Rough Monday

It was a rough Monday, but I punched through it.  The Were regestry gave me some trouble.  I had to resort to footers and headers to get it to look right, which the layout people at HarperVoyager are going to gnash their teeth at, but it was either put the information in an extended header and footer, or use text boxes, and I think text boxes in Word are the devil’s plaything.  (As in really easy to set up and use, but they move around the page as if they are possessed.)

The long nights at the desk are just about killing me.  Not because they are long–’cause I’m enjoying what I’m doing–but  I want to go shopping for some new yarn so bad I could just . . . scream.  I missed out on a trip into town yesterday because of work, and by the literary gods, I’m going to go shopping today.  I need ink too, so I can get out under the excuse of tracking down office supplies, and the yarn shop is only an exit down from where I get my ink.  (YAY!)  Road trip this afternoon !!!  I NEED INK!

24 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

24 responses to “Rough Monday

  1. Oh, hey – don’t forget that baking flour you need while you’re out! After all, eating cookies and reading a book DOES sound like the perfect way to spend some weekend time.

    Sailing to a winery sounds like an incredibly fun childhood memory. Like arriving in some magical garden! Have you ever been to Lake Tahoe? We used to go there every year when I was growing up, and there is this place that always inspired my imagination – this tiny little castle perched on top of a small island in Emerald Bay. Here is a picture – the place is called Tea House.

    I know what you mean about stuff shifting around in Word. When I work on catalog publications I’ll swear to sticking some text box or picture on one page only to find it on the next page the following day. –lol- Totally the devil’s plaything. But it turns out good after a layout person converts it for the printer.

    How was your yarn shopping? Whatcha making?

  2. Janis

    This place: http://www.knitpicks.com/ has some very nice yarn, and the prices aren’t bad!

  3. I am so frequently tricking/justifying myself in a similar manner. I think that’s the whole concept behind a mall. “I don’t have time to shop for a new video game but I really need pants. One more stop down the hall really doesn’t make such a difference once I’m there.”
    I also do it for less enthusiastic things though. My ex-boyfriend lived next to my gym. “I don’t want to get dressed and endure the cold to get to the gym but I have to walk past it anyway to get to my boyfriend’s. Might as well stop.”😉

    About your reply tomorrow, when you said you were worried about the presentation: Word isn’t the most reliable program when it comes to managing graphic elements and text. Transfering it in PDF format will ensure it stays as is, though. But then no one else can edit it so…
    Adobe In-Design is more reliable when a lot of images are involved but it’s also a bit more complicated to learn and not as widely used as Word.

    As a person who works with Word and more or less complex layouts every day, I concur that text boxes are the Devil’s plaything. No expression could illustrate it better.😉

  4. How on earth do fit needlework into your schedule? I know you say you don’t watch TV and that is when I take up my cross stitching projects. I hope you find what you want at the store. Enjoy.

    • Hi Marsha. It works out pretty good, actually. Guy is a movie junkie, and loves to watch the same movie over and over, so I can sit with him and be social with my head down over my knitting. And I always have my weekends. No work on the weekends. That’s when I get most of my knitting, yard work, baking in. Yesterday was a real treat being able to clock out early.

  5. JanisHarrison

    I partially agree: You can set up to have office supplies delivered to your door, but art/craft supplies must be searched out, handled, and selected in person. Our arts, crafts, gardening, etc., are the balance to our cerebral activities and are a very important part of a healthy life, along with good food (in moderation), exercise (but let’s not overdo it ;-}) and sleep. Oh, and love–that’s our companion animals as well as our human companions. Hope you’ve made part of today an excursion of discovery in your new community, for yarn, ink, garden gnomes,etc. And don’t forget the ice-cream cone!

    • -grin- Actually, Janis, we did find a new place to shop closer to town. I’d love to buy even more local to support my small town, but yarn can be tricky. No ice cream. We had pie instead. I like pie. -grin-

  6. Joelle

    Go out for yarn and ink, come back with new ideas. It’s a win-win kind of thing.🙂 Do you knit or crochet?

    • Janette

      Come on, you guys! If you knit or crochet you KNOW you have to touch the yarn and hold it up to your cheek to make sure it’s nice and soft. Plus what you think the color is and what your monitor thinks the color is are (as anybody who has ordered yarn online knows) ALWAYS two different things (G)!! Unless, maybe, if it’s black or white.

    • Hi Joelle. I do both, actually, as well as cross-stitch and some embroidery on the very rare occasion. It all started when cash was in very short supply, and I’d get frustrated that I couldn’t buy the nice things for those I loved, but I could by-golly make them. Now I do it for relaxation, but the same feeling of providing those I love with comfort is still there. That’s why I stick to hats, mittens, and scarves.

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I’m shocked! You can order those things on line and have them delivered to the house! You must stay home and write write write!

    V^^^^V

    PS you know I’m kidding right?

  8. I’ve been reading your blog for a few months now and am a big fan of your Rachel Morgan series. I work at our local yarn shop 3 days a week and, trust me, I know how mesmerizing the call for new yarn can be. My large bathroom closet has 5 big tubs full of “new yarns” awaiting me to turn them into projects (silk for a lace shawl, wools for felted bags, etc.) I make feeble attempts to finish what’s on me needles or hook before starting a new project but it’s difficult when there are so many pretty yarns available these days.

    Back to your blog postings: your straight forward approach to your writing process and how writing fits into every part of your lifestyle is inspiring. I enjoy your matter-of-fact tales of struggles and successes with your characters and stories. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you, Jeannie. I really appreciate knowing that you’re getting something out of my daily musings. 😉 My closet is starting to get full of yarn. Again. But it’s a happy full, yes?

  9. mudepoz

    I personally feel the magical internet was the answer to my shopping issues. No traveling, no taxes, delivered right to my doorstep🙂

  10. Yay! Go get your yarn… I mean ink!🙂

    Thank you for your reply to my frustrations yesterday, Kim. You are more than generous for lending your valuable time and experience to others. I am more impressed by you every day.🙂 (I’m sure your life is complete now knowing that. *grin*)

    I love what I’m doing currently as well. There’s just not enough of me to do it all!

    • That’s funny, Greg. We almost forgot to get it, when all was said and done. And I’m very pleased that you are finding a few things to take away with you and help you find your writing balance.

  11. Jenn

    Happy road trip! I hope you get your yarn, um I mean ink. Right yes, ink lol. So what are you planning on making with said yarn? My knitting skills extend to making wash cloths & scarves. My grandmothers would be so disappointed…they always made such beautiful sweaters.
    I hope your Tuesday is better than your Monday!