Kim’s Pumpkin Patch

Before I moved down to SC, I did a few years of vegetable gardening.  Beans, tomatoes, that kind of thing.  I also did pumpkins, and every year, there was more space devoted to pumpkins than anything else, until that was pretty much it.  I really got into it, hand pollinating some of them to collect the seeds and get a pumpkin better suited for the microclimate.  It was fun, and I learned to recognize which flower was going to open, put it in a paper bag, and then come out the next day and pollinate.  (You had to buzz like a bee while doing it, or the plant knew and wouldn’t set fruit.  laugh)  It was a lot of fun, and we had tons of pumpkins for Halloween.

South Carolina is too hot to reliably get pumpkins to set fruit, so this year, now that I’m back in Michigan, I couldn’t help myself, and though they got into the ground a little late and they aren’t in the sun that they deserve, I have a little pumpkin patch.  As you can see it needs a bit more weeding out.  I won’t be hand pollinating them . . .  Maybe.  We’ll see.  But in any case, they are growing pretty well.  I’m guessing another week before the immature flowers are ready to open.  More to come . . .

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “Kim’s Pumpkin Patch

  1. Hey Mrs. Harrison, 🙂 I hope you at least took the pumpkins on one date before you did the dirty.
    It’s been very warm here, prompting us to start working in our friend’s veggie patch again that a group of us maintain. Last year, before the turn of the season (just before) we planted some cauliflower. Then, we had an unexpected, flash of cold and alas, the plants just didn’t thrive. We left it all winter and then saturday, when we started to do some clearing, I discover a cauliflower as big as my fist!! It was a great find.🙂
    Hope you had and have a great day ma’am, happy writing.
    Alyssa

  2. Betty

    I’m just working at keeping a lawn alive! August in Texas is merciless heat, it was 110 degrees yesterday. I was ambitious a few years ago and grew an herb garden successfully in the little patch of dirt I could claim my own when I lived in a condo. New neighbors moved in upstairs who believed in feeding birds, and my little patch became a birdseed garden complete with birdpoo. I grew a watermelon plant at that same condo, carefully pruning the flowers so that I would have one huge watermelon. The lawn workers stole it, ate it, and left the carcass in my neighbor’s outside closet. The dead body gave it away after 3 days.
    That event was enough to discourage me from gardening for good. My family is from Missouri, and has been there since the 1820’s. They are farmers to this day, and my cousin Elaine had the most admirable pumpkin patch in Ray Co. It was the patch everyone stopped and had their picture taken with a choice (largest) pumpkin. The scent of the field was amazing on warm days. I’m only good at carving pumkins.
    Remember to put on the sunscreen when you are gardening. (Bug lotion wouldn’t hurt either.)

    I read your bio on the Barnes & Noble website, and was shocked to know someone else out there loved the movie “High Spirits”. The first science fiction book I read that I loved was “The Ship that Sang” by Anne McCaffrey, I still pick it up and read it on occasion, and I’m still science fiction junkie. The first book I remember reading was “Trixie Beldon and the Gatehouse Mystery.” I have copies of movies “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”, “The Outlaw Josey Wales”, and the entire Dirty Harry series. (I saw tgtb&tu at the Thunderbird Drive-In in the back of a 1964 Barracuda as a child, and was impressed enough to remember). You and I have a few things in common, youth on your side. I’m another irascible redhead with a wild imagination and an appetite for reading. One day I’ll get brave and write.

    When your first novel was published I was glad to see fresh blood, great character development, and original thought. I’ve been reading this genre for years, and love Laurell K Hamilton, Charlaine Harris and you. The thing I can see that the three of you have in common is humor, quirky, snort-laughing humor. I have the Anita Blake graphic novels in collection at this point and look forward to purchasing yours. Stephen King is writing in a graphic novel series too, American Vampires.

    One day I’ll brave up and write one of the dream notes up into a novel, but for now, writing on a blog will due.

    • Hi Betty.
      Oh, how discouraging with the garden. I’m so sorry.

      I’m really glad you’re enjoying the books. Thank you. You’re right that it takes bravery to start to write, especially if you’re putting your guts into it, and it sounds like you would. You should try it. You’ll be amazed at what you can do.

