I’m ba-a-a-a-ack!

Hey all.  I’m back home, and trying to settle down after a very intense trip out to Portland and Seattle.  :-)  As you can see, spring is popping up all over here.  This is my bloodroot, which has been in the ground about three years, rescued from a building site.  (I asked)

One thing I’ve noticed over the years of flying out to Portland in late Feb early May is that Rock Hill and the northern west coast seem to have spring at exactly the same time. the same trees are flowering and the same bulbs are up–which is weird because they are at vastly different latitudes.  I’m sure it’s because of that warm coastal current.  And one last thing.  It was sunny in Seattle.  Again.  (laugh)

Pictures and YouTubes are up at the website of my events at Powells, Third Place Books, and Fort Lewis.  Fort Lewis was especially fun because I’d never gone on a base before for a signing, and I was suitably impressed, but I have to

apologize for any mix up.  My itinerary said 1300, and I think I put on my website that I’d be there until 1:30.  (rolls eyes at self.)  Pacific, East Coast, Mountain, Central, and now Military time?  It won’t catch me off guard again.  -laugh-

I said that I’d open up a page today to answer Black Magic Spoilers. Here you go.  Enjoy!

58 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

58 responses to “I’m ba-a-a-a-ack!

  1. SeattleRobin

    I got the photo of the cover and title page of Black Magic Sanction that you signed for me at Third Place Books scanned today and converted onto my Kindle. It turned out better than I expected! I’ll take a picture of it and get it up on the web so other e-reader owners can see what I did in case they’re interested in trying it out themselves the next time you go on tour. It’s great to finally have figured out a good system for author signatures when I don’t have the physical books anymore! Thanks for going along with an unconventional book signing.🙂

  2. Hey ma’am,

    It’s good to have you back!🙂 I lived with a woman last year and the year before who loved gardening. Whenever I showed up (quite randomly I have to say) she would first take me on a tour of her garden. I used to really look forward to it, though I’ll admit that then and now gardening wasn’t something that interested me. She said that it came with age.🙂 The more mature you get, the more you have time to sit and wait for years (in your case) for results.
    As a ‘youth’ I’m an instant coffee kind of person. lol. I always expect the same thing in my garden as well. Or other people’s. lol.
    Have a good day Ms. Harrison,

    Alyss.

    • mudepoz

      Alyss, my parents are the kind that believe food comes in cans and tidy packages. When I was five I asked for a cactus. We moved around the country and my dad made a little windowbox that sat on the back ledge of the car, with more cactus. When we finally settled, I got other houseplants and tried to put in gardens. My first job wasn’t babysitting, I worked in a greenhouse.
      So…Stick it…gardeners are seldom made, they’re born:)

    • Hi, Alyssa. I’d go along with that thought, though I was always one for planting seeds. When I was younger, I’d plant them and walk away, letting them fend for themselves. Now I defend them vigorously. -laugh-

  3. Nancy

    Totally off topic but this is my first post and I have no idea what I’m doing. Anyway, here goes….

    Can you tell me more about Al? Details! Details! Details! Ok, I know I can’t ask about what’s in store for Al’s future and to be honest I really don’t want to know. I like the thrill of waiting for it. What I’m looking for are those finer points that may have been mentioned once but never covered in depth. For example: what is his hair color? How tall is he? What’s his body type? Oh, and I’d be interested to know your thoughts on Al? Where did he come from? Was he always meant to continue on or did he just kind of show up like he does with Rachel?

    Bottom-line, I need more Al!!!

    I’m not obsessed….Honest!

    Thanks,
    Nancy

    PS…Hope I didn’t derail the topic at hand. Pretty flowers😀

    • Hi, Nancy. This is exactly what the post page is for, so no worries!

      You want more about Al . . . See, the funny thing is, that I NEVER said what color of hair he had apart from it being dark. And about the only other thing I describe a lot is his hands (thick and blocky) and his teeth. That’s exactly the way I wanted it because his character shifts and changes. It’s part of his makeup. But I bet that most people have a good internal visual on Al.

      He first showed up as a walk-on, walk-off character, but obviously that didn’t happen. He was there in the first book, and I see him at the last. -grin-

    • That’s okay, Nancy-san. I’m obsessed with Al, too.

  4. Hi Kim,

    That must be so exciting to see the stuff that you planted three years ago spring into life from dormancy. What an interesting plant bloodroot is too – it looks like both this and the Hepatica you mentioned the other day are threatened or endangered species in some areas. How cool that you were able to successfully transplant all these into your yard! I can’t wait to see what comes up next! Did you rescue anything else?

