And the number is . . .

I haven’t set foot on a scale in over a month.  It’s not like I’m obsessed with my weight, but I’ve got a couple of health concerns (not issues or problems, just concerns that might crop up in the future) that are aggravated by weight, and I have been trying hard to keep my weight stable through the frustrating 40’s and 50’s where the female body TRIES to put the pounds on.

Some weeks are better than others.

I had gotten into the practice of weighing myself every morning, but the scale didn’t get packed with the summer stuff, and I thought it would be a great time to free myself from the daily “how did I do yesterday” routine.

Yesterday I got on a set of scales, because, jeez, if you let it get out of control, it’s really hard to win back those pounds, and I don’t like to work that hard.  The verdict?  I neither gained nor lost a pound in the month where I was not weighing myself every day.  Phew.

Now if only I could inch it the other way and just lose a few . . . more . . . pounds.  Laugh

29 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

29 responses to “And the number is . . .

  1. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    As your ‘biggest’ reader, I can honestlly say you don’t have too much to worry about. When I saw you last time, you were as little as i had ever seen you.

    When I said you had lost weight, I really meant it. It wasn’t just so you’d stand next to me for the ‘family picture’ in Charlotte. 🙂

    We have been discussing your upcoming “Pale Deamon” in your thread on Showgirl’s forum. The anticpation is intense. Just imagining those 4 in a car for such a long trip has us giiddy with excitement. I am really looking forward to it.

    V^^^^V

  2. suzannelazear

    YAY! No weight gain is a very good thing.

    Personally, I hate scales. I don’t like having them in the house. I’m finding it’ll be easy to gain weight at this new job, so i just try to make as many good choices as I can (fruit, not fries) and take the stairs not the elevator. Though i found that if I pack a little chocolate in my lunch I’m not tempted to go by a chocolate bar around 3, lol. Of course, those peanut butter crackers I eat every morning are not that healthy…if my pants start getting tight I guess I know what to cut out, lol.

    The hubby on the other hand really battles with the scale no matter what I buy/cook, but he’s a little older than me.

  3. Tine

    A month of not gaining weight is really a month in which you lost weight. As a woman hits the menopausal age, she loses all control of her body. I sometimes think the weight gain is the worst because it is not like I am eating cake all the time. It would be better if I was because then I could stop doing it in order to lose the weight.

    I found that my style of tops have totally changed, haven’t worn a turtle neck in 10 years, need as much of my chest and neck exposed as I can get away with, and have tried to perfect the layered look because I am always taking it off and putting it back on.

    Memory loss, or forgetfulness, the need to re-read some of the previous books in a series in order to be able to read the newest….sometimes is a necessity instead of a pleasure.

    I only hope that it doesn’t happen to other women in their late 30’s and very early 40’s.

    All I can say is, accept it, deal with it, and enjoy what life throws at you.

  4. Theresa

    woohooo!!! awesome for you Ms. Harrison! I just finished reading Black Magic Sanction and it was AWESOME!!! You rock and cant wait till the next one comes out!=]

  5. Sabrina

    Well, girls, most of you will say that they’d love to have the problem that I have but, I’m telling you, GAINING weight is as stressfull as loosing it. I’ve always been on the skinny side and before, I was as happy about it as you can be, being able to eat just everything without setting the scales off. But stress, mentally and physically, made me loose quite a few pounds which I have been struggling to get back for ages ( at least it seems like ages). Now, as I said, I can really eat everything without gaining much weight, so it’s eating on top for me. NO FUN AT ALL! You’ll surely laugh about me but I really don’t like the way I look right now and I want my pounds back!!! I keep working on it🙂.
    Cheers, Sabrina

    • I sure won’t laugh. One of my friends has that problem and she can’t get pregnant because she is too skinny. Since eating does not solve it, she’s on a high-protein, lots of training diet. Her body doesn’t store fat at all so the only way for her to gain weight is muscle. Until she reaches a certain weight, her body just won’t allow pregnancy because it considers it life-threatening.
      You’re not alone.😉

    • Hi Sabrian.
      I can understand how that would distress you. Hope it gets better soon.

  6. JanisHarrison

    Good for you, Kim, to anticipate problems and head them off by maintaining a healthy weight and exercising regularly. Good for the heart, the brain, and the body. Does your Guy need to be assertive about his weight/exercise, too? I know he’s got issues with eggs, how about sulfated wines, etc?

