Vunderbar

I had a nice surprise yesterday when the German edition of Madison Avery, ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY landed on my front porch.  I had to show you, because I love thecover.  Don’t get me wrong.  I like my US cover.  It’s elegant and trendy, and it has all the right elements to tell potential readers what’s in there, but this one?  -grin-

I really like it, from the stylized cats and bats, to Madison’s punky hair and woebegone  expression of how-did-I-get-into-this-mess?  And the I in her name is upside down.  How cool is that?

39 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

39 responses to “Vunderbar

  1. Hey Mrs. Harrison!
    Still haven’t found the Madison books here.🙂 I have to say, I loev the cover! For interest, why don’t you have a hand in the foreign edition (even the UK edition)’s covers?
    Have a great day!
    Alyssa

    • Hi Alyssa. Mmmm. Maybe they will show up soon. I don’t think there’s a contract for them, though, so you might just want to go and order it from e-bay or something.

      I don’t think any author really has a say in the foreign edition covers. I kind of like seeing what they come up with, though.

  2. Avalon

    I havent been fortunate enough to read the Madison Avery books yet, I am reading required school material. Anyhow, Iv’e seen the US cover and I’ve got to say this one has a more gloomy, edgy feel to it. But, they are both awesome🙂

  3. Madison

    Man it seems like forever since I’ve been on your site, although I’m sure it was just a few days ago! ^_^ Anyway, big congrats on your german cover, it’s very cool! I’m thinking about starting to read your Madison Avery books (see if we have anything in common besides our name!). I love the Hollows books and your style of writing so I’ll be sure to check them out. Oh! and ps: don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll have a bunch of little pumpkins just in time for Halloween!!!!! 😉

  4. Very nice. The model on your American covers is lovely, but this one just looks like fun. My niece was thrilled with her autographed copy of your first Madison book by the way. I told her she had better not lend it out to anyone!

  5. Sabrina

    Uhhh, nice!!! At least we Germans can do something right with your books. Can’t translate them properly but the cover art surely is great. Like it!! Oh, and it’s “wunderbar”, with a “w”😉.

    • Okay, now I’m laughing. It’s spelled with a W? I didn’t know that. Hey, could you tell me what the title translated to? I’m very curious if they used ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY, or changed it. Thanks, Sabrina!

  6. JanisHarrison

    Missed adding to yesterday’s comments, this goes to Jen(?) re cucumbers: You can coax the vines up a trellis, I suggest a sort of A-frame with crosspieces for the vines to cling to, a cuke plant on each side. If needed you can make a “sling” for the developing cukes, out of a piece of pantyhose leg, although I like them fairly small. Keeping them up off the dirt improves their health and development.

    • Okay, I think my neighbors might talk if I had my pantyhose out slinging cucumbers. Sounds like something Jenks would say. “Hey, Rache! That’s as weird as pantyhose slinging cucumbers!” -grin- I bet it works great, though.

  7. JanisHarrison

    My resounding agreement with everyone else, the German cover is so very appealing — to me, at any rate. I also love the stylized cats on the covers of the series by Shirley Rousseau Murphy and by Carole Nelson Douglas.

  8. mudepoz

    I agree. While Madison is trendy, that cover really covers it all. Besides, retro is trendy.

  9. Krista

    This cover is SO spunky! I love it! ♥

    I was looking over your “Mad World” post. Original song was by Tears for Fears in 1982! Its a bit more fast-paced than the recent version:

    The ‘donnie darko’ version is by Gary Jules and Michael Andrews: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4N3N1MlvVc4

    LOVE your tin man. I picture him with Mr. Fish.

    • OMGosh, thanks, Krista. I took ten minutes out of my day and watched them both.
      I have to say I kind of like the 80s version, just because it’s so . . . 80s. Everything had to be up and popping. And the dancing? -grin-

      But the new version? Holy cow. That is fabulous. Gave me goose bumps. Thank you so much for the links.

  10. Judi in NJ

    See that is the type of cover that I looked for when I was a young reader. I would have snatched it right off the shelf! (still would) Love it! LOOOVVVEE it! Great for you!

  11. Tiffany

    i DIG IT! Very trendy with the stylization .

  12. I think this cover is really adorable.

  13. That is awesoem, Kim!!! Congrats.

  14. The cover looks great! Love the black details in it.

  15. suzannelazear

    That’s pretty fun. I can just see teens reading it on the train.

  16. I LOVE that cover. I love when there’s a few different covers to a book. I sometimes buy both..😛 hehe

  17. Jenn

    I like the cover very much! It has a 40’s/50’s feel to it. At least to my mind it does. I really like all the details in it as well. It’s just fun! :0)

  18. I must admit I haven’t gotten into the Madison Avery books yet. Maybe I should start those while I wait for the next Hollows book.🙂

    To the point, I like the cover very much.🙂