First of the “promos!”

I don’t do very many interviews these days, but my publisher sends me the odd request timed around a book release.  Now that we are in the two-week “chute” they will start to show up.  Here is the first! I talked to Joanna Dykhuis from Schuler Books and Music, Lansing MI, where I will be Feb. 27, 3 p.m. (schulerbooks.com) Witches are a Piece of Cake.

My Superbowl weekend went great, and though I’m not a big football fan, I did watch the game with Guy and Thing Two.  Made pretzels.  Ate too much.  (grin)  Pre-game events included shopping, and I picked up a small piece of luggage I’m anxious to try out.  Got my nail appointment set.  Found two new pairs of black pants and discovered the magical world of “Hem them while you shop.”  I think I’m almost good to go.  (laugh)

–Kim

73 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

73 responses to “First of the “promos!”

  1. mudepoz

    I was thinking while rereading a book. First, I don’t WANT to think when I read, it ruins the book (unless I was supposed to think, in which case I’m not reading it at home. *Kof*)

    Your work flows. It doesn’t jar me with inconsistencies or things that are totally impossible. If it doesn’t occur in this world, you’ve set it up to work in THAT world.

    Some of the science fiction isn’t working anymore. I look back at Star Trek, and after 40 years, we’ve only just come into the communicator (Clam shell cell phones). Still don’t have (ph) lasers, but we do have laser sights, and we sure don’t have Starships (and won’t, since the shuttle program is dead WAH).

    Authors have to come up with incredibly credible objects that are unique, and won’t become obsolete within a book. And for the most part, they aren’t. Tech is just moving too fast.

    Which leads us to fantasy. It’s set now, a parallel to here where the supernatural exist next to the natural. The natural laws remain, but are augmented.

    If the story is crafted well (Kim, Faith, Vicki, and a bunch more lining the walls of my library) it works, and will work long into the future.

    Enduring. Not necessarily classic enduring, but at least they’ll be fun in another forty years.

    (Ok, this only came up because the space age has died, long live the digital age.)

    • I hear what you’re saying about the decline of SF, Mud, and it hurts a little. It’s getting harder and harder to dream that one day we (personally) could be among the stars. When your 12, you believe anything will happen by the time your 40, but alas, we have not reached far enough to even pretend anymore, and the old dreams have gone stale in the telling of too many times.

  2. Wow! It sounds like my kind of weekend.
    Personally, I wrote most of the time. I also got together with coworkers to indulge in some dork times and play Arkham Horror. It’s board game where the players (as a group) attempt to take on one of Lovecraft’ Ancient Ones. We very nearly killed Cthulhu. But I died of madness twice in the process.
    I guess I have a predisposition.😉

    I’ve noticed that a lot of people are referring to NaStyRomo. If you are curious about the final stories, or if any readers of this blog are, I put up a compilation page to keep you from the daunting task of tracking everything down. I’ll keep updating it until all stories are in on the 14th.
    http://thewriteaholicblog.wordpress.com/nastyromo/

    Oh! And I love the cemetery photo! Very Rachel-y! The interview is great too. But, and I don’t mean to be rude, hasn’t the interviewer mispelled Rachel? It kept distracting me…

    • Hi, Aheila. OMGosh, she did! I didn’t even notice that. (rolls eyes) I’m glad you like the cemetery photo. It’s kind of old. I need to get out again.

      So you died of madness twice? (grin) Sounds like my kind of game.

  3. Don’t you think that intro is a bit too spoilery? I’m getting jittery about spoilers as the BMS closes on, since i won’t be getting mine sooner than a MONTH. That would also mean i should stay away from here once the books is out. *sigh* I like it here. I like the domesticity you carry over to your posts.

    • Hi, Ezgi. Compared to the rest of the book? Nahhhh. I am going to set up a spoiler page for you guys, but I’d be wary of reading anything here until I’ve had a chance to respond and edit out any spoilers.

      You like the domesticity? (grin) Thanks! It’s what keeps me sane.

  4. melodee

    hey kim,
    glad your weekend went great! my son and i both are excited about bms and so i will be getting 2 of them for us ; ) that way we’re not fighting over who gets to read it first. i love seeing the pics of your dogs they’re to cute. my cat died on sat so we didnt have the spirit to do the super bowl thing this year.well hope all goes well with the bms tour and hope you can come by idaho it would be great.

    • Hi, Melodee.

      I’m so sorry about your cat. I can see why you ignored the super bowl this year. That can really hurt.

      Idaho? Maybe someday, but not this year. 😉 I hope you and your son both enjoy the read! Thanks!