    I love seeing all the pictures you post from the events – everybody looks like they are having a blast. As for the sunshine? This is from a Seattle climate data site: “For March 1 – 28, there have been twelve days with cloudy sky conditions, fifteen days with partly cloudy sky conditions, and one day with sunny sky conditions”. I can only guess that it followed you all the way from SC😉

    • Hi, Tiffany. I get a lot of satisfaction from plant rescues, but I only take from property that is going to be cleared because sometimes moving a plant can be deadly, especially in the south with its extreme heat. I have an Indian Cucumber that I rescued last year that I’m anxious about. No sign of it, yet, but it’s early.

  5. I woke up this morning and it was snowing. Again! I’m tired of all this white stuff. I’d rather have you picture’s white stuff!😉

    It sounds like you had an amazing trip! It most be tiring/nice to meet all the fans.

    I read your posts last week but didn’t have much time to respond. I’m very tired these days and suffering from blood pressure drops. I have to go through another series of test in the hope of finding out what’s wrong with me. I hate having troubles to concentrate because of this.
    I’ll try to close my eyes forcibly and wish it away, just in case.

    I fell behind in my objectives for my novel but at least I kept up with my yearly story on my blog. My number of loyal readers is increasing… and they mostly come from here!
    So thanks again for bringing us together!

    • Jenn

      Aw, Aheila…I hope they figure out your blood pressure soon!
      As for the weather, we’re supposed to get into the mid 20’s here so I’ll try to send it your way as well!
      Feel better, darlin’!

    • Hi, Aheila. I’m sorry your having health issues, and I hope it’s all good news from here. That’s the nice thing about writing. It will wait for you. 😉

  6. Scott

    Hi Kim!

    I just wanted to thank you for the autograph. I had a friend that was at the Public Library conference pick it up for me. I had hoped to get up to Portland to see you, but it wasn’t to be🙂 Keep up the good work! I love the books and I’m getting people in my office hooked on them too.

  7. suzannelazear

    Sounds like a great trip!

    My dad’s still in isolation the hospital. The tot and I are hoping he’s out of the hospital by the time we leave to visit (Friday) since she wouldn’t be allowed to see him in the hospital.

    I’m still feeling sick, but I’ve been hit with a lot. And well, Steampunkapalooza kicks off this week on my group blog and so many details are still being hashed out and it’s gobbling up a lot of time and energy. An entire month of steampunk guests, prizes, and mayhem. What was I thinking?

    But Marsha made me the best flyer in the world for it.🙂

    Have a great week!

    ~Suzi and the tot

  8. Phil

    Sounds like you had a successful trip! I posted a comment a day late for your last post. Dunno how i missed it. First i was thinking jet lag. Then i remembered that only works if i’m on the jet.😉

  9. lizzy

    My cousin was stationed at Fort Lewis. We thought it was a nice area when we visited him there. Hope you enjoyed it. The best soldiers are stationed at Fort Lewis (well maybe I’m a bit biased)

  10. marsha

    Military time, now that takes me back. They also write the date differently, and I had the hardest time “unlearning” how to do that when I stopped working for the Air Force.

  11. mudepoz

    IT’S SPRING IT’S SPRING!
    Kim, Small flying things are about! Almost born on my birthday
    http://www4.uwm.edu/letsci/biologicalsciences/falcon/
    http://bird.biosci.uwm.edu/webcam/birdcam/

    • Very cool! Those pictures of the male bird making a shallow scrape for nesting were great (though at first glance I thought he was dead)! Bird courting is so interesting – did you see the segment of Planet Earth with the birds in New Guinea?
      There is a large bird in a tall pine tree near me that I’m trying to identify. The underneath of it is very dark with white stripes on it’s spread wings and tail, and a golden red belly. My best guess is a Red Shouldered Hawk. Anyway I love seeing it fly around – when the sun hits the red on it’s chest it is really striking.

    • Tiffany

      Is this the campus you work at? I’m fully prepared to launch a Steven Colbert style campaign to get this bird named after you!😉

    • Jenn

      Is that an egg I see in the foreground? Very cool btw!

    • mudepoz

      Egg, yes. Bird named after me: No. Messy things. I get to pick up any leg bands that fall around the nest box. Lately they’ve been leaving my boss love gifts at the greenhouse.

    • Mud! Thank you so much for posting that link. It is way too cool.

  12. Chris

    Well. Ninja Monday got me today! Our autistic son was allowed back on the van to school if he wore a harness. He panicked last week and tried to open the van door while it was moving. So I got to attach the harness to the seat which of course meant trying to step up into the van, crouching halfway over to move to the rear, trying to squeeze between the seats, reaching over, up and around to fastening hooks. I think I just undid all my previous therapy. Just great. 🙂

  13. mudepoz

    I want my wildflowers. My poor tulips were crushed under the live animal traps. Tall Dude does not get the concept that if there is bare ground, it probably is a garden!

