Ready for some office work

Okay, I’ll admit it.  The weather was so fabulous yesterday that I cut out of the office early and played in the dirt for most of the late afternoon and into early evening.  But now I’m tired, and sitting at my desk sounds like a great idea.  That’s not to say that I didn’t get anything done on the world book.  I did, and I should be wrapping chapter five up today.  Yay!

So, outside I’ve been working on an old area that was overgrown with some greenery.  It was scraggly and nasty looking, so I went with that, taking the moss from the yard and the rocks from another project, and trying to make a miniature scene.  Heres a little chunk of it.  It’s still a work in progress, and I don’t have my three-dollar plant in yet.  Maybe this weekend.

14 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

14 responses to “Ready for some office work

  1. mudepoz

    You know, there ARE ways of getting more plants that preclude shopping for them. *KOF*

  2. Antonio

    Wazzup?

    How did Father’s Day go for you guys? Last year, my neices and nephews got me a blue snuggie. This year, I was hoping for one of those annoying South African World Cup horns – the VUVUZELA. Have you heard them?

    “BWAAAAAAAAAA!!!”

    It’s like the soundtrack for some horror film:”Attack Of Giant Killer Bees!” I figure I can use it to answer telemarketers who call me during dinner. Maybe I can walk around my neighbor wearing my blue snuggie, blowing on my “vuvuzela” like some deranged town cryer. “It’s 8 AM and the Henderson’s still have their Volvo parked on the street!”

    “BWAAAAAAAAAA!!!”

    Here’s a sample:

    • lol – You just reminded me that I recorded the thousandth voicemail that “my vehicle’s warranty is about to expire” onto a voice memo thingy so that I could play it for telemarketers! Usually I don’t answer if I don’t recogize the phone number, but the next one that wakes me up on Saturday morning … I’m going to try to sell them a warranty – or some household stuff I don’t want anymore.😉

    • Now, imagine waking up to that. Or hearing it when you work. Or hearing it when you ride your horse. Or when you’re driving down the street. Or stopping at the gas station. Or everytime you turn on the television.
      I dislike them.
      Intensely.

    • *laughs* that said – I can always send you one…

  3. Josie

    Despite the fact that you are busy with writing, you still have time for gardening. I’m so impress with your indurance, patience and perseverance. I hope i have those qualities but no. After 12 hours working in the hospital i find walking more to my liking, it clears out my mind and body from stress and can day dream about IVY and RACHEL together, hehehehehe.

  4. Marsha

    I love mosses and Hostas, our old house had plenty of both with all the trees. This one however has way too much sun everywhere. We are trying to work on that by planting as many trees as we can. The rock garden looks gorgeous. Have you thought of adding some kind of water pool among the rocks for the birds?

  5. Tiffany

    That rock looks like the perfect spot for sitting, thinking, and enjoying life in your peaceful forest garden. With all the beautiful microcosms you’ve shown us, I imagine the whole of it is amazing. It must feel great to walk through it and see what you’ve created. So when do we get to see the three-dollar plant that inspired this rearrangement?
    Enjoy your weekend!

  6. Hey Ms. Harrison,

    *laughs* Nice rocks,😛 what is their growth cycle? Do you have female rocks and male rocks or are they all of both sex? What are you going to do to keep them from reproducing (spreading? Growing?) or do you want baby rocks all over?😉 Good luck with your world book! I hope that you can finish it quickly, so that you can leap back into your other projects.
    I hope the weather continues to be great, here – it’s freezing! We’ve had snow in various parts of the country. It was -1 Centigrade in my room the other night.
    Have a great day,
    Alyssa

  7. JanisHarrison

    My gosh, that’s a gorgeous, naturalistic scene. I can hardly believe you shoved rocks around, transplanted moss, etc. But yes, I do see spots that could hold a little shade-lover or 2…The problem with gardening is there’s always something else…

  8. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I’m happy to see you are enjoying your chance to get out and work in the garden. i hope you manage to ‘adopt’ that $3.00 plant this weekend. 🙂

    With temps way up in the triple digits already, followed b afternoon thundrstorms, I am quite happy hunkering down in the house.

    There is only one thing I like about summer here in the deep south, matinee movies. My local theater opens around noon instead of four PM. That is Summer’s one redeaming virtue to me.

    I dislike about everything else Summer has to offer here. It’s way too hot. My grass grows faster than I can cut it, Every plant, bug and animal i encounter seems to be after my blood. S.E. Ga, can be a very hostile enviroment for the ill prepared.

    It is safe to say I like it a lot better here from the end of September to around the end of March. It’s easier to stay warm than it is to keep cool.

    I’d like to say that I finished, Early to Death, Early to Rise and I really enoyed it. I think you have another winner on your hands. 🙂

    V^^^^V

    • Vampyre

      PS

      I had an idea for the next Madison title…”Dead Eye For the Live Guy”.

      It even rhyms with the other 2 titles…sort of.

      Maybe “Death’s Eye For the Live Guy”? Oh as an extra added bonus, it gets “Guy” in the title. 🙂

      V^^^^V

  9. Stephanie

    I hope you didn’t move those gigantic boulders by yourself! Looks beautiful, though!

  10. Good for you! I sneak out of my home office to garden every chance I get. The boulders you have there are awesome. In my suburban San Diego yard, I’m excited when I find a rock bigger than my hand!

Leave a Reply

