Weird Weekend

I had a weird weekend.  Made cupcakes–it was that odd.  I never make cupcakes.  Chocolate cake with scratch white frosting.  I even sprinkled pink and white sugar on them.  Like I said, weird!!

But I’m back at my desk today, my wrist sore, my neck sore, and my back sore because I worked on the computer in the living room instead of at my desk where I should have been.  I’m almost ready to put the new website up.  I’m getting better at code work and even figured out how to get around a few issues by redesigning something with tables.  Got the navigation in this weekend, which was as clunky as all get-out.  And I got about a third of the picture pages up.  Most everything else was there already.  I know there are broken links, and I’m not too keen on having to set the link colors for each page.  I’m sure I’m missing something and can get around that, but for now, that’s the way it is.

Long story short, I’m starting to get tired, and I need to get back to the writing where I find my energy.  Find it, use it, play with it.  (smile)

–Kim

64 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

64 responses to “Weird Weekend

  1. Kim, Actually a site built on a WordPress platform would provide you the ease of use you’re looking for as well as the scalability to do all kinds of things in the future.

    I would allow you and your readers to interact and also for you to do just about whatever you want.

    It would be far easier to manage that having to mess with html, css, flash files etc.. You could just copy and paste a flash file into it and you’re good to go.

    I’m not talking about the wordpress.com site, it would be your kimharrison.net site but on a WordPress platform. Once you got it set up, you would find it very easy to run and do just about anything you want to it. You can manage everything in one point-and-click, drag-and-drop back office.

    Anyway, I’m a huge fan of “The Hollows” and would be honored to help you set something like that up on-the-house if you’d like to discuss, let me know. -Jeff

    P.S. My favorite so far is “Fist Full of Charms,” “Outlaw” a close second…

  2. Dear Amazon.com Customer,

    As someone who has purchased or rated books by Kim Harrison, you might like to know that Black Magic Sanction (Playaway Adult Fiction) will be released on February 1, 2010. You can pre-order yours by following the link below.

    *Squeeee!*

    Though I’m really not a great fan of Playaways, it works for me. Funny, I didn’t see any mention of other forms of audio.

    • Hi, Mud. I think that Playaways is Harper’s inprint. I’m not sure.

      I’m excited, too! 😉

    • Playaways are selfcontained audiobooks, all you need is a battery and headphones.

      They are 69.00. I have one of Temple Grandin’s books on Playaway, and if you don’t have an MP3, or don’t want to waste space, they are nice.

  3. The cupcakes look great, Kim. You’ll find that energy in no time.😀

  4. JanisHarrison

    Many years ago my daughter decided to take the Wilton Cake Decorating class (first of the series), and she learned many neat tricks. She also acquired decorating tips, bags, etc. One of the things I learned was to use a piping bag with a fairly large, simple tip to frost cupcakes — it is so much easier! I also learned to always, always line the cake tins with parchment. You can turn out the finished cake layer with almost never any drama.

  5. When I designed my portfolio website, the below website was invaluable.

    http://www.w3schools.com/

    Complete html/xhtml tags list http://www.w3schools.com/tags/default.asp

    Complete css properties list http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_reference.asp

    I also recommend flipping through “Don’t Make Me Think: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability” by Steve Krug at your local library. It covers topics such as web user patterns and home page layout. The book isn’t text heavy but example heavy and he writes with a great sense of humor.

  6. Hey Ms. Harrison,
    About the time thing, now I know.🙂 Thank you.
    Not much else to say from me. It was a long weekend. I’ll leave you with my favorite words from an author, Richard Bach.
    “The bond that links your true family is not one of blood but of respect and joy in each other’s life. Rarely do members of one family grow up under the same roof.”
    Have a good day, good luck with the sore wrist and back and neck.🙂
    Alyssa

  7. I just read this teaser line on your website ad for BMS: ““When enemies turn to allies, friends become your adversaries”… Man!! Thankfully we have entered the final countdown!!

    By the way I flicked on TV this weekend and saw this dude who…aparantly😉 …went to some extremes when he couldn’t get an offical “White Witch, Black Curse” tour T-shirt:

  8. Smith

    Hi Kim – if you build one .css file to tell the links what colour to be, and link that .css inside the header tags on each page, should be much faster than coding the colour for each link…

    example:
    http://www.exhibitstudio.ca/stylesheet01.css

    I have no idea if that’ll help you, just hoping it makes your coding life a bit easier!

  9. Jenn

    Cupcakes? Yum! Those are always good when you want something sweet but not too much! The pink & white instantly made me think of Ivy in her candy striper outfit *grin*!
    I’m glad you got a lot accomplished this weekend, but it sure doesn’t sound like you got much down time.
    I have had so much energy the past week that I haven’t been able to sleep much. I’m sending a bunch of it your way! The energy, not the lack of sleep…lol…

    Happy Monday to you!