  3. Hi Kim!
    I make TONS of pumpkin “products” each year like pumpkin bread, pumpkin butter, pumpkin pies of various sorts ( including sugar free), and even pumpkin pancakes and pumpkin dog biscuits.

    What do you do with your pumpkins?

    BTW- I spoke with Charlaine Harris at a book signing a few weeks ago and we agreed that Kisten’s death bummed us both out….. LOL

  4. Dani

    Sounds like fun. I have a small garden I tried to get going, but my tomatoes, cucumbers, and squash decided to irritate me and grow together despite my attempts at stopping it *shakes head* my next attempt is at a witch’s garden. have the seeds and the area I want to use, just need a day off to do so *laughs*

    Dani

  5. Nick

    How did you like it in SC? I’m living there currently, the humidity is certainly different from ohio and mich =P The gardens do grow well down here as long as you keep everything watered though

    • Hi, Nick. SC was/is great. I don’t mind the humidity as much as Guy, but the summer in MI has been very warm for the area, and I’ve been enjoying it, too.

  6. Oh! Pumpkins! I think I’m jealous! *laughs*
    I’m avoiding any big fruits that require a lot of sun because they could never grow in pots on my third story balcony during a short Quebec summer. I so wanted to grow melons. *sighs*
    One day, I’ll have my house and my yard. That’ll be the day just after I become a writer. A girl’s gotta prioritize her dreams. *laughs*
    Have fun with your pumpkin patch!

  7. Theresa

    Hi Ms. Harrison! I grew vegetables with my mom we grew some zucchini from seed and by mid summer we had some huge zucchinis! I’ll have to talk her into letting me try planting some pumpkins in our garden too! From Theresa😀

  8. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    We saw what the tomatos did, now unleash the pumpkins.

    “It’s The Wraith Pumpkin Rachal Morgan”🙂

    Is your move back to MI. permanent, or are you all heading south for the winter?

    V^^^^V

    • -grin- Attack of the killer pumpkins.

      We were supposed to leave this next week. I can’t do it. Even better, Thing Two had already decided he wants to go to school here. We’re here for the winter.

  9. suzannelazear

    Oooh, pumpkins. The tot would love to try growing those (though we never did get any strawberries, lol). I hope you get giant ones!

  10. Marsha

    I have never grown pumpkins because we never lived in the right climate. You will have to keep us in the loop this fall when you have your fruit…or vegetables that is. Is the fence to keep deer and other pests out of the garden, or just because it’s pretty?

    • Hi Marsha. No worries. I’ll have photos the entire way. 😉 The fence is actually to keep Aleix and Xander from rushing every. Single. Dog. That goes by. Dude, Chi’s are not very friendly dogs outside of their pack.

  11. mudepoz

    Er. I admit. My ZUCCHINI didn’t make it this year. Powdery mildew and wild dogs (who also think tomatoes are wonderful things, first you can play with them, then you can eat them. I keep tomatoes in the front…in pots. Yes, I do have 2 acres🙂 A fun pumpkin to try is Autumn gold (an American Selection)

  12. Chelikins

    Love the pumpkins! That is interesting. I have to say.. everything you do you do it with zest! I like it😉

  13. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim,

    You have me thinking of Beatrice Potter this morning! Can’t wait to see photos of the pumpkins, love them. Pumpkin pie, bread, muffins, pancakes…mmmm!

    Take care!

  14. Mary Jeanne Blum

    I love to garden, but I’ve missed the last two years – first, because of a broken ankle and this year because of a hip replacement. My husband has been doing a good job of keeping them up, so next year I can take over again. It’s nice to see how much you enjoy it. There’s nothing better than getting dirty doing something so enjoyable!

  15. Jenn

    Pumpkins! I knew I forgot something when I did mine lol. Actually, I didn’t have the space this year. I can’t wait to see how yours grow! Will we see the jack ‘o lanterns in the fall?

  16. Melissa

    I love these posts about gardening you put up. I have a brown thumb so I don’t plant much, but I love gardening vicariously through you! I love to see the progress you make & the plants growing from sprouts to flowers. I hope the pumpkins grow well!🙂