  5. Jay

    Ate too much? Yeah, that about covers it here too! hope to get to the Schuler books signing, relatively close to home. Northern MI boy.
    It’s hard for me to picture any kind of end to Rachels story. It isn’t so much like a story to me when I read the Hollows. More like just getting to watch Rachels life as a fly on the wall. You have the ability to make these stories seem so real that I look over my shoulder at the grocery store the next day! I think that’s the best part for me, the realism.
    Thanks for writing Ms Harrison, your job makes my free time a LOT better.

    • OMGosh, Jay. I do the same thing in the grocery store, the bank, the coffee shop -grin- I’m glad you’re enjoying them so much. I’m going to miss Rachel when she finally kicks me out of her life.

  6. The magical world of “hem them while you shop”? As a shortie, that sounds like a magical world I must get to know! I got a funny vision of you walking around a store with one of those handheld sewing machines, sewing and walking at the same time😉 That was more hard work than magic though, so I’m revising my vision to werechipmunks using handheld sewers on your pants while you shop, and you conveniently able to pick them up in the bushes near where you parked in just under an hour😉 …OMG, the Zombie Prions from NaStyRoMo are eating my brain!

    I have some questions about this part of the interview: “…her one true love was a vampire named Kisten.” My question about that is… ok I might save my question for the day at BBB (and no, my question about that has nothing to do with Ivy) – but in the meantime, I’m just wondering if that is the way the interviewer put it, or if those are more or less your words?

  7. Hey Ms. Harrison!

    Two weeks. *sighs* lol. I’m so jealous of everybody, lol.😛 But – I’m very glad that you are very excited about the tour! Time to get into Kim Harrison mode?🙂 It’s great. I’ve never had problems with my pant seems (save for being too short), lol. I’m quite tall… But, I know a couple of people who’d love the concept.
    And yup, I’ve got two puppies (geriatric puppies now…) and quite a few other babies, lol. I run an at home zoo…😉
    Have fun! Good luck with the week and all the excitement of the release! How does it feel? Are you scared? If that makes sense.🙂
    Anyway, have a good one.🙂
    Alyssa

    • I’ve been thinking about the interview (as I couldn’t sleep, lol) and I want to say firstly, it was a great interview. Secondly, I think I’ve decided why your books are so popular and why you have dozens of crazy and obsessed fans flocking to your website to ‘meet’ you.
      As you said, you write about people and – despite the supernatural element, there’s something very human about your books. As i’ve said before, it’s like going home and sitting with friends when you read it. Their emotions and sitsuations that they get themselves into aren’t always all that different from what we do (even dealing with demons, lol, you just made it a physical being). You have something that we can identify with and – people that we can put our faith in if that makes sense. We can hope that they make the right decisions, we can see when they don’t. Despite the fantasy, you;ve succeeded into creating something so very real. It’s a gift. Thank you.

    • Hi, Alissa. Am I scared? Nahhh. I’ve been doing this for a while, and I’m getting used to the schedule. Guy comes with me now, which he didn’t the first few times out, and that makes it a lot less lonely, and it can be lonely, even with all those lovely people I’m eager to meet. The time is separated into blocks of intense “on” time, followed by empty “alone” time that I need to psyche myself up for the next event

      But scared? No. I am going to get to meet some of the people that I’ve been talking with here, some I’ve met in previous years and recognize. It’s like a coast to coast family reunion, and I really enjoy it.

      Thank you for your words in your secondary post, Alyssa. I really appreciate them.

  8. Katiekate

    Hiya Kim! just wanted to say love this series! re reading all the books again to get ready for black magic..I just wanted to say I hope Racheal ends up with Trent, I feel that are on parellel lines and are keeping up with each other and (in my mind) they will connect at the happy ending phaze. I just wanted to get that off my chest as there are alot of bucks viing(sp?) for big reds attention. Big love from Canada. oh and i’m a cheeky 4″11 hemming pants IS my nightmare, maybe thats why I love jenks so much or maybe i just like to say tinks titties….

    • Yeah! If we get more Canadian fans, we might be able to teleport Kim here for a signing! (What? Aren’t dreams allowed any more?)

    • Hi, Katie. Thanks! I’m really glad you’re enjoying the books. Rachel and Trent? We’ll see. Book nine will settle that once and for all. We’ll see more of him in BMS, too. 😉

      I’m 5’4, and I never felt short until they took ten inches off one cuff. Sheeesh!

  9. suzannelazear

    mmmm pretzels. The hubby was working so the tot and I went out to lunch and shopping at walmart. “Mommy-Baby date” LOL then I started to teach her to sew and she made a bunny (the felt pieces with pre-punched holes).

    Hem while you shop is a godsend. Yay for the approaching tour. I loved the blog post.

