Kim Reads

The link to the radio program I did while in Minnapolis is now live.  Here’s the page it’s at.  Write On. To find it, just click the arrow at the listen icon or download it to your machine.  I’m not first up, so don’t think you have the wrong program if that’s not me you’re hearing right off.  Mine starts almost halfway into the program, and you can skip ahead if you want.  ;-)  I had fun doing this, and it starts with me reading the beginning of chapter two.  Enjoy!

And have a great Friday!  The adjusted pencil sketches came in yesterday for the graphic novel (summer 2011) and I’l be working on them today.  Yay!

–Kim

65 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

65 responses to “Kim Reads

  1. Hi Kim!!!!! This isn’t really in relation to your post, but I wasn’t sure how else to contact you. I ordered Black Magic Sanction, it got here two days ago and I finished it yesterday. FANTASTIC!!!!!! Oh my god by far one of the best books yet. Are you definitely going to write another one??? Because the way you ended it could be deemed as a possible end of the series and it worried me. It’s by far my most favorite series, I could go on for hours about how you bring so many usually untouched questions of moral ethics and crossing lines that we have in a our daily society, but don’t discuss because it’s taboo.

    Also, I’m dying to see more Trent. If you’re writing another book, are you going to discuss their relationship more? I see real potential there compared to the other guys she’s been with.

    Love your books!
    Addie

    • Hi, Addie.

      This is the right place, yep! I’m so glad you liked BMS. Thank you! You’ll be glad to know that the next one is well in hand. (I’m doing the rewrite this month) and there are 12 to 13 planned. Trent will be there. Oh yeah. 🙂

  2. Jenn

    Hi Kim,

    So I had an eventful weekend…my hubby has been away so, I worked my OT on Saturday morning & then had a friend stop over with her tot…we had a good time…she wanted a book, so I gave her DWW! On Sunday morning, I got up & finished WWBC again…sigh…I’m trying to hold out on really getting into BMS, but I am into chap 2. Gpt an email this am from my friend…she stayed up to 1am reading DWW!!! Now she is demanding books 2 & 3…
    Just thought you’d like to know!

  3. Hi Kim!

    Hope your weekend was great! It’s been cold and rainy here, and I’ve been happily curled up under a warm blanket with your book – it’s fantastic! I’ll probably be unable to put it down and go to sleep tonight until I finish it😉

    The interview was great, by the way! I especially loved hearing you read.

    • Thanks, Tiffany. It was one of my more interesting interviews, I think. And thank you! I”m glad you’re enjoying the read.

      I had a great weekend, actually. Got out and raked the back yard, and enjoyed the sun. Ahhhh.

  4. Robyn

    Congratulations! Another awesome book – I think the best yet! As soon as I opened the book, I was immediately back in the Hollows with friends. And the I could love you scene was PERFECT. I don’t know how you think up all the crazy situations for Rachel, but bravo! I only have trouble now not asking people if they have been sniffing fairy farts. I can’t wait for the next one! More Trent and more Al. I love ’em because we aren’t sure if we should trust them, love them or run from them! Thank you for doing what you do and sharing it with us!

  5. Antonio Rich

    Just finished The Decoy Princess, and I really liked it! I got it for a friend (Grin), but I couldn’t help reading it first. It was my first Dawn Cook book.

    Question: I saw an interview with two authors recently and they agreed the two biggest complaints they ever got over their fantasy books were over guns and horses! I wondered if that was true with your Dawn Cook stories?

    • Hi, Antonio. Cool! I’m glad you liked it. Thanks. Different, isn’t it? I really like the magic system in that one.

      Actually, I’ve not gotten many complaints at all over the Dawn titles. People just kind of take them as they are. Or maybe I got the horse part right? (laugh)

  6. The cover from “Dates Fro Hell” … is that Ivy?

  7. Hey Ms. Harrison! (And every body else).
    *grin* I can’t wait for the graphic novel. That’s going to be so much fun. Do you think you’ll do another one after this? Or am I getting ahead of myself, lol.
    I hope you had a relaxing weekend! Mine’s been good so far, I’m working my last day at my one job today. It’s a relief knowing that I won’t have to be up at 4:30am again for a while…
    Have a good one!
    Alyssa

    • Hi, Alyssa. There is another one planned, yes, and I should start writing it soon.

      I had a great weekend, thanks! Finally got into the yard. happy sigh.

  8. Thomas McNeill

    Hey Kim,
    I got my copy of Black magic Sanction and finished it allready,my wife is reading it now and I LOVED IT as usuall,but then it hit me,,,,,,,,O.M.F.G. now how long do I have to wait for the next installment?Do you have a working title yet?I must say though, [edited for spoilers]
    There are times I want to grab Racheal by the shirt and shake the hell out of her saying”For Gods sake would you just calm down and go with it allready”?But,thats what makes her her.
    I allready can’t wait for the next on,or maybe anouther Jenks/Biz collabaration.When does the grafic novel come out?Jeesh,,,,,,I’m allready going into withdrawals again (grin) but I loved,Loved,loved it.

