Feels like Friday

Feels like Friday, which is good, because it is.  Didn’t get as much done this week as I had wanted, but I had copy edit that took precedence, and now that that’s done, I’ve got the copy edit for Madison headed my way, too.

I’ve set the world book aside (again, sigh) to concentrate on the second Hollows graphic novel for a few weeks–try to hammer out a script before August–then finish the world book before the Oct deadline.  Dude, I don’t like working this close to deadlines, but the GN was pushed up, and since I can comfortably meet it . . .  (urg)

Had some fun last night, and went with family to a music festival.   It was a perfect slice of Americana.  It looked like a freaking movie set, you know, when everything is perfect before the aliens land, or the plague breaks out, or the two-headed alligator comes out of the sewer.  Oh, the ideas I can find in the streets of small downtown America.  Something is simmering in the brain.  Can’t wait for it to come out.  -grin-

I’ll be taking a few days off from the post page for the 4th of July.  So eat lots of hot dogs and chips.  Watch the fireworks.  And if you write, watch the people.  That’s where the strength of your story is.

–Kim

30 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

30 responses to “Feels like Friday

  1. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I love the Fourth. It’s just so USA. It embodies all that is good about us in a unique way. When I think of it, it is my perfect summer day…then the aliens come.

    I had an idea for an Madison Avery title for you. “Dead Eye For the Live Guy” 🙂

    Tell Guy I said Hi.

    V^^^^V

  2. Tiffany

    I can totally see it – white picket fences, sprinklers clicking back and forth over perfectly cut grass…and then the two headed alligator emerges! -grin- Awesome! I can’t wait to read what bubbles up out of that creative simmer of yours. Speaking of virus outbreaks, my mom was telling me she has taken to carrying around a sweatband in her purse for when she gets hot flashes. She had just gone clothes shopping and broke out into a massive sweat at the register and pulled it out and put in on while they were ringing her up. We laughed ourselves into tears imagining this from the cashier’s perspective – a comedy on our end meets the start of a Fringe episode on the hers.😉

    I hope you had a fun and relaxing holiday weekend!

  3. suzannelazear

    Happy 4th of July! I am enjoying the three day weekend. I needed some time to recharge. We took the tot to see “the last airbender.” We also went to the marina to see fireworks. There’s nothing like sitting on a dock watching fireworks over the water.

    I hope you and your family had a great holiday as well.

    ~Suzi and the tot

  4. Happy 4th of July ma’am,
    Hope you had a good weekend.😉 I certainly had. My horse is fighting fit and I had some fun writing.
    Good luck with the rest of your projects. We’re all rooting for you.😉
    Have a great day,

    Alyssa

  5. I hope you and your family are able to be together this weekend for the 4th. I know your oldest has joined the Marines so please let him know how much your readers appreciate his service to our country.

  6. Jamie from Nashville

    Hey, Kim! Happy 4th…

    Just wanted to pop in to say “Thanks!” for your help in deciding what I needed to do today – go out and ‘people watch’ to get story ideas.

    See, I flew up to Philadelphia, to spend time with friends, and the plans didn’t work out as we had hoped (construction/contractor drama on their part). So, I woke up in my hotel room, wondering if I should just grab the remote control and crawl under the covers for the day or go check out the sites on my own. Looks like I need to find some sunscreen!

    Hope you have a great weekend and get some rest – sounds like you definitely need to ‘unplug’ for a while!

    Much love and warm wishes to you and yours,
    Jamie from Nashville

  7. Happy Independance Day, American folks!
    Here we had Canada day last Thursday so I’m currently enjoying a three days weekends that might turn to four; I’m waiting on feedbacks from American clients and they’re all out of the office Monday so…

    I just sank my teeth into the first Madison book. Yay! About a hundred pages in and loving it!

    I think all writers find a bunch of ideas hidden behind everyday stuff and street corners. I started writing what I call “Absurd Fables” on my blog and they are all inspired by seemingly inoffensive facts about my friends or things they have said. Your burning bunnies actually made a guest appearance once.😉

    Last bit of news – gosh, I think I’ve missed this comment thing – the NaSties and me have just celebrated the 6 month anniversary of NaStyRoMo! We are actually talking about a month-long celebration in August… NaStySuMo (or National Story of Superhero Month).
    And this is all your fault!😉

    • Thank you, Aheila! I’m glad you’re enjoying Madison. She’s kind of quirky.
      Yay on the burning bunnies! More people need to know about them. -laugh-
      And very cool on the Nasties. Congrats!