    I’m probably the poster child for What Not To Do. But I did kick cigarettes (long time ago) and I try to behave myself re eating and exercise. Some days/weeks are better than others, sigh, even though I know that just a 20-minute walk does more to stabilize my blood sugar than just about anything else. I don’t even own a scale, on purpose. Long, sad, personal story (about a mother with control issues) but the only way I just keep the monster in the closet is to weigh myself only when at the doctor’s. That’s 4 to 6 times a year — enough. The fit of my clothes is sufficient to tell me when to pay better attention to my intake.

    • That’s great you kicked the cigarettes! Congratulations. And I think I’m off the scales for a while. Like you said, your clothes will tell you. 😉

  7. Weight talk?! *covers her ears* Lalalalalala.
    Kidding!
    Seriously, it’s good that you are able to free yourself from the daily weighing routine. Hopefully, I’ll get there. Right now, I weigh myself daily on the Wii Fit for the sheer pleasure of seeing the graph go down. That “game” might not be high intensity exercise but it does wonders for motivation.
    I had a heart surgery 3 years back (I’m completely cured of that ailment no worries!) and it affected my metabolism a lot. I’ve been gaining weight ever since. I have to be very very careful with what I eat and my amount of exercise to lose weight. More than anyone else I know. But I am finally starting to reverse the process.
    I understand how hard it is to keep weight off so two thumbs up to you for achieving that. Among other things! *laughs*

    I hope all your writing continues to go as well as you hope (and better). You deserve to carve yourself a month for other projects.😉
    I’m on a sprint to finish the manuscript of my first completed novel by the end of the month. 15,000 more words to go. *feminine writerly war cry*

  8. I’m one of those people who will sometimes misplace things during thought absorbed states. So luckily, I’ve also developed a method of finding things the things I’ve lost! But wouldn’t it be nice if weight worked like that? If you could just misplace a bunch of it right off your body by not paying attention to what you’re doing? *sigh* Well, actually I’m imagining dark consequences now. Anyway, the opposite is true. But it’s been a good spring and summer for me in terms of the scale. There turned out to be a medical component involved, as an exacerbating factor, in some weight gain I experienced – nothing worrisome, but weight loss is the way to avoid it becoming so. So I’m doing the three things my doctor suggested I do, and so far so good. Some of that is hard work, but when it’s something as important as becoming a more confidant and healthier self, then it’s all worth the effort.

  9. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! The evil weight stuff. I’ve been promising myself to get back to the gym for months, but at the end of the day, I’m just too exhausted to make it. When are they going to invent that magical weight melting pill. Does Rachel have a spell for that? 🙂 BTW, this week at Bitten By Books is a chat about the Hollows. ~Indy

  10. Chelikins

    I understand you weight concern.. but just know that no matter what.. you’re awesome!

    So just curious.. are you planning on staying where you are now.. or are you going to go between two homes? I ask because I know you have mentioned more than once about…. the cold!😉

    • Thanks, Chelikins. Our plans are very up in the air right now. If it was just Guy and me, I know what we would be doing, but Thing Two is still in school, so much of it depends upon him.

  11. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!
    Way to go, must have been the moving and scavenging through your new retreat that helped keep the pounds at bay! Humm, I should go check things out on my own scale….;-)

  12. Hello Ms. Harrison.
    Hmm, lol. I know the feeling. I’ve always been very strict on my weight, and very active. Then, I went abroad and for some crazy reason picked up 40pounds (give or take). It was terrible, like being stuck in a body that wasn’t mine. It felt as if everyday that I weight myself, I picked up more pounds. It took me 9 months to gain it and two years to shake it off, lol. I obsessively weighed myself once a day (sometimes twice) but then realized that I had to stop, lol. So, now I weigh myself once a month, on a carefully worked out chart of where I am in relation to my body. That way, I know that i’m weighing myself at a time that’s constant if that makes sense (our bodies change week by week, retaining moisture for certain times of the month, making us ‘fatter’).
    Why am I sharing this? Lol. I guess to say that you have a comrade in arms and I know where you’re coming from.🙂
    Have a great day, I am SO glad that you have managed to chisle a month out for yourself.🙂 I knew you could do it. Good luck with that project which is yours.😉
    Have a great day,

    Alyssa

  13. Tiffany

    I hear ya, Kim. I’m not overweight myself by any means, but i’m not the poster child for working those extra few pounds off whenever they creep on during the winter. I’ve been on an oreo/PB&J avoiding frame of mind, and that was enough to drop five pounds over the last month🙂 So proud over the simplest of things, LOL.

  14. Jenn

    Yay! I’m so glad that you were able to keep your weight stable :0) Congrats!