My dirt clothes . . .

got dirty.  ;-)

It took me all of the weekend, because I was moving _very_ slow, but I got most of my trees in the ground and the front corner garden weeded out.  I mulched it Sunday, and called it good.  Ahhhhhh, it’s finally starting to feel like my yard.  I think I impressed the guys across the street working on my neighbors driveway, working in the “heat” when they were taking breaks in their air-conditioned trucks.  (grin)

It feels chilly this morning.  They must think I’m nuts in the stores, looking for heated dog beds.  (We have two, but I want two more)  I can just hear them thinking, “Lady, it’s July.  We don’t stock those until September.”  The upside to being on SC temps?  I’m out in the yard in the afternoon when it’s 80, and everyone else is hiding from the heat.  In their trucks.  Running at the curb.

So I got page proofs for PALE DEMON this Friday, which is perfect timing.  I’ll be spending a few days on them before sending them off and getting back to the world book.  Almost done with it.  ;-)

20 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

20 responses to “My dirt clothes . . .

  1. Hurray for finding time to spend in your yard! I managed to pool a total of 30 minutes over the weekend to care for my flower boxes (fertilize, prune, gather tomatoes…) Now it’s back to overtime for the week.
    I hate air conditionning. There’s nothing weirder for me than choosing cold over a bright sunny day. But then, some might say that being in Quebec, I don’t know a thing about heat! *laughs*
    Have fun with Pale Demon!😉

  2. Lurker

    We are having some funky weather in SD right now. I go to work in the morning in the fog, and go to lunch with the temp at 85 (90 today) with nary a cloud in the sky, then I head home after work it is cloud cover again.
    go figure.:)
    Grats on the fancy schmancy yard + trees🙂

    (I refuse to let you taunt me with book news until I have said book in hand!)🙂

  3. mudepoz

    Oh good grief, what kind of of crews do they breed in in MI? Landscrapers only take time off if it’s thundering outside. When most of your money is earned from April-October, you put in the hours no matter what. Wusses.

    Okay, I DON’T move yards of mulch anymore, but it’s my age, the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak!

    So there you are with Pale Demon…
    Where are you with Madison?🙂

    • I’ve not been impressed with them, Mud. It’s taking them way to long to get the job done.

      Madison? I’m expecting page proofs anytime between now and Feb.

  4. Chelikins

    Sounds like you had a grand time in your yard. Hope you post some pics!
    It is funny about where you live and then were you move to or visit. I have had people from the north come here and when the temps are like 75 they start complaining about heat and then have had people from the south say when the temps are like 65 they start complaining about being cold. I am like.. pfft! 75 you haven’t felt heat yet and at 65 that is awesome weather.

    Glad you got your pages for Pale Demon…I am counting the days til Feb now😉

  5. My mind isn’t what it used to be. What is this world book you keep talking about? Plus, how many Hallows books are you releasing? :o)

    • Hi Valinda. I’m putting together a world book for the Hollows, sort of like a compendium or primer for the Hollows world. It’s been fun. I’m looking at a total of 12 to 13 Hollows books. Not sure yet how long it’s going to take to wrap this up. 😉

  6. Antonio

    Oh MGosh, you’re making me laugh today. I can just picture you with your big floppy hat on, running circles around everyone…I have a doctor friend who’s just like you, she wears me out thinking of new “projects” that just have to be done as soon as possible. Then after, as we take a well-earned rest, I hear about future plans that extend out into infinity. Tenacious people make things happen…I think she just keeps me around for comic relief.😉

    I hear you on “southern heat.” I was in Tampa a month ago – it gets hot and muggy here in Ohio, but it ain’t nothin’ like Florida. It felt like I was chewing on steamed air.

  7. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! Is the whole clan moving to the new house or is this like a vacation getaway? I think somewhere along the line I was confused. 🙂 2nd…would you please come play in the dirt at my house…my honey & I both have black thumbs? ~Indy

    • Hi Indy. It started as a family get-away from the heat house, but I can’t bear the thought of leaving right now. I might change my mind in the dead of winter, but I doubt it.

  8. Marsha

    I’m happy for you that you have a brand new patch of dirt to make your own. It takes a lot of hard work, but it sounds like your personal therapy sessions. I have found that I do much of my thinking while communting…makes that necessity bearable. I am already getting excited about Pale Demon, can hardly wait. Have a great day.

  9. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    With the a heat index of 111 F, 80 sounds mighty nice. 🙂

    If you didn’t find heated puppy pads, might I suggest heat rocks? They are used for cold blooded pets usually but I don’t see why they an’t be used under a regular pad to keep the ‘kids’ warm.

    This weekend I watched Stephen King’s Nightmarws and Dreamscapes and te episode “Umny’s Last Case” made me think of you. It’s about an author that manages to switch places with his main character. It made me think “What would happen if Kim could do that?”

    V^^^^V

    • I’ve seen those rocks for reptiles, Vampy, but I think I’ll stick with the heated pads. I’m sure they will have them in stock when it gets colder.

      Good premise! What would happen if Kim could do that? -grin- Kim does that in her mind every day. -laugh- The result is sitting on your shelf.

  10. Hello Mrs. Harrison!
    *waves flags and cheers you on*😀 I’m so excited for you about Pale Demon, congratulations on *almost* having another book out.🙂
    Did some horse time myself this weekend, my mate and I worked with our two boys. As I told the Nasties, I hate putting Basjan head to head with the stallion, but this saves space.🙂
    Here’s a picture of them.🙂
    Glad you had a good weekend and good luck! Show those professionals how it’s done!
    Alyssa