  8. Linda (germany)

    Hey Kim
    Been a long time since I wrote in here. But in Facebook,right?^^
    You really got me confused with your answer about book nine😉

    Will we see Skimmer again? ’cause after she killed Piscary, I think she deserves an other chance.
    And I would really love to see Ivys sis again. I love her ^^

    • Hi Linda,
      I’m hoping to see Skimmer, but I’m not sure. The books kind of dictate the story line themselves, and I never know for sure what’s going to happen until I write it. Same thing with Erica. Maybe, maybe not. 😉

  9. Ann

    Have a great weekend.

  10. Enrique

    My question is: When is the Graphic novel due to be on the shelves?

  11. Just Angie

    This makes me laugh – I like how you think. I do the exact same thing when ever I’m out and about in our little town. Ideas for stories are every where. Except usually my go-to are zombies. When ever I’m trapped in the line at Wal-Mart, or stuck behind some guy in an ancient pick-up doing 30 down our main strip (speed limit is 45-grrr!), I imagine hoardes of zombies coming down from the hills, all climbing over the Bojangles and the Dairy Queen to get us all.. Well. Maybe not all of us – Just the dudes doing 30😉.
    I’m a newbie to your writing and I just wanted to say that I think it’s great. Seriously great. I hope that you and yours have a wonderful and safe 4th.

    • Hi Angie,
      Zombies! I never quite got, zombies, but very cool.

      I’m really glad you’re enjoying my work. Thanks. I hope you had a great holiday, too.

  12. Dustin Amann

    I actually have a question about one of your books… I just recently started reading the Hollow’s series as I presume it is called because one of my clients told me to start reading it as he found out that I was pretty much obsessed with vampires… the fact that I live in Cincinnati is a good reason too. But anywho in the book “Every Which Way But Dead” I didn’t really understand the ending that much… not the solstice part but the part where she got pulled through the Ley Line by … that’s sad I forget his name alread … and is left there and Newt finds her … I didn’t really understand where the agreement came into place by her… I understand that she accepted it but didn’t see what she had agreed to on it or when she had accepted it. I was just wondering when she had said it… I know I pay too close to detail but that is the story of my life. If you could please inform me on this… I even tried to ask my friend but he said it had been so long since he had read them that he didn’t remember exactley what I was talking about. But I do want to say good job on the novels… Im not an avid reader but you defenitley have me hooked… On “A Fistful of Charms” right now and almost done with it… Have “For a few Demons More” ready to go once I finish up! AWESOME WORK!

    ~Dustin

    P.S. I didn’t know if there was another place to put this comment if it’s in the wrong spot just tell me where to go. Im sure I will have more questions in the future. Thanks again.

    • Thanks, Dustin, I’m really glad you’re enjoying the Hollows. Very cool that you live in Cincy.

      You asked about the agreement between Newt and Rachel? Rachel agreed to owe Newt a favor in return for Newt jumping her through the lines back to reality. That’s why she has a mark on the bottom of her foot.

      Hope that helps.

  13. JanisHarrison

    COT is sort of a milder version of the name of an infamous dish served in the military, creamed chipped beef on toast, which the soldiers and sailors promptly dubbed “sh*t on a shingle.” I guess it was pretty vile…

    Happy 4th to all US observers! Looks like my area (Seattle) will be soggy and quite cool. I don’t know if summer will actually ever settle in, although we’ve had a whole 3 or 4 days above 70 degrees F now — not in sequence, either.

  14. Judi in NJ

    Hi Kim!! Hope you enjoy the weekend..I think we East Coasters are in for a beautiful one. Hugs to “Guy” & family. p.s. Did you coin the phrase: crap on toast? I seem to remember a question about that phrase (maybe it was a different one?). Another author used a more profane version of COT in her debut novel & I naturally thought of you. Well gosh, that didn’t really come out the right way, now did it? Uugh..have a nice weekend…..😉

    • Hi Judi. I don’t really know where it came from. I’m sort of thinking I had a friend in HS who used it, and it just sort of stuck in my brain.
      Hope you had a great weekend!

  15. You got to admit. There is nothing like a 3 day weekend.

    Enjoy your weekend! Look forward to Next week.