    Happy Monday!

    ~Suzi and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne. Mmmm, a bunny? (grin) Was it flame red? (laugh)

      I’m from the sticks, and I didn’t know they even had such things as hem while you shop. I like. 😉

  10. Phil

    Football is snack time so the Superbowl must have super snacks! I want to hear your interview. Tonight.
    Did someone say Rachel meets a guy in BMS? Hmmm.

    • lol, phil, i hate to sound… I’m not sure what the English word is… Patronizing? Dry? Neither of those… I don’t know, lol, but:
      When doesn’t Rachel meet a guy? lol. She has a very bad dating track record. you just sometimes want to sit down with her and say:
      Girl friend, there is a right way of doing things and a wrong way of doing things… And the way you choose your bf’s, well…
      *grin*

    • Frederique

      Sadly I think I’m a lot like Rachel in that way *shrug*

    • LOL, I’ll sign you both up for Alyss’s Dating Course 101.

    • Frederique

      I think I finally know what I want in a man and it isn’t any of the “qualities” any of my exes possessed hehe. Now to just find a male version of me…

    • lol, on a serious note:
      There’s a book out called the five languages of Love. It speaks of how people have two primary love languages of either:
      Quality Time, Acts of Service, Gifts, Physical Touch and Words of Affirmation.
      I’d suggest reading it – if you’re looking for a long term relationship. It did my relationship a world of good. You learn to recognize what your partner’s love language is, and how to ‘speak’ it if it’s not your primary one. The author is:
      Gary Chapman.

    • Kylie Ru

      Maybe I’ll read it! FInd out what this “love” thing is everybody’s been talking about . . . .

    • Hi, Phil.

      Super bowl, super snacks. Yeah. I couldn’t agree more. Hey, I was kind of disappointed in the super commercials. I missed a chunk of them, but none I saw really stood out. sigh. Maybe next year.

  11. Jenn

    Hi Kim,

    I’m glad you’re so excited about the tour! I think most of us are…lol….

    I’ve got a good superbowl story: I had to stay home & work (grimace) but my hubby went to a party where they have almost a lottery for cash. Well, I asked my hubby to buy me a “square” & I WON without even being there (big grin on my face). I’m saving my winnings for coming down to see you…that way I get my book for free!

    • Jenn

      BTW, I enjoyed the interview…I thought she did a nice job of it…

    • Hi, Jenn. Whoo-hoo! You won a square. I did that once when I was like eleven, and had no clue what was going on.

      And what a cool way to get your book! I like! See you there! And remind me how you got it when I see you.

  12. Mm, pretzels! My friend threw a little superbowl party so we had some fun too. Did you see that interception and touchdown? GO SAINTS!! I talk as if I know what I’m saying, but really I only watch football once a year. At superbowl.

    Two weeks and counting until BMS!!!

  13. Frederique

    *sigh* I❤ Kisten!

    Love the photo in the cemetery. I took some really great photos at one of the cemeteries in Salem. I'm glad you had a fun weekend though now I'm craving a pretzel:/

    • Hi, Frederique. I think I’ve made pretzels six times in the last four months. Guy and Thing Two really like them, and it is just complicated enough to keep me interested in the kitchen.

  14. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! I got my copy of BMS pre-ordered last week from Amazon, so I’ll be all set for release day. Plus, I need to order my tour t from Guy before I forgot for the 50th time. I have to know, did you watch the Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet. It is now a Superbowl tradition in our house ever since we got the very first one.~Indy

    • Whoo-hoo! Thanks, Indy! I appreciate that. Guy has already ordered another set of shirts, so if you want one, don’t wait until the last moment where things get kind of shaky.

      I’ve seen the puppy bowl. Nothing quite like it.

  15. Chris

    Kim,
    So glad you had a good SB weekend. Who Dat nation sure did! I was once again sequestered in the bowels of the radio station producing the game locally. We were blessed with over 2 1/2 feet of white stuff from the storm with more on the way tomorrow night into Wednesday. Our Chavochon had a ball in the snow(even if it was up to her eyeballs).
    I love the pic beside the gravestone wearing the beret. For this relative newbie could someone expalin ninja friday?

    • Kylie Ru

      Ohohoh!! I wanna explain!! Okay, you know when a week goes by really fast? And you’re like “Wow, it’s Friday already? What happened to the rest of the week?” Well, that Friday is Ninja Friday! And Fat-Lazy-Slob Friday (or FLSF) is when Friday just takes forever to get here.