    • Lurker

      lol. And now you know why Im taking my time!

    • Hi, Thomas. Thanks! I’m glad you liked it! We do have a working title, but I’m not yet ready to release it yet. (Me, superstitious? Nahhh) It won’t be out for 12. Long. Months. But there is the Madison book that will come out in late May, so it’s not like I’m sitting around, taking it easy.

      The GN comes out summer 2011, and I’m actually working on that today. I might have more art soon.

  9. I just finished listening to your interview. Interesting, as always.

    It’s funny how most authors refer to their characters as if they had their own will. And as I write more and more, I realise that they do. I’m working on the rewrite of the first half of my novel project and the main character, whose core quest is to help another character, yelled at me “I don’t want to do it. I am not helping that guy.”
    “The story is about you helping him. You don’t have a choice.”
    “Well, I need a better reason than what’s in there, then!”
    “You know you’re going to feel guilty as hell if you don’t help.”
    “Right! Now give me pages to say that the reader or else, mark my words, I AM NOT DOING IT!”
    I ended up adding a whole chapter to coerce her into doing what she needed to do.

    You’re story about Rachel not being ready to get involved with someone else reminded me of that. Sometimes, what you want the character to do just feels wrong.

    Have fun with the graphic novel!

    • Yesterday, I read some pages of my manuscript I hadn’t read for about a year and laughed my abs into a six pack. They still hurt. I didn’t know I could be clever and funny. This re-read just boosted my confidence.
      My friend, to who I was reading out loud, told me to shut up and get out of the way of my subconscious. Which is basically her way of saying “let your character do the talking, they’re priceless.”

      Who would have thought writers had to obey their characters! *sigh*
      That’ll teach us to come up with strong independant women.

    • That’s exactly it, Aheila. It’s really our subconscious telling us what needs to be done, but saying that it’s the characters telling us what to do is easier. -laugh-

      Congratulations on the story. It sounds like it’s going really well. 🙂

  10. Phil

    Oooh, graphic novel stuff. Exciting. I hope your weekend is fun and restful. I just finished a paper for Eng. Lit. I will get back to BMS tonight.

  11. Kylie Ru

    Yay for graphic novel progress! I’m chillin’ this weekend for the most part. Seeing as last week I had to study for a bio and chem test, and write a lab report.

    Have fun, Kim-san!

  12. JanisHarrison

    Antonio Rich: You exhibit some of the traits of my male primary character. Playing so nicely, indulging the niece, you are one cool uncle!
    SuzanneLazear, your tot is also a very cool 5-yr-old.

  13. Chris

    Kim,
    Congrats on landing at #3 & #21. Hope you are enjoying a well deserved rest amping up for the next installment of the Hollows, and you are right the HOLLOWS ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(do I forsee a like named t-shirt?)

    • Thank you, Chris! I had a great weekend with my folks, and even got the back yard raked. It felt so good to be in the yard working. It’s been a long winter.

  14. Marsha

    Have a great weekend. Our weather down here is starting to turn beautiful and I feel like a turtle coming out of its shell. I hope go and the puppies get to go out and enjoy.

    • That’s exactly how I feel, Marsha. It’s early spring, as far as I’m concerned. Cold, but spring. My bulbs are coming up, and the dogs helped me rake the yard.

  15. Joelle

    Hello Kim.

    Just wanted to say thanks again for being able to come to Cinti on the book tour. It’s great that you are so down to earth with the fans. I remember the first book signing I went to where it was you and a little table in the front of the book store. Now – wow, you have really come a long way with the Hollows – deservedly so. I tried to read BMS slow but that didn’t happen. I loved it. And Congrats on the NY Times Listing. Was there really any doubt😉 ? Thanks for writing.

    • -grin- I remember that, too, Joelle! I think I did four stores in Cincy and KY that day. It’s a little more structured now, and a lot more fun.

      I’m glad you enjoyed BMS. Thanks!

  16. Sue, Chicago

    Hey Kim! I don’t know if you’ve had time to keep up with the spoiler page, so I just wanted to say here how much I enjoyed BMS. It has become my new number 2 favorite of all your books. (#1 being EBD — You know I love my Kisten!) Even though I pre-ordered the book, it seems as though Borders and the USPS conspired to have me on pins and needles for a week. I got the book this past Tuesday and sat up until 3:30 a.m. to finish it. Now comes the long, long wait until the next book. I am sooooo looking forward to seeing how you resolve certain issues brought up in this book and see what other trouble Rachel can get into!

