Must be edging to fall

I’m starting to get itchy to change the website.  That can only mean one thing.  I’ve got the ARCs for the next book in my sweaty little hands, and I’m starting to think about the next tour.  (yay!)

Which is kind of weird because it’s six months away, but it takes tons of preparation for me, and getting the website back in shape is one of the biggies.  I’m thinking of color, and layout right now.  How I can shift things to make the site look more professional, and still keep it distinctly “me” and easy to navigate.  One of my goals this year is going to be making the front page much smaller.  I think I’m going to move the website map to its own page, and perhaps shrink the covers down, but maybe not.  I really love my covers. That’s where the balance of professional and “me” come into play, because most professionally done websites don’t have the cover so huge and in your face.  -laugh-

The world book has sharpened my skills as far as presenting things, so it should be interesting to see how this turns out.  And though I’m talking changes, don’t expect to see any for months and months.  I can make quick changes, but I’m also famous for taking tons of time just . . . thinking . . . before I do anything.

I might have the cover of PALE DEMON to show you on Monday.   Maybe. . .  ;-)

43 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

43 responses to “Must be edging to fall

  1. Jer

    “””How I can shift things to make the site look more professional, and still keep it distinctly “me” and easy to navigate”””….KIM

    Kim
    Just keep doing what you have been doing. The site always looks great …just make it you and comfortable. That is one of the ‘KIM’ things we all love…you stand out from the rest. Individuality! You never stood in that crowd listening to people tell you who you were or how things are going to be and that is why you see things/people differently.
    However the site turns out, it will be awesome!

    Waiting for Pale Demon! Can barely stand it!
    Do you have a short story for release this year..to ease the wait;)

  2. Athena

    ARC? WANT! WANT! WANT!

  3. Antonio

    I was trying to recall…I thought part of the reason you changed colors before (adding white and BLUE) was to match the color-coding system you use when writing. Did you use Blue for BMS? Was it Orange for Pale Demon? I can’t remember…

    Hope you guys have a good weekend.😎

  4. suzannelazear

    did someone say “ARC” That magical word makes me wish you wrote steampunk so I could find some way to snag one for review purposes (I’d even share the love, lol)

    I can’t wait to see the cover.🙂 I bet it’s epicly awesome

    as for tours…well…the tot and I know you have no control but we still hope you’ll come to LA…we might even make brownies…

    Happy Thursday!

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

    • Yep, they are out, but I found out they have not been distributed yet. They are very rare right now. That will change. I think they printed gobs of them.

  5. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    ARCS? ARCS!! Oh that is so deliciously evil of you to mention! I do hope the “info” I found a while back holds up and the tour includes St. Louis next year. Oh how happy I would be, since it’s been several years that I’ve missed you. And that cover, if it hasn’t changed? It’s electrifyingly good! (Is that even a real word, if not then it should be!} I’d do the website up in those colors/theme.😉

  6. Sabrina

    Hi, Kim!

    “Totgeküsste leben länger” would translate into something like “Those kissed to death live longer”.

    Cheers!

    Sabrina

  7. I think I would actually spend a day in the Ever After with Al to have a Fall day right now. It’s been so hot Fall is a dream. One day I hope I will have some spare time and see if a “Dummies” book can teach me more about computers. Good luck.

    • LOL Marsha. I’m not sure that’s a good idea. Al knows Rachel. He may screw with her (because it amuses him), but in the end, I truly believe he actually likes her. Al doesn’t know you. Same rules wouldn’t apply.

    • Sorry about the heat, Marsha. We’ve still been hitting very low 80s, and it feels great.

  8. Ash

    Wow, Pale Demon cover, *really big grin* Can’t wait to see it. Website, have fun with that, but just remember to keep it you. And I was wondering, does anyone ever come to Arkansas for their tours????

  9. Chelikins

    Website changes!! You will do great as always. I have always enjoyed your website changes.

    Starting to plan the tour.. cool.. just a reminder.. Indianpolis and Louisville are both great cities you should visit. Louisville is right on the river.. I bet Rachel would love to visit!!😉 Anyways.. here is for hoping!

