switched over to Once Dead, Twice Shy, which has been interesting.

    I think my favorite thing about your writing is your style of exposition. I love your pacing and the way you assume that I am interested, and intelligent, enough to piece it all together! Great work!

    In relation to your post – I am irritated constantly that movie creators assume that I WONT think about it, try and piece it together. I am regularly disappointed that those making movies assume that I will willingly suspend disbelief. I will not! They have to make me want to, and most of the time, they seem to just not try.

    Maybe this is why I read so much!!!!!

    • Thanks, Mark! I’m really glad you’re enjoying the Madison books. That was different for me, and I enjoyed them. I like making the reader think a little, so I know what you mean about wanting to think about your movies, too. Like I tell Guy. I’m writing for smart people. -grin-

  15. Yay it’s the weekend (soon at least)! I feel so… discombobulated today. Part of it is fatigue, and most of it (also related to the fatigue) is I have too much going on.😦 I want to get through school quickly, but 4 classes may be too much.

    In reference to your post, I get worked up about movies too. I’m sorry this one seems to have given you a headache.🙂 Which movie was it?

  16. Jenn

    LoL! I’m sorry you got so worked up over the movie, but at least it made you think!
    I hope your Friday was better than your Thursday! I also hope you had a fantastic weekend.
    Oh! I’m going to watch a crash derby on Sunday at the fair. It should be fun!

  17. Sabrina

    Hmmmm starting to wonder what movie that was. LOL Use the phrase “Double Tap”. LOL!!! And yes it is Friday!!! WOOHOO The weekend!!! Take it easy sweets!!! Have a most awesome weekend! Much love!

    Sabrina