    One question, when we pre-order books, do those sales apply to your first week sales for the NYT listings? If so, I’m glad to be able to help you out. BTW, Congrats on number 3!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Hi, Sue. I’m glad you posted here, because I am not keeping up with the spoiler page AT ALL! 🙂 I’m so glad you liked BMS. Thanks! it’s one of my faves, too. 3:30am? Yikes! Hope you’re rested again. And to tell the truth, I’m anxious to find out how certain issues are resolved, myself.

      Presales apply to the first week of sales, so yes, they really boosted my numbers. Thanks you!

  17. Sara

    I just finished Black Magic Sanction (the lovely husband ordered it from Amazon and it arrived yesterday – yay!) and it was suitably *awesome*. I would’ve stayed up all night last to read it if possible, but I settled for sitting in the sunshine today to finished the second half. Holy crap are you amazing at keeping things going! I felt like there was less down time in this one and there were several times when I was so immersed that the hours just flew by.

    Without giving any spoilers I must tell you that “that one part, you know” was hysterical and I nearly went into fits with laughter.😉 Still no spoilers to say that I loved seeing all the characters that we did, it was just the right amount, and was sad about others not being there or being less. Can I do vague, or can I do vague? Good job as always and does anybody else feel a little empty when finishing a new book? Like everything is going to continue on and you’re left out going “what now?” I needs that next book in my grubby fingers!

    • Frederique

      I feel exactly the same way when I finish one of the Hollows books. I feel kinda empty like I just moved really far away from my friends.

    • becca

      yup i feel just like that its as if the story(there lives)go on and iam left in the cold not know what there doing……oh how my imagination gets going…….

    • Thanks, Sara. I know exactly how you feel when you say you feel empty when you finish one. That’s why I start right into the next. I’m so glad you are enjoying it. 🙂 Thanks!

  18. Christopher

    Hey Kim!!

    I’m almost thru BMS and im loving every page of it!!! and i STILL wish you would come around the Jersey area, id love to go to a book signing!

    I do have a question for ya tho, and im sure this was asked a bunch of times but i was wondering if you could choose actors to portray the characters in your books, based on how YOU see and describe them who would you pick? I understand if ya dont have the time to sit there and see who could play every character lol … Anyways keep up the fantastic work!!!!

    Sincerely,
    Jerseys Christopher!

  19. Frederique

    Wow Kim you have been super busy. I’ll check out the interviews from home (I’m on my work pc at the moment). I have now successfully gotten my coworker as well as my sister stuck on your books🙂

    I think I’m going to reread the series again since I’m too sore to really be able to move at the moment lol. I got my butt kicked by a personal trainer yesterday and now it hurts to blink.

    It took me 3 evenings to read BMS and all I’m going to say is I need a time machine to get me to next year so I can read what happens next. Thank you so much for creating the world of the Hollows and sharing it with all of us.

    • Thanks, Frederique! I’m glad you liked it. 😉 Let me know if you get your time machine fixed. I could use it myself. And than you for getting your friend and sister hooked. I really appreciate it!

  20. Tina Loflin

    Dear Kim.
    I read BWS in two days–and am planning to read it again. I saw, on the Charlotte OBSERVER, that you had come to Charlotte for a book signing….and I was so frustrated: I don’t drive, and you were in Charlotte, where I could have gotten the chance to meet you–! AARGH.
    Would you ever come to Salisbury, to one of our bookstores here–like the Literary Bookpost–for a signing? Then, all I’d have to do(especially if it were a Wednesday or a Friday–the days I can use RITA( the minibus that will pick me up and take me where I need to go) and get to the store to have you sign one of the books that I have…would that be possible, one day?
    I’ll bet there are many people who would love to meet you but don’t–or can’t–drive to the places where you are. Sigh. Missed you again! OOoh, well. Nest time, I really hope so!
    Hugs and love,
    Tina

    • Oh no! I’m sorry, Tina! That would have been great to see you. I will probably be back next year, though, since I live like thirty minutes from Charlotte. Next year!

  21. Tee

    I’m pretty much feeling the same way Judi is…there is a certain ‘day after Christmas’ lull making me down. However, I think I’m gonna go back reread the series. Of course, I could stop procrastinating and do some writing, but meh, it’s my birthday next week and I feel like indulging myself a bit.

    Have a great weekend!