  10. Cathy

    You know Kim…..I usually like my weekends to feel long and hate when Monday comes around, but since you went and mentioned the cover of Pale Demon, I hope this weekend goes by super fast…until Monday…seems so farrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  11. Anxious!

    *Sigh* .. Waiting for Pale Deamon has got me reading all the books from first to last , wondering what troubles Rachel is going to get herself into this time around.

  12. becca

    hey kim
    ARC’S ARC’S ARC’S did you say arc’s you cruel mistress we have to wait 6 freaking months and you have the little precious’s there NOW!!!!!!
    oh please please please toss one my way…share the love go on you know you want to!
    i would be no help whats so ever with the makeover on the site totally computer illiterate!i like my colours though and iam going with sage greens with silvery whites???what do ya think?
    good luck with the changes and if you did want to give me an arc iam fab at keeping shtum!😉
    hugs
    becca
    uk

    • Yep! ARCS are in! I’ll be giving one away for the Halloween Costume contest.

      Sage greens and silver is a great combination. Good idea! (But you don’t get an ARC for it. laugh)

  13. Vampyre

    Happy Friday,

    I say that because it will be Friday when you see this.(probably) I am of course looking forward to Charlotte again. It’s been the highlight of my life getting to hang out with you, Guy, and about 300 of your most dedicated readers. 🙂 Always a good time!

    If you ever want to toss an ARC my way, I might find the time to read it. 🙂 Of course having to keep my mouth shut for 6 months might make my head explode. It’s a risk I’d be willing to take for you.

    V^^^^V

    • becca

      hey vampyre
      ive seen you lurking over at jeaniene’s site,you and your ARC’S lolllol.did you send in a name the kitty then??
      oxo

    • Vampyre

      Of course I did. I can hardly wait until it’s over so I can reveal my name for the cat. I don’t expect to win but my choice is good for a laugh.

      V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy. I’m wondering about the Charlotte stop. It might vanish and be replaced by a MI stop, seeing as I’m in the area, now. Which is exactly why I don’t like it when things get leaked. Stuff changes, and people are disappointed.

  14. Sandra

    omg! I can’t wait to see the cover for new book, I’ve got mine pre-order from Amazon and cant wait!

    It’s always fun to see changes the the look and feel of the website, can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Hope that you make it back to Houston on your next tour!!

  15. Ooo, website cleanup can be fun and sometimes frustrating. How to get everything laid out just right so it’s navigable (is that a word? Navigatable maybe… blech. Too lazy for m-w.com right now, I’ll check later *grin*), but at the same time looks compelling and is still distinctly “you”. I wish I had some advice for you, but I have precious little experience to draw from. When I was working on my website eons ago, the only advice I got from my friends was “Keep is simple, Stupid.” They may have something to do with my overthinking and overdoing things.🙂 I’m certain that whatever you come up with will be awesome.

    I wanted to ask permission to use a copy of your burning bunnies as an icon for my instant messenger. I do not wish to do so to misrepresent you in any way, but more to celebrate the idea of the burning bunnies. I think they idea is great, and I bought a pin for both my wife and myself (and she has a charm bracelet too!). Anyway, I understand if you would prefer me not do so, but I would also love it if you didn’t mind. You’re one of my favorite authors ever.

    Wow, I just re-read all that and realized… WAY too much caffeine today. Yikes!

  16. Hehe, I know that feeling all too well, though I do hope that you’re more successful than me in brushing up web pages, I’ve been trying to do that with mine for years without real success. Not that yours would need that very much, I do like the homey feeling, and one doesn’t have to click on thousands of links just to get to a small snippet of information, everything’s just there.

    I can’t wait to hold Pale Demon in my hands, Amazon Germany already has my order in the queue🙂 Please tell me that you put a juicy and dangerous Rachel-and-Ivy scene in it!

    Best greetings and huge pumpkins!

  17. Jenn

    Have fun with planning your website changes & planning your trip! I sure do hope you make it back up this way again. It was great to meet you & Guy.
    Cover art! Woohoo!!!! I can’t wait to see what you’ve got!