  10. Ann

    This is completely off topic, but I’ve been re-reading the series, and wanted to ask you if we will find out more about Jasmine in the next book? (I had to write her name down right away so I wouldn’t forget it! LOL) Also, have we seen the last of Jax? I hate what happened with him and was just curious to know if his story was finished? Thanks!

    • Hi, Ann.

      Jasmine has been trying to make an apperance in the books, but so far, she’s just been a name. Jax, though, will be showing up. Eventually. (grin)

  11. Marsha

    Maybe it’s the perspective, but those look like very big cupcakes. I usually make cupcakes only for the neighborhood rug rats, not for us at home. They look delicious.

    • Phil

      Hi Marsha, I found Richelle Mead’s Thorn Queen at B&N, on your suggestion to me a couple weeks ago. It looks like that’s my next book to buy🙂 I just started Blood Cross so have to wait on Thorn Queen till I have some bucks. Thanks again!

    • Marsha

      I think you will really like it Phil. I would send you mine, but I loaned it to my boss and she hasn’t given it back yet…kind of hard to fuss at the boss : ) Unfotunately we have to wait until 2011 for the next one, I think because she is finishing up the YA “Vampire Academy” series. I haven’t tried that, I’m way beyond the YA stage!

    • Hi, Marsha. Oh, they are very small cupcakes. Trust me.

  12. Pink and white: either your practicing for a girl baby shower or Easter🙂
    Hm, okay, you’re more worried about Faith absconding with plants then killing them. (Counting days for Amazon to deliver, though the last book took too many days to ship.)

    • Thou shall not be in a non-ergonomic position lest your arm, neck and wrist become sore–
      Aphorism from fortune cookie.

    • Marsha

      Aphorism-a concise statement of a principle. Thanks Mud. That was my word of the day.

    • gothar

      Valentine’s day test run? I hope your cupcakes turned out better then my lemon poppyseed pound cake. Not even enough lemon to make it a lemon anything, so I was upset about that. My wife will be in exams when BMS comes out so I’ll get some quiet time to enjoy it.

      Are we there yet?

    • Hi, Mud. It’s Valentines day, I’m afraid. Practicing for the 14th. (grin)

      And I got a call from Faith yesterday, wanting to know what was up with my plants. (laugh)

    • I know, and feel bad. Sort of. ;p

  13. Phil

    Happy Monday Kim, i think I’m on vamp schedule, sleeping 3am to noon tho’ got myself up early today (yawn!) for class. Might sleep thru it though, ha!
    Hope you have a great week!

  14. Shanda

    Hey Kim. A little offtopic but I was wondering what you thought of Laurell K. Hamilton’s work? In particular, her Anita Blake series? Also, to what degree do you feel a paranormal romance novel(series) can have regarding intimate and sensual scenes before it becomes too much? Thanks!

    • Hi, Shanda.

      I don’t do much reading in my genre except the up and coming authors for possible cover quotes, so it’s been a long time since I read Hamilton. I enjoyed the first three, then ran out of time, I’m afraid. I can’t make a judgement regarding intimate and sensual scenes in her work. Sorry.

  15. The cupcakes look really yummy!
    My friends are really fond of the Red Velvet cupcakes. I don’t know if you’ve heard of that recipe but since it produces blood red cupcakes, I figure it is right up your alley!😉
    http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/red_velvet_cupcakes_with_cream_cheese_frosting/

    Personally, I have a hard time concentrating on my writing when I am sore. It takes a lot to stay focus and it gets together slowly. I hope you fare better and that the soreness doesn’t last.

  16. Kylie Ru

    I wish I had a weird weekend instead of a weekend where the Universe told me It’s decided to pick me for “screw over week”. Seriously, three major things went completely wrong yesterday! What’s up with that?!

    It isn’t raining anymore, but it should be back in a couple days. If I remember correctly.

    Hope everything goes according to plan, Kim-san.

    Oh, question. Do the scrying mirrors not work during the day? I can’t remember.

    • Oh! Poor Kylie.
      It’s a pain how these things seem to pass their word around so they can fall on you in a bunch. I hope this weekend’s was all the “screw over” you’re going to get this week. And that whatever is left of those thing that went wrong is resolved quickly.;)

    • Kylie Ru

      I wish, but two things already happened today. First, I got up late. Then at 8:06 I realized I had to leave at 8:30. Scratch that. Three things today. While I was driving to school, a light went yellow and I wasn’t going to make it. So I braked, and my bag flew off the seat. Luckily, it seems my laptop is okay.

    • Damn it! I’ll hope and wish harder then! I shall not rest until my positive energy gets you out of this jam! I officially rebel against the Universe!😀

    • Kylie Ru

      Rebel!😀

    • B-b-b-b-b-b-bad to the bone!

