Wouldn’t you know

I had been looking for my jump drive for almost six weeks, and I finally gave up this last Sunday and bought a new one.  I couldn’t resist when I found the drives encased in little ocean animal shapes. Some might have gone for the penguin.  As it was, I liked the turtle the best but got the colorful clown fish because it was orange, and hence would jump out at me when I started looking for it.

So I bought it, brought it home, let it sit on my desk for a few days, took it out of the package . . . and promptly found my original jump drive.  It had fallen into my hanging file folders at some point.  (rolls eyes)  Sheesh.  Now I don’t know which one to use, the new, colorful one, or the tried and true one with the bunny sticker on it and the missing cap.

25 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

25 responses to “Wouldn’t you know

  1. Julia Uz

    Yeah, I agree with the poltergeist theory; you are doing a lot of renovation.

    Stuff like this happens quite often at our house and for some time we’ve taken to calling out to whatever took it to bring it back and it usually shows up in short order and in a very obvious place.

  2. The clown fish thumb drive is really cute. I bought a bright red one for the same reason. As for loosing the old one, it isn’t age…it’s a poltergeist!

  3. In reply to yesterday, yes, sometimes 30 minutes is all you need. It was a fruitful 30 minutes too; I harvested a handful of cherry tomatoes. Yum!

    I love both of your jump drives! I’m not even surprised you don’t have the boring generic ones. *laughs* I remember buying a huge Nemo plush for my little sister the Christmas after the movie came out. I’d always think about that if I owned the clown fish jump drive.😉

  4. Hello Mrs. Harrison,

    I can relate to this.🙂 It’s Murphy’s law that the moment you replace something you thought you’ve lost, you’ll find it. If you’re looking for a vote, I’ll vote for the fish flash disk, lol. It reminds me of Finding Nemo, which is admittedly, one of my favourite cartoons.
    “Just keep swimming, swimming swimming…”😉
    Keep swimming ma’am, and good luck with your work!
    I’ve found Unbound (and therefor Ley Line Drifter). I love it.🙂 Thank you.

    Alyssa

  5. JanisHarrison

    Jump drive = flash drive = thumb drive, yes? I think they’re great, just getting into them myself, and planning to add a few more to my inventory soon. I like to have different projects on different drives so the project has almost infinite expansion capability…

    I did that with my planner/calendar. Went mad looking for it for a week, finally bought a replacement, grieved over lost info, etc. Then my sister picked up a chair (it’s a small upholstered swivel-rocker) and my planner fell out out from somewhere in the swivel/rock mechanism. Now I have an unused dated date book for 2010 that I can’t give away and don’t need.

  6. Mandie

    Hi Kim! I just wanted to share a funny story. I am a huge fan, so about a year ago I started a Twitter account under the username “The Hollows”. I never really understood how Twitter worked and never used the account. I decided to just stay on Facebook, which I can easily understand.🙂 A few weeks ago, I received a message from a band named The Hollows. They asked if I would consider changing my username so that their fans could follow them on Twitter. I didn’t mind at all because I never used it anyway. The band was appreciative and in return offered to thank me in the liner notes of their album. I said that they should really be thanking you!

  7. Madison

    Hey Kim, Horay for finding your flash drive! You can always use the other one as happy-therapy seeing as it’s so gosh darn cute! I think I’d use the one with the sticker on it since it’s been loyal to you for so long (besides hiding on you, that little bugger!)🙂 I have a few questions for you miss Kim! *ahem*😉 First I was wondering when we can expect the next Hollows book and the graphic novel to be released? I desperately need new books to read! Second I was wondering about Rachel and Ivy’s funky sleeping schedule. When do they go to bed and wake up? Just merely curious. Thirdly, I was wondering what the names of Jenks’ children are (just the named ones!). And fourthly (last one I swear!) are we going to see more of Skimmer or is she pretty much gone? Thanks so much! (and thanks for being patient with me!) I would’ve asked all these sooner but I haven’t been on for a while, and they certainly can add up! Have a good day Miss Kim!

    • Hi Madison.

      Next Hollows book is PALE DEMON, which I’m doing page proofs this very moment. It should be out Feb 22. The graphic novel is scheduled for July 2011. And Jenks’s kids will be detailed out in the world book, which doesn’t have a release date yet, but the submission deadline is roaring down on me like a train!

      Skimmer might show up again, I’m not sure . . . As for the sleep schedules? Witches prefer to wake up about eleven am, and go to bed at about three in the morning. Living vampires are very close to that, getting up at one pm and going to bed about five am. Ivy is an early riser, usually getting up around noon.

  8. Vampyre

    Howdy ma,

    I’m sure most of have ha similare experiences. Mine was with my SD memory card for my camera. Found the original fafter I bought a new csrd.

    I am happy to say I survivrf my adventure to Charleston to see Snowgirl(Ms Frost). Things didn’t go as well as I had hoped and I spent most of the afternoon lost and walking around in near 100’s heat A lot of it barefootrd bcause my new shoes gave me a bad blister.

    Once I found the store I just camped there until she arrived. We had a greattime chatting about writting, True Blood, the impact of e-books/readers and all kinds of stuff. She’s almost as nice as you. 🙂

    Now I am happy to be home. I need a nap I have to work tonight. I’m exhausted.

    V^^^^V

  9. trisha

    Kim
    thats how my luck is too i lost my jump drive that had my book i was working on , to make a long story short i found it after buying a bigger external(sp) hard drive

  10. Okay, I just had to google jump drive. I hadn’t heard that term before. It’s a flash drive. I know what that is. I buy the plastic one’s but, the last one I had became loose and stopped working. Is the bunny one in the picture plastic?

    • Hi Melissa. I think they called them jump drives when they first came out, and the term sort of stuck with me. The bunny one is just a plain old plastic one with a sticker on it. 😉

  11. Jenn

    Hi Kim,

    Were you able to use your dirt clothes this weekend?

    I’d use my bunny one, & keep the new one just in case! You know you can always find it! lol

    Have a great day!

  12. Hi Kim, that is the cutest little jump drive every.

    Thanks for all your tips on giving a panel. The room was packed with some very interesting people there. i didn’t have the vapors (which I thought might be a possibility because I was wearing a corset) and it seemed to be a hot topic throughout the conference. So, thank again for all the advice. Here are a few pics of us in costume from the panel. http://tinyurl.com/27wacet

    But as fun as the conference was, I’m glad to be home. Eventually I’ll take pics of the girls in their “thing” shirts, lol.

    ~Suzi