  22. Judi in NJ

    AAaaaahhh Kim! Finished BMS last night!! <<>> It was fabulous. But honestly, now it feels like the day after Christmas.😦 Last Tuesday was SUCH a happy day! After my WWBC re-read, I took BMS out of the B&N bag & just held it; gently stroking the cover, smelling the newness of the pages, and preparing for another fantastic trip to the Hollows. I had to force myself away from it during the last 50 pages or so, just so it wouldn’t end; torn between I can’t wait to see what happens/not wanting to let go of the warm fuzzies. SIGH. How do you do it, Ms. Kim? It is incredible how you can make a COUGH 40something COUGH woman cry, laugh OUT LOUD, and become so intensely attached to characters in a book. You are amazing. My boys think I’m nuts, and maybe I am, but what a way to go off the deep end! No other books come close to the excitement yours bring. Thank you for another great ride. Charlaine Harris’ quote on the cover hits it right on the head!! Can’t wait til next year. Enjoy the weekend..hope you get some well-deserved rest. Big wave to “Guy”!

  23. suzannelazear

    Happy Friday! Oooh sketches. Can you post more for us? pretty please? I want to see Jenks. 🙂

    I’m taking the tot after school to the Huntington Gardens today (think big private botanical garden with “themes” — japanese, chinese, kids, rain forest, etc). The tot asked for a membership for her birthday so we can go whenever she wants. The hubby was skeptical, but it beats a DS, an american girl doll, or any other toy in that price range that 5 year olds want and never play with (like the wii they got for xmas and never use). And, well, if the tot wants a year of speical trips to the gardens with mommy, I guess i have to make the sacrifice, lol (it is a lovely place). She understands that we can’t have high tea in the rose garden tea room *every* time we go–and one day she won’t want to hang out with mommy all the time so I’m going to enjoy it all I can now. She also wants to see Alice in Wonderland–I have to read up on it before I take her, but man oh man are they pimping it hard on the disney channel.

    Happy Weekend.

    ~Suzi and the tot

    • Antonio Rich

      Suzanne–I have to laugh. Yesterday I got an AmericanGirl Spring catalogue in the mail. I often spend hours online w/a neice on my lap cruising WebKinz, DisneyOnline, and AmericanGirl.com…Kim has boys–she’ll never know the panic of searching EBay 2-3 weeks before Christmas looking for “trundle beds” and “styling Chairs” or “Bubble baths”(the dolls can’t even be washed w/water!?)

      Interesting, KIM–www.AmericanGirl.com has a Chinese-American doll named IVY with shoulder-length black hair, black eyes(no whites–she looks like she’s vamping out) and she COMES WITH A CHINESE COIN replica that looks like her “Wishing Coin!?”

    • Random information: My company did one game for AmericanGirl and a huge bunch for DisneyOnline!
      I’m one of the people behind the curtain of your niece’s playtime. Lol!

    • Antonio Rich

      Aha! I should have known. Your reach extends everywhere! Have you ever done anything for BarbieOnline? That’s another site I spend alot of time on(rolls eyes)🙂

    • Not that I know of. We almost did a website and games for what would have been one of Barbie’s competitors but the project was cancelled.
      Disney is one of our big clients though, along with Nickelodeon, Warner Bros… *thinks* … Cartoon Network… Hasbro… Mattel… I guess we do have an extended reach!😉

    • Jenn

      Antonio, I went to look at the Ivy american girl…she’s perfect!
      Aleila…you’re so smart! Have you ever had to do any work on Tink? grin

    • Lol, Jenn! Just doing my job!😉

      I haven’t worked on Tink but my company did do the Disney Fairies website! I just wasn’t working there yet.

    • Hi, Suzanne. Oh, no! No Jenks in the graphic novels. They take place before she quits the IS.

      That’s great you’re spending so much time with the tot. 😉

    • suzannelazear

      LOL Aheila, the tot likes to visit the disney faeries site and play games on go disney.

      Antonio, that is so funny. The tot has two american girl dolls–Elizabeth and Kit. She, too, loves the crazy accessories. If you live near an american girl place you should take your niece there. You can have tea (they provide a seat and cup for your doll), get your doll’s hair done, shop in their gi-normous store…

      Kim, the best thing about being unemployed is getting a chance to really be a mom. i wouldn’t trade it for anything!

  24. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    Ahhh! This interview gave me my Kim reading that I missed on tour. Lovely talk by the way. Enjoy your weekend, hope your weather will be as nice as ours is going to be!

    • Heyde-ho, Mendi. 🙂 Yep, I got to read a little. It took me two times, but I got it. -laugh-

      I had a great weekend of raking the back yard. Bliss. It was bliss.

  25. BECCA

    just listened its cool,so strange hearing you speak,you speak how you write lol.
    oh go vote over at BITTEN BY BOOKS weve got rachel facing off against anita…who would win??
    go team rachel!!
    have a relaxing weekend,youve done the hard work😉
    hugs
    becca and co
    uk
    xxxxx