    • Phil

      I’m always wanting that Ninja Friday! Then I’m thinking, Where did the week go?😉

    • I know. No one ever says they had a FLS Monday😉

    • Chris

      Thanks Kylie. It seems then I have Ninja Friday every week with all the doctors appointments for our really “special” kids plus the wife and I. Wonder what a FLSF would really feel like. -grinning-

    • lol, I prefer FLS Friday. My weekends are too busy. I only rest during the week. lol. But, i always have Ninja Fridays.

    • OMGosh, Chris. I’ve not seen that depth of snow for almost thirty years. Wow!

  16. Antonio Rich

    2 more weeks for BMS. It would be fun to have a BMS book-reading club…read a few chapters – gab, read a few more chapters – gab, but this year, more so even than past years, there are so many staggered release dates(e-book,hard,foreign editions) that i guess it would be difficult (shrugs)…

    You know, i hadn’t thought about it, but in the past we’ve waited awhile before discussing spoilers…what are we going to do this year? Wait till summer? I’m busting at the seems now to ask questions…🙂

    • Kylie Ru

      Give me a week or so, and we can talk.

    • Frederique

      I’m all for a discussion after about 4 days😉

    • A week? How many times do you need to read it before discussing?!

      I only need 1 day. I can’t help it, homework just doesn’t take priority when I get my hands on a Hollows book lol.

    • Kylie Ru

      Mom reads it first. Then I can read. So if all goes well, I’ll need a week after it comes out.

    • Frederique

      Between my full time job and training it might take me 4 days. If I started it on a Friday night I’d be done by Saturday night.

    • Jenn

      I’m up for whenever everyone else is ready…lol…I’ll have it read in a day or two…

    • The Chatzy Room is open…would be a safe place to discuss spoilers…

    • Phil

      Oh no, you guys, I take my time, so no spoilers, pleeeez. Oh, what the heck, let’s go with gabby.
      Just provide a spoiler alert!

    • I love the idea of reading a few chapters and gabbing, then reading a few more… You’re right that with the staggered release dates we’ve got to be careful of spoilers. I’m sure we could figure out a gab session spot. Maybe make a side blog at NaStyRoMo and have a chat page for chapters 1-3 gab, chapters 4-6 gab…

    • Guys, I beg you to consider this poor soul that lives on the other side of the planet. I realize that spoilers are inevitable hanging out here but… We won’t get a release till… Well. Months from now. lol. Not weeks. if possible, just warn everybody before you write spoilers. I’m jealous enough as it is!! lol.

    • Kylie Ru

      No worries. We’ll put “spoilers” up in big letters with lots and lots of asterisks. Maybe if we’re skilled enough, we can do it in bright flashy colors.

    • Antonio Rich

      I’m thinking Tiffany might be on to something. If we did a chapter or two per week, our e-book, and foreign friends, could catch up when we’re barely a 1/3 of the way thru(BMS has 36 chapters). Just keep making new separate side pages…? I’m just “spit-balling here. Obviously, we’ll read it when we read it – I’m talking about when/where we can chat about it… :-\

    • I was thinking the same thing Antonio – I’m not positive if the Chatzy works the same way – but this way the discussion will be out there to check out or join in on as we individually get to it. Of course the Chatzy would be more fun – say, setting a time on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon… Not that we have to choose🙂 Personally, I’d be up for both, being obsessed and all.😉

    • Maybe we should use the NaStyRoMo open blog? I can change the layout a bit (so that the side pages aren’t all clustered at the top) then we can create a BMS section as well…

    • Hi, Antonio.

      I don’t think we could swing a book club, but I will open up a few spoiler pages here for you guys to try to help keep the spoilers down on the front pages. The NaStyRoMo worked out well, so why not? -grin-

      And setting something off site at one of your own sites would be fabulous!!

  17. Kylie Ru

    Were they soft pretzels with lots of salt? And cheese dip? That’s yummy right there. I’ll be nibbling on animal crackers today. And drinking sweet tea. Trying to get my sugar back up.

    Have fun, Kim-san!

  18. marsha

    I’m so glad I live way South of the Mason-Dixon this time of the year, though I’ll trade you in August. I enjoyed the interview. After my attempt at Antonio’s NaStyRoMo, I don’t agree that witches are a piece of cake either : )

    • Phil

      Hi Marsha, I’m so enjoying your story! I read it three times already!🙂
      Oh, you asked me if there’s more to my story. It’s up there now @Aheila’s blog.

    • Me, too, Marsha, though it sounds like you’re farther south than me. I liked the snow that we got, but I’m liking the warmth better. -grin-

  19. I dunno about the cake, but the picture in the cemetary? is definitely one of your best!

    Be careful up here, winter is NOT nearly over…white death is coming this evening, 12-14 inches.