    OK, so one tour down.

    Anxiously twiddling thumbs for announcement of Madison’s tour :p

  14. Chris

    Good Monday Kim,
    We’re happy your made it through the western part of your signing swing in one piece. I hope meeting the men and women who put themselves in harms way daily went great. I have so much respect for the people who choose to keep us free–no matter what is happening in D.C. If I see a vet during my daily travels I always try to thank them for their service. I can’t tell you how delighted they are to hear this. It is my opinion that combat vets dhould never have to pay for health benefits or housing once they return home. It takes a special person to do that type of job.

  15. Patricia

    im glad it was sunny when you came to Seattle and Fort Lewis,because its been raining hard for the past 2 days now,lovely washington weather hehehe…military time can be a bit confusing sometimes if you are not used using it…..now i think its time for a well earned break on your part,relax and enjoy your time with your family

  16. I’m glad you are back safe and sound! So, I asked my spoiler question. It’s about Al. Big surprise there.😀

  17. Antonio Rich

    Welcome back! (Grin)

    When I was in the book/magazine distribution business I had military accounts, big and small, all over Ohio. Here in town(Dayton) we have one of the biggest Air Bases in the world (Wright Patterson Air Force Base, as well as the 2nd biggest Air Museum in the world, I think Germany has the biggest)–Anyway: Wright Pat had 6 different places on base where they sold mags/books and the main BX had a very impressive book section–they even had a seperate section for Sci-Fi and Fantasy! It’s so cool you went there! Some of these bases are so impressive(not to mention the people who work on them) What did you think of the place and the people?

    • Jenn

      Hey Antonio, I have an uncle how lives in Deleware! Is that close to you? Sorry, I’m in Canada & have no idea…lol

    • Antonio Rich

      🙂 You are adorable. I am decidedly NOT close to Delaware. Phil is probably w/n a comfortable afternoon drive from your uncle, but I’m a good 10-hour drive west of him in Dayton, Oh. You should visit him this summer–Rehoboth Beach is supposed to be really nice.

    • Jenn

      We probably will visit him this summer, we always at least try. He lives right at the back of a golf course & he & my hubby go & play a round…lol

    • It was an amazing experience, Antonio.

  18. Shanda

    Hope you have a good and relaxing week. It’s funny that you mention planes and the different time zones. I’m going to start a new job soon and it’s going to require some traveling. How do you deal with the jet lag?

    • Relaxing? Ha! I’m trying to cram five days into three, and it’s not going too well. Frustrating. Jet lag . . . Unfortunately jet lag hits me very hard, and just about wipes me out. I have no advice for you at all. Sorry. Good luck with the new job!

  19. Hi there!
    I am glad to hear you made it home safe and sound. Your bloodroot looks lovely. I can’t wait to get back to Cinci and start planting my garden. Nothing grows in TX!
    Anyway, I’m glad to hear you did a signing on a base! I’m sure all of the troops appreciated it. I know my hubsy said they always liked seeing famous people visit, even if they had never heard of them. Oh, and don’t worry about getting military time mixed up, I have been married to a Navy man for 4 years now and I STILL can’t figure it out! HA!

  20. Jenn

    I’m glad you’re home safe & sound. It sounds like you had a lot of fun.

    Military huh? Does this mean that something will be set on a military base in a future book? That might be kind of interesting🙂

    Sunny in Seattle? It was sunny most of the time we were there too but we still couldn’t see Rainier. It was covered the entire time we were there, so we told Andy’s mom that we didn’t think it existed & was just a figment of her imagination…lol

    Hope you have/had a great Monday!

    • marsha

      I remember years ago when we lived in the area how beautiful it was when it seemed to be just floating in the air. I do hope there isn’t so much polution now that you can’t see it anymore.

    • SeattleRobin

      That’s really too bad you didn’t get to see Rainier when you were here. It’s a truly magnificent sight on a clear day. Around here part of how we judge the weather is by stating “the mountain is out” or “the mountain isn’t out”.😀 (The former expression is often preceded by an “Oooo!” Hehe.)

    • Jenn

      Lol, I’ve not heard of that one before! But it sounds like a good judge🙂

    • Hi, Jenn. Actually, I have the first 100 pages of a military book written, but shelved it when the Hollows took off. I might get back to it someday. Maybe.

      We didn’t see Mt. Rainier either on this trip, but let me assure you that it is there, and it is beautiful. 😉