Last one is out-again!

No, not Hollows books, which will continue until the 12th or 13th, but the last Truth book, repackaged with a spiffy new cover and tag line to let people know I wrote it.  -grin-

I’ve an essay I wrote for Anne Sowards, my Ace editor up at their site, here. that tells about how I felt about re-releasing some of my earlier work.  Some authors love the chance, others cringe. Especially when it’s in a different genre than the one they “made” their name in. I think I’ve mentioned this link before, but if not, there it is.

24 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

24 responses to “Last one is out-again!

  1. Such a shiny new cover. I’ve been wanting to buy the Truth series for a while but am waiting to have time to read them as well. I have a tendency to stock pile books on my shelves; I still have a few to read before I allow myself to buy more.

    I think the re-packaging is an awesome opportunity and I like how you explain your feelings toward it in the essay. My blog is not even a year old and I found myself reading old stories I posted on it before inviting people to read them again so I’m sure they are readable. Half of me says “hum, I would have worded that differently” and the other half leans more toward the “how did I think of that?”. *laughs*

  2. Stacey

    The truth books are amazing. I love the story and how each character is so multi dementional.
    I read them as soon as I found out you wrote them and then I bought them when they came out in audio, I knew my husband would love them but he doesnt have much time to read so…
    Ive got to say Marguerite Gavin did her best work ever with this series. Especially in book three when Lodesh is on the inside of the wall listening to what the curse has done to one of the towns citizens…. Her reading gave me Chills.

    Its awesome that they found someone as talented at reading a story as you are at writing one.

    Is there any upcoming anthologies coming out with a short story written by you? ANYTHING before February 2011?? When do we get to see the Hollows World Book?

  3. JanisHarrison

    Re-releases are like reprints only more so. Congrats that your publishers have so much confidence in your work’s salability.

    It will be interesting if you all do discover a resident spirit in your MI house. I tend to subscribe to the mice theory, but you could have an insubstantial presence that you feel as a happiness about you. And none deserve it more than you!

    • Thanks, Janis. 😉 No, there is no resident spirit here despite the house’s age. (we recently found out it’s 30 years older than we thought. The original front was built in 1888, not 1910.) The house feels peaceful, though. Centered. A dip in the fabric of time that allows a moment of reflection and succor. (Okay, I gotta get back to work. That was pretty good. -grin-)

  4. Cathy

    Kim or should I saw Dawn, :0) , i just finished reading the Truth series this weekend. i started reading them when i found out that it was you. i enjoyed them and thought it was nice how you connected a lot of things at the end. I cried, of course, because I really liked the person she did not pick. but i guess that is part of life..and you can’t please everyone. New covers are good but i did like the Raku on the background. Congrats on your success! and keep on writting🙂

    TTFN
    -Cathy

  5. mudepoz

    I liked them when you came out of the closet. I’m glad another generation gets a chance to read them.

  6. Chelikins

    Love the rerelease of your earlier books! Not my style of reading but I have heard great things about them😉

    A ghost under the stairs.. that has so many possibilities!! Glad your ring was found😉

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Glad to see your earlier work is getting re-released. I think it’s a statement to just how good/popular you have become. I just wish I had gotten them earlier. Now they’ll jack the prices up. 😀

    I don’t think you need to be all cringy or anything. They all have pretty good reader reviews. Those are the ones I trust most.

    Sorry about your ring. At least you managed to put it to rest like you wanted to.

    V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy. Nawww, they won’t raise the prices. It’s mass market, and there is a range they stick to. And really, It’s okay about my ring. It was time to let it go. It just took a 2X4 to convince me. 😉

  8. Ash

    I like the essay, haven’t read the books yet but I am looking forward to it. I am also looking forward to the items I purchased from Vampiriccharms, I ordered them back in late July and August now I am waiting to recieve them patiently, waiting … Looking forward to new items, gonna have some right? 🙂 I can’t wait, I am sooo excited!
    Love your work!!!!

    • Hi Ash. Oooooh, I like your segue! -laugh- Guy has been very busy doing stuff so I can write all day, but he’s getting vampcharms back up and running-slowly. If you drop him a polite email, he might move you up the list. He’s under a lot of stress right now.

  9. Stephanie

    I’m not really big into the fantasy genre in general, but I am intrigued now. I don’t hate the genre or anything, but now I think I might just have to buy the series. You sold me.

  10. suzannelazear

    Nice essay. That’s cool that they’re re-packaging them.

    Last night was parent night. The kids did little stories and pictures about their summer vacation. Someone went to Italy. Someone went to Chicago. Someone went to Legoland.

    What did the tot write about??

    Did she write about day camp or going to the beach?

    Nope.

    She wrote about her trip to Unicornland.

    Yep. Unicornland.

    I love my tot. ~grin~

    The picture was great, lots of pink unicorns.

    Unicorn land. I like that. One day I’ll have to put that in something along with a car chase accompanied by banjo music….

    Have a great day!!!

    ~Suzi and the tot

    • Hi Suzanne. Okay, you made me laugh. Thank you! Keep cultivating that imagination, but temper it with structure so that she can make a living from it when she gets older. There’s nothing more frustrating than having a dream without the internal support structure to make it happen.

  11. Sebrina

    Congrats on your repackaged book!

    I sneezed three times in succession this morning when I woke up, and then another two times when I sat down in front of my laptop. I’m telling you this, because I thought you’d appreciate the fact I actually paused and waited to see if I had a demon of my own trying to communicate with me.