EARLY TO DEATH, EARLY TO RISE out!

I’m traveling today, so I’m going to keep it short.  Tomorrow, EARLY TO DEATH, EARLY TO RISE hits the shelves, so I hope that it shows up in the stores.  This one doesn’t have a drop date, which means the store can put it out early, and dilute the first week’s sales, or not put it out at all that first week, which doesn’t do anyone any favors, so if you’re looking for it and can’t find it, (it will likely be in the young adult section) go ask them to dig it out from the back.

Signing etiquette.  I know you’ll ask, so here it is!  ;-)  Even thought I’m out pushing Madison, you are more than welcome to bring your Hollows, or even the Cook titles.  I fully expect to see more Hollows books then Madison, so you will be in good company.  As for how to handle the lines?  Here’s my SOP.

Signing etiquette:  It varies from store to store, but this is what I like to do. Because of long lines and long series, I’ve had to start to structure how to handle those of you who bring in the entire series and anthologies for my signature.  I will happily autograph with your name and a personalized note two books, then just sign the rest of the pile.  Or . . . I can personalize the first two, and you can get back in line for another two, and so on.  Or . . . bring your friends and have me sign/personalize books to you through them. (It’s sneaky, but okay.)  It’s the note that slows things down, and I can sign my name all friggen day long and not get tired.  -laugh-

Most stores do not mind if you bring in books that you have purchased elsewhere, but if you do, they appreciate it if you buy something, anything, while you are there.  The cold fact is that if they don’t make sales while I’m there, they likely won’t ask me back, so please take the time to acknowledge that they have invested a bit of money in asking me to visit your area if you are not purchasing BLACK MAGIC SANCTION at the event.  It doesn’t have to be my book, but trust me, they keep track of sales during an event.

The pictures are from the walk my mom and I took this weekend.  Guess where I got my love of wild stuff?

25 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

25 responses to “EARLY TO DEATH, EARLY TO RISE out!

  1. Pamela Moss

    Ooooh I’m sooo excited about the Madison book! I just came home from school, and I’m running out to the closest bookstore to get my copy!😀
    I’m counting the days until June 6🙂 I’m going to the San Diego signing! Can’t wait for it! I’m glad you are accepting the Hollows books as well!
    I can’t imagine how tired your hand will be at the end of the signing if people really do take their whole collection of books!!
    I’ll just take the latest Madison and Black Magic Sanction ^-^

  2. Now how did I miss the comments open on this one? lol.
    Hey Ms. Harrison,

    No need to reply,🙂 I know you’re busy. Just want to say that it looked like a good walk and a beautiful place. I just want to wish you save travels.
    One day I’ll become a groupie, lol.😉

    Hope you’re well!
    Alyss

  3. Diana

    Sadly I won’t be able to make it to Atlanta to see you. Hopefully I ll get to see you one day in Columbia. Do you ever get to do any local book signings? Thanks for allowing me to enjoy your awesome series. Me and my friend used to work in a bookstore together many moons ago and we were completely shocked to find you were the same author as Dawn Cook. =D

    • Hi, Diana. I will likely be doing a local signing in Rock Hill in November, so maybe there? I try to keep my excursions clustered around a release, but will make exceptions occasionally. That’s cool you used to work in a book store! 😉

  4. Tessa

    Hope you travel safely! while in Allen TX give a wave for me, i will be in chigaco.. and when you are in chicago, i will be back in texas!

  5. Lurker

    since I have all your books, Ill likely buy some other one. Should I just tell them Im there buying a book because you’re in town, or will they just get the hint?🙂

    Have fun on the trip. I’d say pack light, but um, you prolly already know that hehehe

  6. Tiffany

    Hi Kim!

    Cheers to the Madison release :-)  Wishing you safe travels and enjoyable times on your Canadian tour!  Are you headed back home for Memorial Day weekend, or are you staying on the road for some sightseeing?  I’m really looking forward to meeting you, so I can hardly wait for the 6th!

    I love the picture you took of what used to be a huge tree.  That’s the kind of stuff that reminds me of my childhood – we did a lot of camping growing up, and my sister and I always would play in the hollowed out trees, pretending they were boats or doorways to time travel :-)  Good times.  Cool title for your pic – not only for the shell of a tree, but it totally looks like a giant muscle shell. *grin*. Like the ocean made a visit to your woods there😉

    • Thank you, Tiffany! I’ll be home for Memorial Day, and I’m not going ANYWHERE!
      Okay, now I’m smiling. I thought I was the only person who made archways into time portals.

    • Tiffany

      🙂 A free standing archway, especially! Anything in it’s absence…the doggy door in the garage tucked way back there behind forgotten junk, the little space at the top of my closet connecting one side to another. LOL …Ok, I’m really trying not to talk your ear off! Hope you’re having fun!

  7. Shanda

    Hi Mrs. Harrison. Wishing you a safe and fun trip!! I’m still hoping to come out to one of your signings one day🙂

  8. Duffman

    Kim,
    Is the new Madison book coming to the Kindle at any point? I will be so sad if it doesn’t i really liked the first one.

    • Thank you, Duffman. I’m glad you liked it. I can’t imagine that it won’t go to Kindle soon. There was two months of flexing muscles, and now it’s smoothed out.

  9. Kristin

    Hey Kim it has been a while for myself to post anything but I just found out that you are coming to Houston on June the 4th… That is soooo cool because my B-day is June the 5th…. I can’t wait to come and see you.. Also one question can we take pictures with you???? If so get ready too smile or just (grin)….. Later Gator…

    Kris…. P.S. Have fun times one your trip and becareful there are alot of crazy peeps out there….

    • Hi, Kristin.
      Happy early birthday! That would be very cool to see you. And yes, pictures are totally okay. I like to sit at the end with a chair for just that reason.
      Guy is with me this trip to fend off the crazy peeps, but really, you guys are great.

  10. Sandra

    That’s so sweet of you. These are the kinds of questions that a person wants to ask, but then chickens out because it seems rude. That’s super cool of you.

  11. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! Its been awhile since I popped in, but life has been crazy. I found an abandoned american eskimo pup on my way to work, and now we are working on integrating Gizmo into the family. The little man can be quite a handful, but too cute to get too mad at. 🙂 I think that’s a puppy’s main defense, cuteness. Anyway, I’m slow on the reading, but I’m lovin’ Black Magic Sanction. Plus, looks like I’ll be seeing you in Chicago. I am so happy its a Saturday signing.~Indy

  12. Antonio

    Hey, you and Guy have fun on your trip.😉

    Saturday, I was visiting with a friend, enjoying a cold beverage on her front porch, when a raccoon casually walked into her yard. It was broad daylight and he wasn’t a bit shy about climbing up her tree and stealing the suet cake from a cage attached to her tree! He was quite brazen about it, stealing glances at us like a child currying favor, not in any hurry, not a care in the world.

    If your mom is holding down the Rock Hill fort in your absence, has she been fully informed of scavenging raccoons?🙂 Be Good!

    • Thanks, Antonio! We’re taking it one day at a time.

      Wow, that is one bold raccoon. And yep, my mom knows about the raccoons. She was on her way out to bring in the suet when I called her Monday night.