Easy Tuesday

Monday I didn’t get out of the office until almost 9:30, but Tuesday I scampered out at an easy-peasy 6:00!  Chapter five eased through the brushing up process with little to no kicking and screaming, so I treated myself to a few hours in the yard, followed by a few hours in a chair, knitting a scarf for Thing Two.  I’m going to try to put his name on it, so we’ll see how that goes.  Sort of make it look athletic.  I need something to pick him out of the crowd, and this might help.

I almost hate to admit it because it sounds so old-ladyish, but I love to knit.  I taught myself out of a book when I was about 12, too impatient or independent to let my mom teach me.  (I wanted a Dr. Who scarf, darn it.)  I stole her needles, though.  -evil grin-  Once you have the basics down, it really can be a rather complicated, precise art, especially when you start going off pattern.  I’ve learned how to knit a tube with two regular needles instead of four or five double-pointed, which is really cool because I can make double-layered hats, mittens, and scarves with no seams at all.  And that’s where my expertise is–hats, mittens, and scarves.  -laugh-  And that’s okay with me.

This morning my back is achy, but it’s not from moving rocks in the yard.  It’s from sitting in that comfy chair, knitting.  Go figure.

29 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

29 responses to “Easy Tuesday

  1. Z's Wife

    It’s great that you knit. I love knitting – seriously. Are you on Ravelry? It’s like Facebook for knitters. There is a Hollows group over there that discusses your books…

  2. I vaguely remember starting knitting project when I was ten or so. But the clearest memory I have about that is the plastic back with the yarn and needles in it that stayed in the back of my wardrobe for years. *laughs*
    I do a fair amount of sewing (I do need to buy myself a machine) but I never took much interest in knitting. I suspect it’s because I don’t relax when I do something rather repetitive. My mind wanders all day long and the only way for me to really turn it off is to busy it with someone else’s creations. Yours do a good job at it.😉
    And I love the picture. It says a lot about the warmth and peacefulness of your home with an energizing touch of colors and whimsical details.

    • Isn’t it funny how it takes different things to relax different people? I like the repetitiveness, it’s like saying om over and over, and it lets my mind wander and organize all the bits and pieces that have been hammering at it all day.

      And thank you for your words about my home! It’s hard to tell, but the basket is really a cricket. I’ve had it for years, but it really needed a hearth to call home.

  3. Candace

    I also love to knit, but I prefer to crochet because it’s faster. My grandmother taught me around the same age that you learned- I was maybe ten or eleven.

    I hope your back feels better soon!

    • I totally understand about faster. 😉 Sometimes, it’s all about the results. That’s why I do small projects now. Little things. -laugh-

      Oh, and the back is fine. Just an hour at my desk, and it feels great. Thanks!

  4. JanisHarrison

    I have a couple of knitting projects underway and I was beginning to learn to crochet when I got sidelined a couple of years ago by my dad’s changing needs (I’m his caregiver). I hope to get back to both sometime in the future, when I have more time (and when the arthritic hands loosen up a little more–they are getting better.

    • Hi Janis. Ooooh, I hear you about projects being sidelined. I had a span of about 10 years where I didn’t pick up a needle. It’s only been the last couple of years that I’ve been going back to them. I hope you get a chance to take some time for yourself soon, even if it’s only an hour here and there. You have a very hard job.

  5. Roxy

    I love yarn and love you also have the itch to obtain yarn and do stuff with yarn!! I don’t know how to knit, but have taught myself (mostly)how to from books, online, and from a wonderful elderly lady I met for about 20 minutes in a doctor’s office.
    Also -thanks for crafting your books so well and caring about all the different fonts for Al and others!

  6. Sabrina

    Knitting and crocheting are two of the things that associate with Autumn. Ahhh, that wonderful time of year where it’s not too hot and not too cold. I’m a crocheter myself, although the only things I know how to make are blankets. I have started on several. Key word being “started”. LOL! I get bored easily and just can’t seem to finish anything. All my poor semi made blankets are all over the house including my yarn and knitting needles that I’ve only used once. It’s nice to know that you have time to just relax in front of the fire and be able to do what you love. Tea time, I highly recommend Chi tea. Warm it up with a little sugar (if you like it that way) and a little milk. One of my all time faves for when the weather becomes crisp. Much love to you and the family love!

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    When you said ‘tubes’, the first thing I thought of was doggie sweaters! Do you make sweaters for yor fuzzie little kids? I thinh Martha Stewart would love you.

    If you take requests, I’d like a black hat with ‘V^^^^V’ on it. ☺

    Tell Guy hi for me.

    • Hi Vampy. I did. -grin- And she wears it! She hates clothes, so I made her a collar about two inches in diameter, first. She got used to that pretty quick, so I made her another that was a bit longer, like a bandana, almost. She got used to that, too, so then I made a third that really looks right and will do her some good. I can’t say that she enjoys wearing it, but she will come to me to get it put on her now instead of running away and hiding.

      Did you see the Martha Stewart line in one of the pet stores? I’m not sure I like that. I never put Martha Stewart as a dog person.

  8. Chelikins

    My mom loves to crochet. She makes some aweseom scarves, hats, baby blankets. One year she made me these two hats.. I LOVE THEM.. She tries to make them stylish and does a great job at it. My neices love for her to make them stuff.

    Glad you have something to help you relax when you can’t play in your dirt!

  9. Sara

    Knitting is bad ass. I’m quite a bit younger (maybe not too much, but don’t have any wee ones or awesome novels to show for it), but want to learn knitting in the worst way. I’m pretty poor at self-teaching, only because frustration is a few mistakes around the corner. Those comfy slouchy knit hats? I sooo need one for this winter. Trying to learn deserves another go, I think.

    Your new house sounds amazing. Is that the kitchen fireplace?

    • JanisHarrison

      Sara, cruise around the yarn shops. You’ll probably discover a “sit’n’knit” group you can join and the folks there will be happy to help you learn.

    • -grin- I love to hear you say that, Sara. Give it another go. Everyone who knows how to knit had to learn, right?

  10. Sandra

    Those look like LSU colors…..thing 2 wouldn’t happen to be a Tiger would he? Totally awesome if he is. Go Tigers!

  11. Rebecca

    I’m bordering on itching to make a new scarf, especially since Fall’s hit the air here. How’s the weather change treating you so far? If you can take a weekend day off, Michigan Renaissance Festival is GREAT on the fall-ish weekends. I HIGHLY recommend Harvest Huzzah (26th and 27th of Sept) if you want to check out some local-made goods. Sweet Endings (first weekend of Oct) is great for chocolate though!

    • Hi Rebecca. I’m loving the weather so far, but it’s not that cold yet. I LOVE the crisp air, though.

      Ahhh, the ren fair! It’s on my radar already, but thanks for the heads-up on the harvest huzzah.

  12. Stephanie

    That basket is too cute!

  13. suzannelazear

    My mom knits and I am amazed. I just can’t knit or crochet. The closest I ever got was needle felting, which usually ended up with me sticking myself with the felting needle. I think I’ll avoid crafting and stick to making things out of melty beads with the tot and writing, lol.

    Have a good day.

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  14. Jenn

    I don’t suppose you’d want to share how to make mittens? I would love to make my own. I hate wearing gloves…lol :0)
    I’m glad that you had a short work day. It’s always good when that happens.

    • OMGosh, Jenn. It’s too hard to explain on paper, but if you mosie on back to the yarn area, there’s bound to be a pattern somewhere!

      I’m hoping for a short day, again. I’d love to get in the yard after this rain. It makes digging a lot easier.