    • Jenn

      Oh, Kylie,

      I feel your pain…yesterday was not a good day for me either…sigh…time just kept slipping by & I didn’t get done even half of what I NEEDED to get done, nevermind what I wanted to get finished.

      Oh well, I hope we both have a better week!

    • Kylie Ru

      Yeah, me too.

    • Phil

      Kylie-chan, I hope the Universe doesn’t slam you too hard. That could be nasty since we’re told the Universe is multi-dimensional!!

    • Kylie Ru

      Thanks, Phil-kun. I’m on my guard now, so that should help.

    • Oh, Kylie-san, I’m sorry. Hey, the other week, I spilled two grand lattes in my front seat. It happens to us all, and you just gotta deal with it.

  17. Antonio Rich

    On the heels of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Abraham Lincoln:Vampire Hunter, Victoria:Demon Hunter(Is the ARC still sitting on your desk unread?) comes word of Beatle-mania meets zombies in Paul is Undead by Al Goldsher.

    Hey, you like to bake. I’ve heard from two different sources that they love LOVE LOVE the baking site: The Fresh Loaf.

    http://www.thefreshloaf.com

    • Jenn

      Hey Antonio,

      Thanks for the link, I checked it out real quick & I’m going to have to back for a thorough read!

    • Phil

      Antonio-san, this avatar thing is proving a bit tricky. I signed up at Gravatar but now I can’t locate the image I wanted to put up. I will look till I find it, probably put it in some obscure file!

    • SeattleRobin

      Antonio, just wanted to let you know I’m still chuckling over the title for your new scheme, NaStyRoMo. I love it!

    • Tiffany

      I missed that – what does it stand for?

    • Antonio Rich

      National Story of Romance Month(Feb-Valentines Day)

      “Nasty” for short…I’m trying to get people interested in writing a Supe Romance Short Story for V-Day. You have to join us! I’m going to get Nasty this weekend. You should get a little Nasty too!

    • Thanks for the site, Antonio. Unfortunatly the book is still sitting on my TBR pile as I try to get my website in order. I will get to it. sigh

  18. suzannelazear

    Hi Kim! Mmmmm. Cupcakes. We haven’t made those in awhile, either–baby brownies (with frosting), but no cupcakes.

    We’ve been pimping the girl scout cookies. Sigh. The tot wants to sell 500 boxes–not going to happen. I don’t think we’re even going to get to 150 so she gets a t-shirt (that she’ll never wear, lol). We are at 32 boxes. At least she’s in a troop where there’s no pressure–my neices’ troop is brutal.

    At least the rain’s stopped–for now. But the chicks are inside, still. Peep peep peep. They sure are noisy, lol. Happy Monday!!

    ~Suzi and the tot

  19. Gail

    Hi Kim, sorry it’s been so long since I popped in. It seems my part time job eats up a great deal of my time;-) This past week the planets must have been aligned oddly. I had a bizarre Friday and the strangest dreams ever this weekend. LOL I wanted to also say Thank you to ‘Guy’ for getting my t-shirt to me so quick before the Holidays, I love the design! Since Chicago is not on your itinerary this tour:-( I’m trying to plan a trip to Michigan to catch up with you there, otherwise I guess my darling Niece will have to do my bidding once more:-) Have a great week and I hope the craziness that was last week settles down. Oh yeah, can’t wait to see the new site when you get it rolled out. ~Gail-St. John, IN~

  20. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    The way you talk about writing reminds me of the way wizards talk about magic. This very fitting because that is just what your books are. I’m really looking forward to next month. 🙂

    V^^^^V

  21. Tim

    WoW, that was fast. I was speaking about a redesign a couple of days ago, and youre already on it…

    If i can help you out with the coding stuff, just lemme know. Im a media designer, so im a bit into webdesign😉

    • Hi, Tim. I’ve been working on it for about a week now, actually, and if I’m lucky, I’ll be able to upload the new site tomorrow. Just a few picture pages to go. 😉 Thanks for the offer! I might take you up on it. I’m having a devil of a time figuring out how to make a flash file.

    • Tim

      I cant reply on the ninja friday post anymore, so i answer it here:

      I clearly understand your issue, the problem of having other ppl dealing with those kinda things is that youre dependent on them. The control freak part made me instantly think of Ivy…now i know where this part of her attitude might come from!😉

      Oh flash…now you got me! *laugh* I’ve to admit that i had not much to do with flash yet. Im well with HTML and CSS, and id be glad to help you out, just email me.

      Anyways, if some day i find myself in a situation where i can deal with it, i will come back at you and we talk about a way to “pimp up your site” and have it easy enough so you can maintain it yourself.😉

      Until then i wish you enough patience for the coding stuff!😉

      best wishes

      Tim

Leave a Reply

